We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food, relaxed atmosphere”

Glenwood Pines Restaurant
Ranked #33 of 261 Restaurants in Ithaca
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$10
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, View, Kids, Cheap Eats
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
NE PA USA
Level Contributor
68 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Great food, relaxed atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed our meal here. We took my 90 year old mom, who can be a bit picky and hard to please. She and my daughter had the fresh haddock fish fry. It was excellent, flakey and the batter was light, not greasy at all. Nice selection of sides with meal. We will definitely go back; and we live 40 minutes away, but worth the trip! Friday nights I understand are quite busy. Locals drop by after work for a beverage and the local "lake cottage" crowd make it feel homey. Staff vey polite, patient, and willing to please.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank UkieFinnGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    67
    30
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ithaca, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best fish fry in town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

This family restaurant on Cayuga lake is an institution , friendly bar with pool table and bowling run for the kids. You can,t beat their fish fry ! It,s always fresh and cooked just right, not over -cooked like so many.
The coleslaw is always my favorite but they won,t give out the recipe.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 667Nancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ithaca NY
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Fish Fry”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

This is a casual, pub-type place. Kind of Road-side Tavern atmosphere. I like going off times- not in the middle of regular dinner rush. Why does everyone want to eat at 7:00? The fish fry is crisp and juicy. Not greasy or heavy. I prefer onion rings or fried cauliflower to french fries. Or homemade slaw or potato salad. The tully burger is my other favorite choice, with 1000 island instead of mayo. It's a smaller version of their popular Pinesburger. A local bakery makes their rolls and it is a good fit with the burgers.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank happy2wander29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
434 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 543 helpful votes
“Chose not to eat here”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

This restaurant was recommended by our local host. When we entered the door it was crowded and blocked by men drinking beer and playing pool. We worked out way through to where the bar area opened to the dining room. The noise level carried in there. The few tables that were actually by windows would not have had views for us as they are higher than we would see if sitting at the few window tables.

We decided not to eat there.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Atmosphere
Helpful?
Thank jroihl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
80 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“It is cheap though”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

What a wasted potential of great view. This place is located in the hill side in front of the lake but due to poor design u don't get any view. And the food is wasted potential too.

Helpful?
Thank Moti B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Glenwood Pines Restaurant also viewed

Ithaca, Finger Lakes
 
Ithaca, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Glenwood Pines Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing