We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Open late for dinner”

Maxie's Supper Club and Oyster Bar
Ranked #10 of 261 Restaurants in Ithaca
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$23
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Cajun & Creole, Barbecue, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Maxie’s is a New Orleans-style fish house with Southern comfort cooking, BBQ, and a full bar. From our Kitchen, only from-scratch Southern comfort cookery: traditional and modern fresh seafood dishes, slow-smoked barbecue, and homemade desserts. From our bar: freshly shucked raw oysters and clams, specialty cocktails, microbrews and boutique wines Our lively, warm professionals are happy to serve you. Get in here!
Binghamton, New York
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Open late for dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

After seeing "Little Shop of Horrors" at the Hangar Theater we were in the mood for a late night dinner. Maxies serves dinner until 11 which was why we decided to give it a try. Although this restaurant has been around for years and we often visit Ithaca, this was our first time at Maxie's. The pulled pork was tender and flavorful but isn't in BBQ sauce so if you like it that way you have to ask. The BBQ beans were so unique in flavour that we found ourselves trying to figure out the recipe with every bite and I vowed to find out what their secret is! The fried oyster po boy was filled with lightly fried tender oysters and unadulterated, no fancy sauce to mask the fresh oyster taste. I admit though that I did add some of the sweet pickle slaw that was served on the side which gave it a nice crunch. Add great and friendly service, a warm atmosphere and good music; this was a very pleasurable outing!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank laurzig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    121
    40
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, NY
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Pretty average all the way around”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

Everything was OK. The Jazz/eclectic atmosphere is probably the strongest attribute of this restaurant. Otherwise, the food was the same as many other BBQ restaurants. Gumbo was barely warm and bland. Ribs and sides they were served with were pretty bland as well. Service was good. For a small town, this place is OK but you will easily find better BBQ in larger towns and cities. Restaurants website says Emeril's restaurant can't hold a candle to this place. I strongly disagree with that claim as the food was very average at best.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank sjk5243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ithaca, New York
Level Contributor
170 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Location. Location. Location.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

Maxie's is on State Street in Ithaca. They're just around the corner from Island Fitness and across the street from Cayuga Cyclery, so it's not unusual for me to be in the neighborhood. Even though I've lived here for less than a year, I'll bet I've been to Maxie's at least 10 times: usually just for a hard cider or glass of wine, but often to meet a friend or have a meal. Half of the times I've been here "solo", I've ended up in conversation with several friends or met someone new.
Prices are on the high side. The staff is friendly, helpful, and generally awesome. The food is quite good including the oyster bar that is really fun for a land-locked town.
But it's the "scene" that's the draw for me to Maxie's. People hang out here after work or workout and create a fun atmosphere. They have live music a couple of nights per week in the bar which is a great bonus.
Drop by and check it out.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank muz4now
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sparrows Point , MD
Level Contributor
177 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A Nice Ride to Ithaca from Geneva”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

Decided to ride from Watkins Glen after wining the west side of Seneca lake. Saw an advertisement for Maxie's. When we entered 4pm when they opened we were told only raw bar until 5pm. That was very disappointing and unexpected. They did have soup and the crab corn chowder and Gumbo were very good. Our bartender was so friendly and we enjoyed talking to her. We do isn't stay for dinner because of our drive back and needing to sit for quite a while to wait for kitchen to fully open. Atmosphere was nice and casual.

Helpful?
Thank LoriW30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phuket, Thailand
Level Contributor
358 reviews
184 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Happy hours oysters ”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

Happy hours oysters are from 4pm to 6pm, and totally worth it if you go that time. Oysters are ok, not that fresh. I can accept happy hours price for oyster at this quality, but definitely not pay full price for them. Shrimp and grits are great and crawfish popcorn is really really nice. We love those. Service was nice and fast, even though the restaurant was packed. It is the best place you can find for seafood in Ithaca, but not as good as in other nice restaurants in other cities.

Helpful?
Thank TheNayzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Maxie's Supper Club and Oyster Bar also viewed

Ithaca, Finger Lakes
 
Ithaca, Finger Lakes
Ithaca, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Maxie's Supper Club and Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing