We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“NOT WORTH THE MONEY”

John Thomas Steakhouse
Ranked #25 of 261 Restaurants in Ithaca
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$35
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
New City, New York
Level Contributor
89 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“NOT WORTH THE MONEY”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

Being from NYC we have many great steakhouses. The prices here are even more expensive the Manhattan. Some of the items on menu are copies of Peter Luger in Brooklyn{ steak sauce tomato and onions and large steak sliced off of bone} They do use dry age prime beef but prices were more than what I have had in NYC. The restaurant is out of town a few miles and the decor seemed dated. The food quality in general was ok but my steak was rare not medium rare as ordered. The wait staff was tries but not up to par for their prices. Our wine was not decanted nor poured correctly leaving sediment in the glass. For the money that they charge you should expect more but do not receive it

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank michael r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    46
    19
    11
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“It is all about the meat!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

There is a chicken dish and a seafood special, but why bother? Amazing steaks and lamb cooked to perfection. The potatoes sides are good, but the cream spinach is to die for. Desserts are good, but not spectacular. High marks for attentive service and an expansive reasonable-priced wine list.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jckent1223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phuket, Thailand
Level Contributor
358 reviews
184 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Best Birthday dinner ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

I must say that John Thomas is the best restaurant in Ithaca!!! Steak for two (42 oz) was totally amazing!! The stripe was really soft and tasty. Filet was tender and perfectly cooked. Lobster bisque was the best I have ever had in my life, they put a lot of lobster meats in the soup, not like lobster bisque in any other places that would only as soup with no sight of lobster meats. Caesar salad was also great. Apple pie was ok, buy cheesecake was absolutely delicious!! Service and atmosphere were excellent. The hostess was really nice, and even follow up the taxi for us. The servers were all very attentive, even though the restaurant was packed.
I would like to thanks out friend, KT, for such a wonderful dinner. And I will definitely go back there again if I have a chance. Highly recommended.

Helpful?
1 Thank TheNayzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newtown Square, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great steak and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

We started with clams casino and then (at our waiter's brilliant suggestion) split the smaller (still huge) Porterhouse steak and the lobster special. It was the best steak we've had in a long time! The waitstaff was accommodating and super friendly. It was a romantic setting too!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank drawingdebbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vestal, New York
Level Contributor
69 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Find a reason to go!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

If you're tired of spending money on mediocre food, look no further. Yes, it is not cheap but it is WELL worth the cost. We were celebrating an anniversary, and the meal was perfect...from the service to the dessert, we couldn't have asked for more. Try the Prime Rib...absolutely melts in your mouth. And if you're into dessert, ask to see the dessert cart before ordering your meal...I'm so glad I skipped an appetizer and saved room. I'm not waiting for another anniversary before we go again!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pastrychef_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed John Thomas Steakhouse also viewed

 
Ithaca, Finger Lakes
Ithaca, Finger Lakes
 
Ithaca, Finger Lakes
 

Been to John Thomas Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing