We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Steaks”

John Thomas Steakhouse
Ranked #30 of 261 Restaurants in Ithaca
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$35
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
East Granby, Connecticut
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Steaks”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Beautiful inn, delicious steak. We got the porterhouse for two medium rare. perfect for me little rare for him. Tomato onion salad awesome! Only weird thing was 7pm and we were only one of two couples in the room on the left. When they left it was downright creepy. There seemed to be more people on the other side and upstairs (maybe nascar folks?). The service was very good but because we were the only ones it almost seemed like it was a too fast dinner. I would go back however, for the food.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Somavita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    47
    19
    12
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Binghamton, New York
Level Contributor
144 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Excellent place for carnivores!”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Every big city has one and even though Ithaca is far from a big city, that have their own version of the consummate Steak House! Nice ambiance, well trained staff and steak that is grilled to perfection! My only complaint is their prices are on par with Ruth Chris, Morton's, etc...but not sure they are at that level and can justify the same pricing levels as the big cities?

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 700scottf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Last Minute Room Service”
Reviewed 17 July 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

We had failed to make dinner plans and at the last minute opted to have John Thomas deliver a porterhouse steak, fries, and Caesar salad to our barn suite (part of La Tourelle). The service was reminiscent of old dining car service; heavy sterling and white linens. The steak was beautifully sliced and absolutely delicious ... intended for two, but easily fed four. The fries, though a wee bit soggy from being covered, were very tasty and Caesar was perfect. Since we had our own wine in the room, the price was manageable. Would definitely recommend on a night when they aren't too busy.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank sharon f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
347 reviews
255 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 282 helpful votes
“Lovely grounds, attentive service, great side dishes”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

John Thomas steakhouse is located on a beautiful piece of property, with a gazebo overlooking the scenic pond. The night that we went, the grass near the pond was filled with tiny peepers, frogs the size of wood ticks, so watch your step!. Our party of four had a reservation, and we were promptly seated. Service was very warm and attentive. Starters included crabmeat cocktail, Deviled crab, spinach salad, and green salad, all of which were very good. Side dishes were excellent: the special that night was green beans, which we loved, along with wild mushrooms and German fried potatoes which were absolutely greaseless. The main courses were good but not great. Our experience echoed that of some other reviewers who have dined at steakhouses in NY city in that John Thomas charges premium prices for steak, and we expected the same quality of meat that we would get elsewhere for that price. There was nothing wrong with our entrees, but they weren't gasp-worthy. We didn't get to try dessert, as we had reservations for a fireworks cruise that evening, but the items on the display tray certainly looked appealing. They included a pecan pie, apple pie, a very rich looking chocolate thing, cheesecake, a fruit cobbler, and more. Prices are steep: we paid about $75.00 per person for four starters, four entrees, three side dishes, and two soft drinks. No alcohol, no desserts, and no coffee.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GHartley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
60 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Very expensive, prime rib was dry”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

I ate at the John Thomas Steakhouse during a recent visit to Ithaca. I found a beautiful facility with very friendly and competent staff. I found the prices too high for the quality of the product, My prime rib, was medium rare as ordered, but very dry---I cannot understand this, never had it ocurr at any other restaurants.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank WJBDLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed John Thomas Steakhouse also viewed

 
Ithaca, Finger Lakes
Ithaca, Finger Lakes
 

Been to John Thomas Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing