We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warm atmosphere and good food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Just a Taste

Just a Taste
Ranked #4 of 260 Restaurants in Ithaca
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Spanish, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Toronto
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Warm atmosphere and good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

This place is difficult to get into - long line ups or wait times, but we were glad reserved and had the opportunity to check it out. The food is inventive and fresh - reasonably priced and there is a great wine list that also has good price points.
I liked the "american" take on tapas - so we had the mixed green salad, the brussels sprouts sauteed in brown butter, the deep fried cod fritters, the potato wedges and another special fish dish. They were all delicious. Would definitely recommend this place for dinner in Ithaca.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lackrill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    255
    118
    25
    13
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
38 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Favorite tapas place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

Whenever my husband and I visit his brother at college we try to stop at this restaurant. We love tapas style dining and this is definitely our favorite spot. My #1 choice would be the potato wedges (there's a pic of them on here). Other than that we switch it up with our choices each time we visit.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TR794
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Cute but not 4 stars!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

I had seen amazing reviews of this place and so we went with high expectations. There was a long wait. Service was so-so. The food was good but not amazing. Cute little plates. The vegetable plates were impressive but everything else was just kind of average. This place might be great for a date or a lunch but on a Friday or Saturday night, I would suggest somewhere more liek Mahoghany Grill!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jackie2244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enschede, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
113 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

We were seated outside in the garden. And what a nice place that was, a great atmosphere. every one of the four of us decided on 2 dishes, and then we shared them all. The food was great, and sharing ment trying a lot of different food.
The only thing was, that one or two of the dishes we got, were not ordered by us, and what we ordered we did not get, in two cases. But that was not a big deal to us.
Two of us also had one of wine potpourri`s, and it was amazing. One of the wines was so greay that we the next day went to the winery Hosmer, to buy bottles of there Riesling, to bring home to Europe.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kirsten B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Finger Lakes, NY
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Just a "Tasty" and Lots of Fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

A friend and I chose the restaurant for a special celebration and it absolutely lived up to its good reputation. My friend tried one of the wine flights, which she thoroughly enjoyed and the gazpacho and ceviche stood out for me. By the time we arrived at the restaurant a few of the menu items had sold out, but everything we ordered was delicious. This is a place that's definitely worth your time, attention and money.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ChicPea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Just a Taste also viewed

Ithaca, Finger Lakes
 
Ithaca, Finger Lakes
Ithaca, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Just a Taste? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing