We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not the best Thai, but still very good” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Taste of Thai Express

Taste of Thai Express
Ranked #20 of 260 Restaurants in Ithaca
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Pearl City, Hawaii
Level Contributor
178 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Not the best Thai, but still very good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

So this place certainly doesn't serve the best Thai food (by a long shot), but it is still very good. I had the Panang curry pork and the Tom Kha chicken soup. I had the curry at a level 4 heat index and was disappointed that it wasn't hotter. If you're looking for authentic Thai favors, think elsewhere or another city. But if you're looking for an overall good meal and good Thai flavor, then definitely visit this place! I'd gladly return myself on the next trip to Ithaca.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Constantly T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    61
    19
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
philly
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Food and service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

This place unfortunately has not much to brag about. There is not much taste, it is neither true Thai nor express (read other reviews here about their slow service). Sugar and salt in their Thai-inspired dishes overwhelm the palate.

Helpful?
Thank rutigi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ness Ziona, Israel
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Loved it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

Pros: very tasty; great and fast service. A bigger variety of entries than the usual Thai restaurant.

Cons: none

We had the yellow curry and the rad nah.

Helpful?
Thank Yanopj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ithaca, New York
Level Contributor
34 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good food, spacious, negligible wait time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

The ambience, the quality of service and food were all great. The food is less pricey than other Asian restaurants such as Taste of Thai on the commons. Maybe because it is a bit far from downtown, but not too far. The restaurant is spacious and the wait times are neglible, which is one of the reasons why you might want to go here the next time you are waiting at a restaurant in Ithaca in a long queue.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ithacan_cornellian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elkins Park, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
188 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Not what it appears to be”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

We drove by the Taste of Thai Express several times before stopping to eat. From the outside it looks like a fast food drive-in. Inside it's quite different, very attractive. The food was excellent and well prepared. I had a delicious scallop dish and my wife had a duck in an amazing pumpkin sauce. We got there just in time since the place was packed by the time we finished eating.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Fauxqui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Taste of Thai Express also viewed

Ithaca, Finger Lakes
Ithaca, Finger Lakes
 
Ithaca, Finger Lakes
Ithaca, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Taste of Thai Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing