We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A pleasant surprise because of not so good feedback”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hillside Inn

Hillside Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ithaca
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hillside Inn
Ranked #15 of 17 Ithaca B&B and Inns
Brasil
Level Contributor
72 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A pleasant surprise because of not so good feedback”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

It was a long weekend just before leaving for NYC, and we had just left the house we had rented for the summer. So, we styed at this inn. The staff was fantastic; comfortable beds (we had a king size bed); new bathrooms; everything perfectly clean. besides, its location near Cornell University and Downtown Ithaca allows for nice walks. Right beside it there is a gorge trail, with waterfalls, birds. It is a quiet and cool path to downtown.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Merker Moreira M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    17
    10
    9
    19
See reviews for
21
10
14
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
159 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2012

Stayed here for an alumni event at Cornell. It is definitely the closest place to campus and collegetown that wont have you emptying your bank account for a very average hotel (Statler). Yes it looks sketchy, yes the decor is very 70s, they even inconspicuously leave a bible out for you turned to a verse about not having sex and the sort. But these things should not deter you, because the Hillside is an experience. It is hard to say whether it is noisy there because I did not have any problems sleeping, but it is in the heart of collegetown so who knows what kind of incident could happen outside at 3am on any given night. The beds were actually reasonably comfortable for what they appeared, but it is a good thing I brought my own pillow. And towel. Since I wanted more than the half towel they give you to dry off with. Aside from those things, there is no reason for you to not stay at the Hillside. They even provide a free parking lot in the back of the hotel (and if you don't know collegetown and Cornell, parking can be very hard to come by). Definitely will stay here again.

Room Tip: Like a box of chocolates... you never know what you're going to get
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank k86j84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamstown NJ
Level Contributor
213 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2012

We stayed there for our 1st night in ithaca for wine tasting at the local wineries.
The location is very convenient for visiting Cornell University or downtown Ithaca NY.
Checkin was easy and the clerk was friendly. The clerk was very helpful pointing out sightseeing spots and places to eat.
The Hotel is older and the rooms were small and the bathroom very small.
Since it was older everthing seemed a little tired and worn and not the cleanest.
We were surprised that that shampoo was not provided, but for sale at clerk's desk.
It wasn't a bad stay, but not sure if we would recomend or stay ther again.
On the positive side it was the most reasonable place to stay in Ithaca we found. The Ithaca annual Fair was happening the weekend we were there and it was a short couple block walk to the entertaining event.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmjbrtw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montoursville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

As a child we would often visit Ithaca for all it's scenery! the Hillside Inn has a great location, staff is very helpful and kind! There was no doubt where we stay in Ithaca....The Hillside Inn!

Room Tip: Rooms upstairs are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank all4bootsnsaddles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2011

We enjoyed a weekend stay at the HIllside Inn. It's an older place without many of the features of more modern motels. But the room was clean and quiet and comfortable and the proximity to the campus was great.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank axr4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peachtree City, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2011

My husband I recently stayed at the Hillside Inn to attend a family function. The stay at the inn was great. The room rate was reasonable and the room was clean and quiet. The staff was friendly and accommodating. The location was close to restaurants and Cornell University. There was also a local bus service to the downtown Ithaca area.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bigtravelor21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ithaca, New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2011

Our family just celebrated our son's wedding in Ithaca NY. Since we hosted out of town guests we offered three options of local hotels for our guests to choose from. For our guests on a budget we encouraged them to choose the Hillside Inn. They could not have been more pleased. They experienced wonderful hospitality and the convenience of being able to walk to services such as restaurants, bars and coffee shops. The Hillside is located just off of the Cornell University campus which afforded the guests many beautiful walking opportunities. Many guests did not have cars so this was very important. I would not hesitate to recommend the Hillside!

Room Tip: The front desk is very responsive to guests requests-just ask!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Upbeat5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ithaca hotels
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Ithaca
0.4 mi away
The Statler Hotel at Cornell University
0.5 mi away
Ithaca Marriott Downtown on the Commons
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Argos Inn
Argos Inn
#11 of 22 in Ithaca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Hotel Ithaca
The Hotel Ithaca
#17 of 22 in Ithaca
3.0 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
2.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Ithaca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillside Inn

Property: Hillside Inn
Address: 518 Stewart Ave, Ithaca, NY 14850-3815
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Ithaca
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Ithaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hillside Inn is located right next to the campus of Cornell University. We offer reasonable rates and provide free parking, free Wi Fi, free local and long distance calls, and complimentary Continental Breakfast.Extended stay rates are available.Rooms have color cable TV, private bath, AC, daily room service.We are in Collegetown and a short walk to numerous restaurants.Our friendly staff are here to make your stay a pleasant one! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hillside Hotel Ithaca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing