We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hillside Inn - 4/23/13 stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hillside Inn

Hillside Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ithaca
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hillside Inn
Ranked #15 of 17 Ithaca B&B and Inns
Left Coast
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hillside Inn - 4/23/13 stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

Hillside Inn is a GREAT place...
if you need a place to sleep this is GREAT.

NO spas... NO pools...
but that's OK if you don't need spas and pools right?

VERY convenient to Cornell U...
local bistros... hiking trails...
and the lovely fingerlake vineyards.

The staff are most helpful...
Rhonda, Robert, Jim (the owner),
Garrett and Pete...
they were ALL nice.

Now if you are looking for a 5 star hotel
this ain't the spot...

this is a down-home earthy-family owned spot...

If that's your THING
then this is KING.

- Jon (frUM california)


.

Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank J U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    17
    10
    9
    19
See reviews for
21
10
14
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013 via mobile

I am having a very nice stay there, very close to campus, very good service, it worth every penny, wifi internet working, excellent back and front view, generous free breakfast, took me back to 1970s days, staff are very helpful and nice.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abdulrhm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Wylie, South Carolina
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2013

Don't let the Trip Advisor seal on the front door of this supposed "hotel" fool you. It simply means that many other people have also written bad reviews.

My husband and I booked a two night room stay in April for Ithaca College's accepted student weekend. At the rate of $110 per night, we assumed the hotel would be adequate.
Boy were we wrong.

The walls are paper-thin. The furnishings are pieced together from cheap, local garage sales from another era. The bathroom (see photos) and bedroom are dirty and tiny. The sink was built sideways and didn't drain. And the towels were gritty and disgusting.

There is no internet connection despite their claims. Don't bother using the phone to call the front desk, because you're much better off opening the door and shouting down the hallway to the "manager." And besides, the phone doesn't connect to the front desk, or any desk.

You certainly won't be able to sleep because of all the noise (shouting, screaming, screeching cars) outside until all hours of the night. And you'll be able to hear what's going on in all the other rooms, which also means that they can hear YOU.

If you're looking forward to the continental breakfast in the morning, look somewhere else. Squeezing into the narrow hallway, you will find a coffeemaker filled with hot water and a jar of instant coffee. My husband and I passed on the donuts, fearing they might be as old as the furnishings.

Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
9 Thank Jpianoshop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter S, Front Office Manager at Hillside Inn, responded to this review, 4 May 2013
The Hillside Inn is a family-owned hotel which has been in the present ownership 60 years. The owner is on premises seven days a week and cleaning and maintenance are constant and routine. We are an older establishment not a modern facility. We have free parking, Wi Fi, phone, a breakfast of coffee, tea, hot cocoa, homemade muffins, doughnuts, cookies. We are next to Cornell, a short walk onto campus and a short walk to Collegetown and Downtown restaurants. Being the closest hotel to Cornell University in Ithaca, the majority of our guests are researchers, scholars, academic conference attendees, parents and graduate and post-graduate students. The neighborhood is quiet and safe. We have many return customers who have been coming to the hotel for years and love the atmosphere and friendly interaction with the owner and the staff, as well as the prime location and reasonable rates. This of course is not for everyone and there are always a few people who may be hypercritical who want something different, which is plain to see in the language they use.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2013

Folks, If you are only sleeping here and want a place close to Cornell then bring a bottle of something strong and take a few stiff shots before going to bed. There are old places that have charm or character, are nostalgic, or have something redeeming about them. The Hillside Inn - not so much. It is old, dirty, and rundown. The owners have done nothing, and I mean nothing to try and maintain or update the hotel. The room was beyond dirty with hair everywhere. The bathroom looked like something out of a horror movie. I honestly can't believe the place hasn't been condemned. As for the free continental breakfast listed on their website - it doesn't exist.
Trust me - this place is not worth the cheap rate. Go somewhere else or drink enough before going to your room where you won't notice how bad it is

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank joshos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter S, Manager at Hillside Inn, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
We are currently doing an upgrade replacing baths and getting new carpets throughout the hotel. Certainly there's no excuse for less than a full room service cleaning even on very busy weekends and Mgt has now implemented a solution so that this doesn't repeat.

Scurrilous reviews in a mocking tone are, however, more an indication of the reviewer than the reviewed. See the many very positive experiences important guests have outlined in other reviews.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dover, MA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2013

I stayed there with my son on a college tour and we were up most of the night because the heat was way too high, the staff were yelling and swearing outside of our door, we heard cars speeding by and sirens, and the vending machine was right outside of our room. It was filthy and smelled like old chinese food. We were very uncomfortable there to say the least. We did not sleep most of the night. I can't believe that this place is listed on Cornell's website.

Room Tip: I would never recommend this place to anyone. At any price it is a scary place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Cindy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter S, Front Office Manager at Hillside Inn, responded to this review, 27 February 2013
We were sorry for the noise reported and dealt with the source, a visitor of one of our guests, who we no longer welcome. Having just seen this review, I have ordered a thorough cleaning of the room and adjustment of the heating system. You can see from the majority of reviews that we maintain a clean and pleasant place and take pride in our friendly and helpful service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santander, Spain
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2012

there are plenty of places with better conditions (clean, wifi, bed, breakfast, atmosphere..), only one night and if you have no other choice.
On the other hand, room service staff really kind and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paco R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter S, Front Office Manager at Hillside Inn, responded to this review, 27 February 2013
An objective comparison of our rates will show that ours are the most reasonable rates in the area and that we provide all services (Wi Fi, local and long distance calls, continental breakfast, parking) free of charge in a pleasant and friendly Collegetown location.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2012

If you want staff to fuss around you ... get neck massages, aromatherapy, pedicures, manicures, and 5-course dinners on your room ... this place is NOT for you!

If, however, you are looking for a place extremely close to the Cornell campus, in beautiful and well-preserved 1970s style, no-nonsense accommodation, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hans P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ithaca hotels
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Ithaca
0.4 mi away
The Statler Hotel at Cornell University
0.5 mi away
Ithaca Marriott Downtown on the Commons
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Argos Inn
Argos Inn
#10 of 22 in Ithaca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
2.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Ithaca
0.7 mi away
The Hotel Ithaca
The Hotel Ithaca
#17 of 22 in Ithaca
3.0 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillside Inn

Property: Hillside Inn
Address: 518 Stewart Ave, Ithaca, NY 14850-3815
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Ithaca
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Ithaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hillside Inn is located right next to the campus of Cornell University. We offer reasonable rates and provide free parking, free Wi Fi, free local and long distance calls, and complimentary Continental Breakfast.Extended stay rates are available.Rooms have color cable TV, private bath, AC, daily room service.We are in Collegetown and a short walk to numerous restaurants.Our friendly staff are here to make your stay a pleasant one! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hillside Hotel Ithaca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing