We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Room, Convenient Location, Friendly Staff”
Review of Hillside Inn

Hillside Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ithaca
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hillside Inn
Ranked #14 of 17 Ithaca B&B and Inns
Miami, Florida
1 review
“Comfortable Room, Convenient Location, Friendly Staff”
Reviewed 30 December 2013

I am a Cornell student who spent an entire semester at the Hillside Inn. Because of poor planning I was left without an apartment and went to the Hillside as a last resort since they rent rooms to students at a monthly rate. This "last resort" option was surprisingly an incredible experience and I can't press enough how great this hotel actually is. Garrett, Robert, Peter, and the rest of the staff exhibited some of the best customer service I have ever witnessed in my life - throughout the four month length of my stay. I also enjoyed the very convenient location since it was within 5 minutes walking distance of both Cornell and Collegetown. The room was very comfortable and more than exceeded my high standards for cleanliness and sanitation.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Max W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    17
    11
    9
    19
See reviews for
21
10
15
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Scarsdale, NY
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013 via mobile

Whilst visiting Cornell there are three factors in selecting a hotel: location, price, and amenity; pick any two. Understand this, and there will be no surprises from the Hillside Inn. If you want location and amenity, you want the Statler, but it's very expensive. If you want amenity and low(er) price, pick your chain hotel on Route 13, or the Best Western. If you want great location at low cost, the Hillside Inn is the ticket, at the expense of amenity. To that end, everything I've seen in the other reviews here is probably true. My room was old, as in Leave It To Beaver old, with creaky floors, ancient plumbing with separate hot and cold sink spigots, threadbare coverings, and an off-odor reminiscent of dry dog food which probably emanated from the carpet. I saw no sign of continental, or even sub-continental breakfast, but I was out fairly early in the morning and did not look very hard. The hotel was, however, basically, grime-free in a "clean-by-student-standards" way. C'est la guerre, but personally, I won't be fighting this war again.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
5 Thank tenders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

I travel from NYC to Ithaca every week to teach at Cornell. So I have stayed at the Hillside Inn every Monday night for over 5 years. It is perfectly located to campus and I can walk to my class. It is a rustic place that looks as if it has been there forever. The cemetery right behind the Inn rivals any of Paris's picturesque settings of the same. My kids love to ride their bikes and run around there. The staff is super friendly and efficient. Peter, the manager is way over qualified and a terrific conversationalists. Rob, the handy man is always helpful and has given me a ride to the bus station numerous times when it was raining. The owner, Jim, is always around, filling the candy bowl or checking the coffee. The fastest wireless internet service too. My wife and kids love it too and by now, its our second house, having headed there for long weekends even when my class is out of session. It's an old, warm, family run operation so if you want new and shiny, go to the Holiday Inn.

Room Tip: back rooms have nice views
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tradcross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Great location: close to Cornell University and lots of restaurants nearby; short drive to a couple of state park such as Robert Treman State park and Watkins Glen State park. The inn is well maintained and very clean. All in all - I would stay here again on our next return trip to Ithaca in the winter. The price was much more reasonable compared to other comparably rated hotels in the area!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RudySmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter S, Front Office Manager at Hillside Inn, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
It's hard to respond to a review written a year after the visit. There have been hotel upgrades since, doubling Internet signal strength, re-carpeting the hotel, new bathrooms in several rooms. Other upgrades are upcoming. Should the positive reviews we get be called into question I recommend sending a message to those former guests, none of whom are in any way connected with us other than through the visit they made. Being an older building and family owned for 60 years, friendliness, convenience, affordable rates and especially this location on the edge of campus and staff attention to service are our pluses.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ithaca, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 October 2013

I lived there for about a week last fall. The location is very good, just down the campus hill and within 10 min walk. But the place is not comfort to live, considering the old, smelly small rooms, the one and only shared bathrooms and toilet, absolutely absence of room service.

Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Posing D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter S, General Manager at Hillside Inn, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
The reviewer, who for some reason is sending a review a year later, stayed for one week in one of our single-occupancy student rooms, which do not have their own bathrooms but a shared bathroom in the hall, and are not hotel rooms per se, but are priced well under any hotel rates. These are all currently filled with satisfied renters, mostly Cornell students. 10 rooms.

We have 25 hotel rooms, with full room service, Wi Fi, A/C, cable TV, phone, private bath, continental breakfast. We also have long-term rates for these full hotel rooms with all services provided and have a number of guests staying -- scholars, graduate students, professors.

I am making this clear as the reviewer hasn't.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Wales, New York
Level Contributor
121 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

My wife and I decided to explore Ithaca, and we found this property on the edge of the Cornell University campus. It resembled a house which was transformed to an inn many years ago. The property itself was decent. However, it seemed to lack some attention to details. For example, when we pulled the comforter off the bed, we noticed the undersheets had several hairs. The carpet and bathroom could use a good cleaning as well. The price was a little steep, but it was half of what other properties were asking. In the end, it was just a place to sleep. We take our own pillows, sheets and blankets whenever possible when we travel, so we were prepared for this encounter. If they would just invest some time and effort to give it a nice cleaning, it would be a great property.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter S, Manager at Hillside Inn, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Certainly there's no excuse for less than a complete cleaning despite very busy weekends. We have instituted a new policy to deal with such overloads so that a total room service cleaning can be maintained.

We are also undergoing an upgrade with new baths and the entire hotel getting re-carpeted. Internet coverage is also being expanded to ensure blazing speed in all rooms (it's now good, but on peak periods we want it faster).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013 via mobile

Due to our honeymoon , we entered Ithaca & noticed this small inn on our way to eat at Tavern Bunffi @ the Statler Hotel owned by Cornell University. They too suggested to us to use the hillside inn which as his name suggests: it's on the hill side. The room was nicely organized, well kept. We asked for another blanket for shawering & got 3 instead. The personal touch at the reception is highly recommended. Peter was most welcoming & informative

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank privatecheftour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ithaca hotels
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Ithaca
0.4 mi away
The Statler Hotel at Cornell University
0.5 mi away
Ithaca Marriott Downtown on the Commons
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Hotel Ithaca
The Hotel Ithaca
#17 of 22 in Ithaca
489 reviews
1.5 mi away
Best Western University Inn
0.4 mi away
Argos Inn
Argos Inn
#11 of 22 in Ithaca
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillside Inn

Property: Hillside Inn
Address: 518 Stewart Ave, Ithaca, NY 14850-3815
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Ithaca
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Ithaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hillside Inn is located right next to the campus of Cornell University. We offer reasonable rates and provide free parking, free Wi Fi, free local and long distance calls, and complimentary Continental Breakfast.Extended stay rates are available.Rooms have color cable TV, private bath, AC, daily room service.We are in Collegetown and a short walk to numerous restaurants.Our friendly staff are here to make your stay a pleasant one! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hillside Hotel Ithaca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing