We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We were pleased”
Review of City Lights Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ithaca
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
City Lights Inn
Ranked #7 of 18 Ithaca B&B and Inns
Reviewed 11 August 2012

Colleen was very attentive about our arrival and our plans...our room was pleasant and the bed was comfortable. Colleen did show us around and man-o-man am I sorry we didn't have a suite, but we were last minute so...ah well...what we had was fine. Lovely view, too, and friendly cats ;)! No breakfast so it really is just a Bed and a Hello and a Good-bye. I'd have loved breakfast but I am not big on family style breakfast when all I want to do is wake up and greet the day slowly..so this worked..at least on one rather unsocial level ;-)!. A fresh pot of coffee and some danish, bread, fresh fruit, etc or cold cereal and milk to have as you wish would be the perfect solution. Self-catering, as it were :). We will definitely stay again...THANKS COLLEEN!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lionsandlynx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityLightsBB, Owner at City Lights Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2012

Just want to be sure that any potential guests realize that we tell guests when booking, that we no longer serve breakfast on the weekdays, (with some exceptions), thus we have lowered our weekday rates. We recommend restaurants in the area. I make sure that everyone who calls is aware of this so that a potential guest who prefers breakfast, can make other arrangements,
No bait and switch here, we are completely up front, and to know this going in and then complain, makes me wonder!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (146)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 146 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2012

This is an old, rusty, but clean farm house with lots of aesthetic touches (in the category of "junk art" "shabby chic"). Generally we had a comfortable stay during 2 weekdays. I had come across this place during my last minute search for Ithaca travel, where most other B and B's were booked, or out of our range, or they don't accommodate little children. So I'm grateful that we found a comfortable, convenient spacious suite. However, we found the weekday stay to be somewhat lacking in warmth and hospitality. There is no breakfast served during weekdays (the hostess gives you a discount for this, but there was no option to include breakfast if we wanted to.). Self check-in and self check-out processes are really easy, as are the availability of tons of local brochures, but this means less direct personal contact with the hostess. Usually what prompts us to stay at a B and B rather than a hotel is the personal touch, getting to know the area and the house from the eyes/experience of the hosts, etc. We did get a brief welcome personally, but we felt it was just focused on business, before she had to leave the house. Another thing that made us a little queasy was sharing big shampoo, conditioner, body wash bottles, as opposed to individual travel size ones that ensure what you use is what you opened.

Room Tip: North Suite has cool breeze. We did not use any AC in the middle of July heat. Bring your own tra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank markandcyndie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2012

Agree with many other positive reviews regarding the very friendly and hospitable owner and other staff, pleasant location, very spacious and comfortable rooms, cleanliness, and delicious breakfasts. Our child loved the resident kitties and the frog ponds and was very happy there. We would definitely be back! My one minor concern is that one person's 'shabby chic' may be another person's 'shabby'. For example, the outdoor furniture (lounge chairs and couches) had seen much better days; there was rust on the arms of one of the chairs. There was a painted-over paper plate covering a hole in the wall of our room. The bathroom door did not close easily and scraped the floor due to warping (there was a note reminding people to close the door quietly, but that was hard given the warping issue). So, while not terrible, these sorts of little issues kept the place from feeling quite as peaceful and pretty as one would hope.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FitToBeTried
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2012

This place is heaven - the rooms are lovely, eclectically decorated, comfortable and clean, the gardens are breathtaking, and Colleen, the owner, is fantastic. Be sure to be there on a weekend for the best breakfast you will ever have. City Lights is truly hospitality at its best.

Room Tip: We love the North Suite, which sleeps 4 comfortably.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We stayed for two nights in Ithaca and loved our experience! The room was perfect, the house is very old yet there was a tremendous sense of peace and quiet. The decor defines 'shabby chic' and the food was perfect. A great base for visiting the Finger Lakes.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BonneChere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2012

My parents always stay here when visiting me in Ithaca. I have stayed there a few times with them as well, to get off of campus for a little. Colleen is the best of hosts and she is very entertaining to talk with in the mornings. The place is always impeccably clean, breakfast is always delicious, and the view is gorgeous.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vanessa_Rodanas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2012

The in keepers were so personable! We could come and go as we please. They were so laid back but showed sincere hospitality. The decor was beautiful and the inn in general was so inviting. Our room was comfortable and stylishly decorated.

The food was delicious and fresh.

Everything was phenomenal and we cant wait to go back!

Room Tip: If there is just two of you, we stayed in the Granny's Room. There was plenty of space! Also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Erin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ithaca hotels
2.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Ithaca
2.8 mi away
The Statler Hotel at Cornell University
2.2 mi away
Ithaca Marriott Downtown on the Commons
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Ithaca
3.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ithaca
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Ithaca
Hampton Inn Ithaca
#4 of 22 in Ithaca
696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Lights Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Lights Inn

Address: 1319 Mecklenburg Rd, Ithaca, NY 14850-9394 (Formerly The Inn @ City Lights)
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Ithaca
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Ithaca
Price Range: £95 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
County chic Greek Revival farm house, private suites, beautiful gardens, hiking, x-country ski, running trail on site, Cable, Wireless, AC, full breakfast on weekends, enjoy the panoramic view of the "city lights". ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing