We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Accomodation with Character, Flexible Hosts” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of City Lights Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ithaca
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
City Lights Inn
Ranked #7 of 17 Ithaca B&B and Inns
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
81 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Accomodation with Character, Flexible Hosts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2012

Colleen and Evan did everything possible to make our stay memorable. The property has a lot of character and the Petite Suite was stylish and comfortable. We travelled with our dogs, one of them very old, and Evan even spent time to ensure she was comfortable during the day. It's a really convenient location, and there is something to please every family member nearby from hiking to dining to shopping and sporting events. Breakfasts were high-quality and all business transactions were professional and efficient. We had a great weekend. Roger&Rachel, Toronto

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Roger H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    15
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
30
81
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rosate
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2012

We only got to stay for a few days, but those few days left us with a definite desire to come back ! Our host, colleen was absolutely wondrous ! The room was spacious, clean and truly felt like a home away from home. And the breakfast was scrumptious ! No question - we are going back and recommend the B&B HIGHLY ! Definite pluses : 1) Being close to Ithaca but feeling far away; 2) private entrance (all the hominess of being in a B&B without the lack of privacy) 3) plenty of parking. & 4) REALLY good food for breakfast served to order !

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnAmericanInMilan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2012

I was up in Ithaca for a wedding and booked a room here and had a fantastic stay. Colleen, the owner was awesome and it felt like I was staying with an old friend. City Lights has tons of character and 1,000 times better than any of the soulless chain hotels in town. I would definitely recommend staying here to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ATC4Life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2012

Colleen,

Thank you for operating such a wonderful place. Your B&B was the perfect antidote for all the college drop-off hullabaloo. Our suite was clean, comfortable, and quiet. Your breakfast was healthful and delicious. Sitting on the deck listening to the crickets while gazing upon the heavens was the perfect evening balance to a day of shopping and traffic.

Your restaurant suggestions were fantastic, your directions to waterfalls and great places to swim were dead on, and your intimate knowledge of Ithaca was invaluable.

If visitors to Ithaca are looking for a cookie-cutter "big box" style of lodging, this is not the place for them. If someone enjoys meeting and sharing a breakfast table with other travelers and appreciates authentic hospitality, City Lights should be their first inquiry as to where to stay.

Hope to see you many times before my son graduates!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeftMyHeart94131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
79 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2012

Colleen was very attentive about our arrival and our plans...our room was pleasant and the bed was comfortable. Colleen did show us around and man-o-man am I sorry we didn't have a suite, but we were last minute so...ah well...what we had was fine. Lovely view, too, and friendly cats ;)! No breakfast so it really is just a Bed and a Hello and a Good-bye. I'd have loved breakfast but I am not big on family style breakfast when all I want to do is wake up and greet the day slowly..so this worked..at least on one rather unsocial level ;-)!. A fresh pot of coffee and some danish, bread, fresh fruit, etc or cold cereal and milk to have as you wish would be the perfect solution. Self-catering, as it were :). We will definitely stay again...THANKS COLLEEN!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lionsandlynx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityLightsBB, Owner at City Lights Inn, responded to this review, 12 August 2012
Just want to be sure that any potential guests realize that we tell guests when booking, that we no longer serve breakfast on the weekdays, (with some exceptions), thus we have lowered our weekday rates. We recommend restaurants in the area. I make sure that everyone who calls is aware of this so that a potential guest who prefers breakfast, can make other arrangements,
No bait and switch here, we are completely up front, and to know this going in and then complain, makes me wonder!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2012

This is an old, rusty, but clean farm house with lots of aesthetic touches (in the category of "junk art" "shabby chic"). Generally we had a comfortable stay during 2 weekdays. I had come across this place during my last minute search for Ithaca travel, where most other B and B's were booked, or out of our range, or they don't accommodate little children. So I'm grateful that we found a comfortable, convenient spacious suite. However, we found the weekday stay to be somewhat lacking in warmth and hospitality. There is no breakfast served during weekdays (the hostess gives you a discount for this, but there was no option to include breakfast if we wanted to.). Self check-in and self check-out processes are really easy, as are the availability of tons of local brochures, but this means less direct personal contact with the hostess. Usually what prompts us to stay at a B and B rather than a hotel is the personal touch, getting to know the area and the house from the eyes/experience of the hosts, etc. We did get a brief welcome personally, but we felt it was just focused on business, before she had to leave the house. Another thing that made us a little queasy was sharing big shampoo, conditioner, body wash bottles, as opposed to individual travel size ones that ensure what you use is what you opened.

Room Tip: North Suite has cool breeze. We did not use any AC in the middle of July heat. Bring your own tra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank markandcyndie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2012

Agree with many other positive reviews regarding the very friendly and hospitable owner and other staff, pleasant location, very spacious and comfortable rooms, cleanliness, and delicious breakfasts. Our child loved the resident kitties and the frog ponds and was very happy there. We would definitely be back! My one minor concern is that one person's 'shabby chic' may be another person's 'shabby'. For example, the outdoor furniture (lounge chairs and couches) had seen much better days; there was rust on the arms of one of the chairs. There was a painted-over paper plate covering a hole in the wall of our room. The bathroom door did not close easily and scraped the floor due to warping (there was a note reminding people to close the door quietly, but that was hard given the warping issue). So, while not terrible, these sorts of little issues kept the place from feeling quite as peaceful and pretty as one would hope.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FitToBeTried
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ithaca hotels
2.8 mi away
The Statler Hotel at Cornell University
3.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Ithaca
2.4 mi away
Argos Inn
Argos Inn
#10 of 22 in Ithaca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Ithaca
Hampton Inn Ithaca
#4 of 22 in Ithaca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Ithaca
2.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Ithaca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Lights Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Lights Inn

Property: City Lights Inn
Address: 1319 Mecklenburg Rd, Ithaca, NY 14850-9394 (Formerly The Inn @ City Lights)
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Ithaca
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Ithaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
County chic Greek Revival farm house, private suites, beautiful gardens, hiking, x-country ski, running trail on site, Cable, Wireless, AC, full breakfast on weekends, enjoy the panoramic view of the "city lights". ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing