We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous time”
Review of City Lights Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ithaca
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
City Lights Inn
Ranked #8 of 18 Ithaca B&B and Inns
Reviewed 1 February 2013

We came for a family retreat during Christmas break. Colleen was a wonderful host. We stayed in the North Suite which was like having our own apartment. We were there during a snow storm and it was so cozy and beautiful. Having some kitchen accommodations allowed us to heat up soup and coffee while we snuggled up. Colleen is full of energy and so much fun. She truly made us feel like we were in our own apartment. We hope to come back next year.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Meryl b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (146)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 146 reviews

Reviewed 1 February 2013

We returned to City Lights and had a great stay! Colleen was a wonderful host as usual. The house is beautiful and well appointed. Ithaca is a great destination with many excellent restaurants. We were lucky enough to have breakfast at the Inn in the kitchen that felt as comfortable as home. We felt the value was excellent and can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: The North Suite has a great gas fireplace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hulda79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

The title says it all. This place was wonderful. Colleen and Evan are super people. This place is perfect if you're looking for a place that is really close to all the attractions of Ithaca, but only a short drive out of town in a quiet and peaceful setting. The amazing breakfast alone is worth it!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AMECTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

Colleen and Evan did everything possible to make our stay memorable. The property has a lot of character and the Petite Suite was stylish and comfortable. We travelled with our dogs, one of them very old, and Evan even spent time to ensure she was comfortable during the day. It's a really convenient location, and there is something to please every family member nearby from hiking to dining to shopping and sporting events. Breakfasts were high-quality and all business transactions were professional and efficient. We had a great weekend. Roger&Rachel, Toronto

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Roger H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2012

We only got to stay for a few days, but those few days left us with a definite desire to come back ! Our host, colleen was absolutely wondrous ! The room was spacious, clean and truly felt like a home away from home. And the breakfast was scrumptious ! No question - we are going back and recommend the B&B HIGHLY ! Definite pluses : 1) Being close to Ithaca but feeling far away; 2) private entrance (all the hominess of being in a B&B without the lack of privacy) 3) plenty of parking. & 4) REALLY good food for breakfast served to order !

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AnAmericanInMilan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2012

I was up in Ithaca for a wedding and booked a room here and had a fantastic stay. Colleen, the owner was awesome and it felt like I was staying with an old friend. City Lights has tons of character and 1,000 times better than any of the soulless chain hotels in town. I would definitely recommend staying here to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ATC4Life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

Colleen,

Thank you for operating such a wonderful place. Your B&B was the perfect antidote for all the college drop-off hullabaloo. Our suite was clean, comfortable, and quiet. Your breakfast was healthful and delicious. Sitting on the deck listening to the crickets while gazing upon the heavens was the perfect evening balance to a day of shopping and traffic.

Your restaurant suggestions were fantastic, your directions to waterfalls and great places to swim were dead on, and your intimate knowledge of Ithaca was invaluable.

If visitors to Ithaca are looking for a cookie-cutter "big box" style of lodging, this is not the place for them. If someone enjoys meeting and sharing a breakfast table with other travelers and appreciates authentic hospitality, City Lights should be their first inquiry as to where to stay.

Hope to see you many times before my son graduates!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeftMyHeart94131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ithaca hotels
8.1 mi away
Cayuga Lake Front Inn
Cayuga Lake Front Inn
#6 of 18 in Ithaca
84 reviews
2.4 mi away
Inn on Columbia
Inn on Columbia
#3 of 18 in Ithaca
124 reviews
3.6 mi away
La Tourelle Hotel, Bistro, Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Ithaca
2 mi away
Hampton Inn Ithaca
Hampton Inn Ithaca
#3 of 22 in Ithaca
713 reviews
3.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ithaca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Lights Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Lights Inn

Address: 1319 Mecklenburg Rd, Ithaca, NY 14850-9394 (Formerly The Inn @ City Lights)
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Ithaca
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Ithaca
Price Range: £91 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
County chic Greek Revival farm house, private suites, beautiful gardens, hiking, x-country ski, running trail on site, Cable, Wireless, AC, full breakfast on weekends, enjoy the panoramic view of the "city lights". ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing