We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming, clean and country inn B&B -- with an incredible breakfast-- !”
Review of City Lights Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ithaca
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
City Lights Inn
Ranked #7 of 18 Ithaca B&B and Inns
Reviewed 4 March 2014

My wife and I have been making the trek to Ithaca to visit our son at college for the past three years and have had our fill of Homewood Suites and the Hampton Inn. This year, we decided to check out the B&Bs in Ithaca. We stayed at the City Lights Inn and could not have had a better start. We stated in the Petite Suite, which really had the feel of a country inn, bed was new and comfortable, sitting room was also very nice. The room was clean and our room had a beautiful view of Ithaca. You feel like you are in the country but are so close (2 minutes drive) to downtown Ithaca, Cornell, and Ithaca College. The owners are two brothers born and raised in Ithaca who recently bought the place and have done a fabulous job making it look very appealing. They also cook the best breakfast you could ask for (and breakfast is a key barometer for me!). Homemade blueberry pancakes, fresh fruit salad, muffins, juice and coffee. It was a great feast in a beautiful country kitchen. All in all, they were great hosts. And it was very reasonably priced compared to some of the other B&Bs in the area. We were very happy with our stay and will be back soon. If you are looking for a really charming place to stay (with a great breakfast!), you will be very happy staying here. And I am not sure when the previous poster stayed at City Lights, but we stayed there in February and it was clean, bright, did not have any mustiness, and was very charming. Mark and Tricia Paoletta

Room Tip: We stayed in the Petite Suite, which had its own entrance and was on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (146)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 146 reviews

Reviewed 29 January 2014

We made reservations here right before the new owners took over. It clearly was not kept up well by the previous owner and needs some considerable restoration work. Although I found it charming and quaint, my wife hated the place because of the mustiness, darkness, and fact that a number of things in our room needed some repair. I would happily stay here again, at this point she would not. The twin brothers who own the place are friendly and clearly are trying very hard to make a go of it.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mikeb1Falmouth_MA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

I found City Lights through TripAdvisor and booked before the new owners took over. Learning that men were running a B&B, I was quite curious as to what we would find. I was extremely impressed with how clean our room was (not that men can't clean) and the living plants that made it feel like my home away from home. Breakfast was amazing (weekends only) and the "boys" take turns preparing breakfast and answering questions of the guests. My son will be attending Cornell University in a few years and I plan to make City Lights my home away from home every time we travel to Ithaca!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kwalsh13286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We found this gem via the local tourist information office. We stayed in the delightful 'Petite Suite' which was a one bedroomed self contained suite with a living room and kitchen area. It was quirkily decorated and had fresh flowers to welcome us. The setting is beautiful with great views and large grounds to explore. Collin and Aaron couldn't do enough to help us and gave us great recommendations for eating and exploring the area. We wish them both every success in this venture.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank LeedsUKDilys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

This B&B is now under the new ownership of Collin and Aaron Shore. The B&B is a 5 minute drive from downtown Ithaca, up on a hill overlooking the town, which sparkles at night. The property was once a dairy and chicken farm and is now peaceful and flower filled---really lovely. Our room, 2 West, was a suite, with a bedroom, kitchen, bathroom and living room, all nicely appointed, spotlessly clean and very quiet and comfortable. I was able to see most of the other rooms and suites and all were equally clean and attractive. But by far the B&B's best assets were the hosts, the former Lacrosse-star twins, Collin and Aaron, who each cooked us delicious breakfasts and provided us with excellent information and maps about local hikes and attractions. I would adopt Collin and Aaron if they weren't full grown and entirely competent. I look forward to returning here some day, and encourage any reader to stay here, too.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelbug155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Feels like a stop in to the old homestead.(Grew up in a house of 8..so there was always something interesting going on!) Colleen is so accommodating...from "come in when you can make it"...(usually late in the evening after a long drive from out of state)...to the welcoming breakfast with steaming coffee and tea ready upon wake up. The breakfast is truly a big part of "the experience" and the clincher on making it our #1 stop when in Ithaca! A great spot to take a deep breath and stop to "smell the roses"

Room Tip: each one has it's charms...depends on # of people in party
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DL R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Pros: lots of free parking. Upstairs unit is big and has kitchen (But we never use a kitchen in a B&B so not sure of the value)
Cons: View from the top of the hill are not bad but commuting up and down the hill to get to town burns some serious gas.
No breakfast but rate is discounted for this. I didn't think enough.
Upstairs unit no good in hot weather as there is only one little over-whelmed window unit in the BR. The SE-facing upstairs unit was ready to Spontaneously combust in 90 degree weather.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrianOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ithaca hotels
2.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Ithaca
2.8 mi away
The Statler Hotel at Cornell University
2.2 mi away
Ithaca Marriott Downtown on the Commons
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Ithaca
3.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ithaca
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Ithaca
Hampton Inn Ithaca
#4 of 22 in Ithaca
696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Lights Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Lights Inn

Address: 1319 Mecklenburg Rd, Ithaca, NY 14850-9394 (Formerly The Inn @ City Lights)
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Ithaca
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Ithaca
Price Range: £95 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
County chic Greek Revival farm house, private suites, beautiful gardens, hiking, x-country ski, running trail on site, Cable, Wireless, AC, full breakfast on weekends, enjoy the panoramic view of the "city lights". ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing