We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“below average cleanliness for an expensive price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Ithaca
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Ithaca
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“below average cleanliness for an expensive price”
Reviewed 11 October 2011

The location in downtown Ithaca doesn't compensate for the astronomical price and uncleanliness of the bathrooms. Mold, falling paint and remnants from previous guests can be found in the bathrooms of your room. The walls were thinner than usual in similar hotels. The staff were friendly and nice but for $200 a night this felt like a rip-off.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jrankw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JerryArsen, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Ithaca, responded to this review, 13 October 2011
I know that you are very busy but I cannot tell you how incredibly important your feedback is to us here at the Hilton Garden Inn of Ithaca! Please know that I will share your comments with the appropriate members of my staff in order to better avoid a situation like this in the future, and more effectively serve our guests. If I may be of any assistance to you, or if you care to discuss the matter further, please do not hesitate to let me know. I hope the rest of your stay, and time in Ithaca, was pleasant. All my best for your future travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

823 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    435
    282
    68
    27
    11
See reviews for
347
167
44
198
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Kansas
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2011

Touring the Finger Lakes wine region, we spent two nights at this location. The room was comfortable and well equipped with fridge, microwave, coffeemaker, and very nice beds. There were several nice restaurants withing easy walking distance. The parking was free and convenient. The front desk staff was pleasant, helpful, and friendly. I would definitely choose this location again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Agar-81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JerryArsen, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Ithaca, responded to this review, 29 September 2011
Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with the Hilton Garden Inn Ithaca. Your willingness to share your thoughts with us is genuinely appreciated. I was very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us as we take great pride in providing our guests with an excellent product and services.

We hope you will continue to use Hilton Garden Inns as your lodging of choice, and look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in Ithaca.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2011

While traveling for business I stayed at this location. Couldn't ask for a cleaner room, internet worked great and bed was as comfortable as promised. Nice to have working microwave and fridge in the room.

The parking is located in a garage across the street from the hotel (no connection between the two) so it's a bit confusing when you first pull up where to go. The parking is free in the ramp...again though, would prefer it be connected to the building.

Dissatisfied with the room service form Kilpatrick's (located in the lobby). Food was sub-par, no condiments included, arrived cold and was not given a steak knife with my rib eye...

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jitterbug7129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
upstate NY
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2011

I was in town for business in mid August 2011. I am in marketing and sales and work with universities. I was in Ithaca for the "move-in" weekend. Both Cornell and Ithaca college students and families were in town to move in. So this is traditionally a very busy time of year, and it is difficult for a business traveler, as the hotels are all sold out . I have to say the staff at this Hilton Garden Inn was one of the most proffesional and friendly I have experienced- and I travel quite a bit. From the front desk people recognizing my status with Hilton, to the cleanliness of the rooms, to the very efficient waitress service in the breakfast area. ehile everything about the room was great, the staff really make this place exceptional! The locaiton is excellent if you want to walk in downtown Ithaca. It is a small city you are near everything (aside form the bog box stores out in the malls).

Room Tip: Hey its a small city, ask for a room on top floor and see the Cornell and Ithaca college campuses fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank finnickytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2011

Stayed here while visiting Ithaca for a wedding. The hotel is great for walking around the cute downtown area, the farmer's market, waterfalls, and the Cornell Campus. The accomodations were decent and the front desk was extremely helpful and friendly. The front desk staff gave us detailed directions and advice on where to go/eat in Ithaca,which we appreciated. The attached Irish pub was also a lot of fun for post wedding drinks. Ithaca is such a charming town that I would definitely stay here again if (when!) I return.

Room Tip: We stayed in 834 and had a gorgeous view of the rolling hills out our window!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cherienian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

I traveled to Ithaca for business and the HGI more than met my needs. Free wireless wi-fi (ok, so it's a little spotty in the room), free printing, free business center, a microwave, fridge AND I had a free hot made-to-order breakfast with my room. And the beds? SO comfortable. Plus, Kilpatrick's next door will deliver to your room...including draught beer.

However, my bathroom tub was a little sketchy looking with some black gunk where the edges are...but overall it was clean and the room was really comfortable. Can't complain.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nanselmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JerryArsen, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Ithaca, responded to this review, 14 September 2011
Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with the Hilton Garden Inn Ithaca. Your willingness to share your thoughts with us is genuinely appreciated. I was very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us as we take great pride in providing our guests with an excellent product and services. I have reviewed your concerns with our housekeeping department and appropriate action has been taken to ensure a situation of this nature will not be repeated in the future. We hope you will continue to use Hilton Garden Inns as your lodging of choice, and look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in Ithaca.

Jerry A. Arsenault
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2011

Stayed here for two nights. Location was great!!! Really enjoyed touring the Commons. Parking was convenient at the garage across the street. Enjoyed the Farmers Market as well. A great City, enjoyed some hiking along the gorges. Wished we had more time to visit some of the restraunts in the area. Enjoyed the pool (Pool area was hot, but pool a good temp) and the gym.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mich123_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JerryArsen, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Ithaca, responded to this review, 9 September 2011
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for us. We are thrilled that you chose us to stay with and please come back and visit if you are ever in the area again!
Jerry A. Arsenault
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ithaca hotels
0.1 mi away
Ithaca Marriott Downtown on the Commons
0.9 mi away
The Statler Hotel at Cornell University
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Ithaca
Hampton Inn Ithaca
#4 of 22 in Ithaca
668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Ithaca
1.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Ithaca
0.2 mi away
The Hotel Ithaca
The Hotel Ithaca
#15 of 22 in Ithaca
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Ithaca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Ithaca

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Ithaca
Address: 130 E Seneca St, Ithaca, NY 14850-4356
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Ithaca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Ithaca
#3 Family Hotel in Ithaca
#3 Green Hotel in Ithaca
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ithaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Ithaca 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Ithaca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Ithaca Hotel Ithaca
Ithaca Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Ithaca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing