We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“About as good as it gets in Ithaca”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Ithaca
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Ithaca
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
184 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“About as good as it gets in Ithaca”
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Property well maintained and the staff is friendly and helpful. Rooms were clean and spacious. Modest fitness facility. Parking is across the street - slightly aggravating but parking is an issue most places in Ithaca. Close walking distance to a number of casual restaurants, coffee shops and a small market. Walking distance to campus, but it's a long walk and all uphill. Unlike a lot of hotels in this genre, no complimentary breakfast, but there is a breakfast grill in the hotel, as well as a coffee shop across the street.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TXRoadWarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

785 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    410
    270
    67
    27
    11
See reviews for
330
158
42
193
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
southampton, ma
Level Contributor
51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2011

As a frequent traveler, we've stayed at a number of Hilton Garden Inns--and this, because of it's friendly staff, clean and sizable rooms, location right in a beautiful college town, and proximity to walking to restaurants and the gorgeous view, as well as 2 incredibly comfortable Queen beds in one room--is our favorite. We've stayed twice in the last few months for weddings and college visits and really enjoyed the upbeat, gracious staff--especially the breakfast staff and chef...they make you feel "right at home." Excellent job! I wish every HGI was this good.

Room Tip: Try to get one of the top floors as this is a college town and kids are loud in the bars across the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank budgetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JerryArsen, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Ithaca, responded to this review, 18 October 2011
Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with the Hilton Garden Inn Ithaca. I will be sharing your review with the entire staff as we take great pride in providing our guests with an excellent product and services.

We hope you will continue to use Hilton Garden Inns as your lodging of choice, and look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in Ithaca.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Campbell Hall, New York
Level Contributor
127 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2011

HIlton Garden Inn is still my first choice when back in Ithaca. Clean, convenient and friendly staff. Restaurant on property but also a *$ (Starbucks) on first floor. 1/2 block walk to Ithaca Commons for shopping, people watching and Ithaca's "Restaurant Row". Short drive to either Cornell or Ithaca College.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drjamesz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2011

I am a frequent visitor to Ithaca and the Hilton Garden Inn is always my first choice, although my most recent visit was a bit puzzling.
PROS: Location, location, location. Centrally located downtown, within easy walking distance to shops, restaurants, etc. and a short drive to anywhere else in the area. Free parking. Pleasant, helpful staff. Clean rooms with comfortable beds. Small pantry sells "forgotten" items (contact lens solution, etc.). Breakfast grill and full-service bar-restaurant on site. Hotel rooms are on floors 6-9, so most rooms have a nice view.
CONS: Usually, there are no cons (except that often the hotel has no vacancies when I want to book it). But during my most recent visit, there were a few minor problems in the maintenance area. For some odd reason, our dresser was missing the bottom drawer. The lamp on the nightstand had a bad switch and one of the two bulbs was burned out. The lower-numbered TV channels had poor reception (snowy). The clock-radio had the wrong time and we couldn't fix it. The toilet ran occasionally. The refrigerator was noisier than it should have been. My husband, an engineer, was disturbed to see a worker up on a very high ladder without a harness, a safety violation.
To the staff's credit, they respond quickly if you complain about something. We did report the lamp problem, and when we returned to our room later in the day, the lamp had been replaced. But the maintenance department needs to step it up a bit.
I'm really hoping this most recent visit was an anomaly. I still highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JerryArsen, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Ithaca, responded to this review, 13 October 2011
I just wanted to let you know how sorry I am that you experienced issues with your room while staying with us at the Hilton Garden Inn of Ithaca. I could not be more unhappy about the inconvenience to you. Please do let me know if you wish to discuss the matter further. I hope the rest of your stay and time in Ithaca was enjoyable!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2011

The location in downtown Ithaca doesn't compensate for the astronomical price and uncleanliness of the bathrooms. Mold, falling paint and remnants from previous guests can be found in the bathrooms of your room. The walls were thinner than usual in similar hotels. The staff were friendly and nice but for $200 a night this felt like a rip-off.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jrankw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JerryArsen, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Ithaca, responded to this review, 13 October 2011
I know that you are very busy but I cannot tell you how incredibly important your feedback is to us here at the Hilton Garden Inn of Ithaca! Please know that I will share your comments with the appropriate members of my staff in order to better avoid a situation like this in the future, and more effectively serve our guests. If I may be of any assistance to you, or if you care to discuss the matter further, please do not hesitate to let me know. I hope the rest of your stay, and time in Ithaca, was pleasant. All my best for your future travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Kansas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2011

Touring the Finger Lakes wine region, we spent two nights at this location. The room was comfortable and well equipped with fridge, microwave, coffeemaker, and very nice beds. There were several nice restaurants withing easy walking distance. The parking was free and convenient. The front desk staff was pleasant, helpful, and friendly. I would definitely choose this location again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Agar-81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JerryArsen, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Ithaca, responded to this review, 29 September 2011
Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with the Hilton Garden Inn Ithaca. Your willingness to share your thoughts with us is genuinely appreciated. I was very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us as we take great pride in providing our guests with an excellent product and services.

We hope you will continue to use Hilton Garden Inns as your lodging of choice, and look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in Ithaca.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2011

While traveling for business I stayed at this location. Couldn't ask for a cleaner room, internet worked great and bed was as comfortable as promised. Nice to have working microwave and fridge in the room.

The parking is located in a garage across the street from the hotel (no connection between the two) so it's a bit confusing when you first pull up where to go. The parking is free in the ramp...again though, would prefer it be connected to the building.

Dissatisfied with the room service form Kilpatrick's (located in the lobby). Food was sub-par, no condiments included, arrived cold and was not given a steak knife with my rib eye...

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jitterbug7129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ithaca hotels
2.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Ithaca
0.2 mi away
Ithaca Marriott Downtown on the Commons
0.9 mi away
The Statler Hotel at Cornell University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Ithaca
Hampton Inn Ithaca
#4 of 22 in Ithaca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
1.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Ithaca
2.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ithaca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Ithaca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Ithaca

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Ithaca
Address: 130 E Seneca St, Ithaca, NY 14850-4356
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Ithaca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Ithaca
#2 Business Hotel in Ithaca
#3 Family Hotel in Ithaca
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ithaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Ithaca 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Ithaca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Ithaca Hotel Ithaca
Ithaca Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Ithaca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing