We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Definition of Hospitality.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Statler Hotel at Cornell University
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Ithaca
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Cornell operates the oldest hospitality school in the world, so it shouldn't be surprising that they have a luxury hotel on campus that serves as a "teaching school" for the programme. The Statler hotel is a recently renovated, luxuriously outfitted hotel that makes for a great base in Ithaca. It is the *ONLY* place to stay if you don't plan on leaving the campus while you're in town.

The outside of the hotel looks like a circa-1980 Hilton property, but don't let it fool you. The rooms are modern, tasteful, and luxuriously outfitted--comfortable beds, Frette robes--everything you'd expect at a four-star hotel. The bathrooms could use an update, but they're still well appointed.

The hotel staff is what makes every stay at the Statler so special; they are amazing at what they do and take pride in creating amazing guest experiences. All the students you interact with take great pride in their jobs at the Statler and have amazing stories about how they got interested in the hotel industry...it certainly makes for great conversation.

P.S. -- You can save considerably by booking this hotel through Hotwire, as I have the past few times that I have stayed here. It's the only "4-star Hotel in Ithaca" ...I've saved ~$90 per night by doing this and would encourage others to do the same!

Room Tip: Rooms on the backside of the hotel have amazing views -- the higher up, the better!
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arlingtonman13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheStatlerHotel, Student Director of Guest Services at The Statler Hotel at Cornell University, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2014

Arlingtonman13,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your wonderful experience here with us at the Statler Hotel.

I’m very happy to see that you were able to experience the magic that our student staff brings to the table. We all certainly take pride in using what we learn in the classroom and delivering it to our guests. Whether it’s providing a great culinary experience at our Taverna Banfi restaurant, providing shuttle transportation to the airport, or delivering speedy valet service, our entire staff focuses on always providing the best service.

We are pleased that you choose to stay with us when visiting campus and hope to see you again soon.

Best wishes,

Dan Leyva
Student Director of Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (644)
There are newer reviews for The Statler Hotel at Cornell University
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

396 - 402 of 644 reviews

Reviewed 28 February 2014

Was in Cornell for a recruiting trip and stayed at the Statler hotel, operated primarily by Cornell students. The hotel was nice and comfortable, and the employees were very pleasant and helpful. Had a meal and a few drinks at the Regent Lounge, which was good.
The room was a suite and very comfortable, with good amenities and two tvs.
Overall it was a very good hotel and I would stay there again if I was heading back to the area.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank r_duke1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

I had a room with a view that took my breath away and with an extremely comfortable bed, way above expectations. The Lounge and the Tavern serve good food. Students were very nice. One suggested places to see in town and restaurants to try, all very good suggestions.

Room Tip: 9th floor south side view is breath taking
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carmen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheStatlerHotel, Director of Rooms at The Statler Hotel at Cornell University, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Fairwood_Traveler,

Thank you for the kind words! We are very lucky to be overlooking the beautiful campus and Ithaca valley. I'm glad that you enjoyed your meals during your stay; the poutine in the Regent is one of my favorites! Our students have such passion for our industry; it's great to hear that you were able to experience that while you were here.

Best regards,
Rebecca Rypkema

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Take the plunge!!! This hotel is always out to please! We had an amazing suite with a view that took our breath away but the service here is top notch!! Every little touch is something to be acknowledged!! The beds are so comfortable and it just feel luxurious here!! They must have double or triple paned windows because the church bell is close by and you can barely here it chime so its very quiet and easy to sleep in! yes!! I wish I could remember everyones name to mention but Dan went above and beyond at front desk! The bell stand is always above the competition as well, they just really know how to treat their clientele!! We try and stay here at every visit but its not always available as we are kind of late to the game and everyone else already knows this hospitality secret!! Love, love love it there!!

Room Tip: The Cornel store is just across the street and the walking around this hotel is just so beautiful...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheStatlerHotel, Director of Rooms at The Statler Hotel at Cornell University, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2014

Dear Lisa F,

Thanks for choosing to stay with us when visiting Ithaca! We really appreciate your review, I'm glad to hear that our staff has met your needs. We have an amazing team here that truly enjoy the hospitality business, one of the best things about working here is watching the students as they grow over their four years at Cornell. Dan is a real gem, we will miss him when he graduates in May!

We look forward to your next visit!

Sincerely,
Rebecca Rypkema

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

For the best service pick this hotel since it's run by students at the School of Hotel Administration at Cornell. They are all eager beavers, friendly, wonderful. Stay here if you are visiting Cornell. Food at the restaurants in the hotel is superb also (although a bit pricey).

Room Tip: Make sure if you are a Cornell Alumnus or alumna to let them know. You will get an upgrade. There is...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Haragoji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

This was a very nice hotel. The student staff was very nice and good at giving tips. The room was very nice. The beds were very comfortable, and the TV was a nice size. The elevators were also decent, but a little outdated. There was an awful odor in the lobby though. I hope they fix that.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Palmtree31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Whenever I can get in, I stay at the Statler. Rooms are immaculate and well appointed. I love the students who work at the hotel - they work so hard to make the guest experience a great one. Beds are super comfy, as are the chairs. It is a top notch hotel.

Room Tip: I love the tower view. It does cost more so only go that route if you will be able to enjoy it.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mainegirl_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ithaca hotels
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Ithaca
0.8 mi away
Ithaca Marriott Downtown on the Commons
2.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Ithaca
Hampton Inn Ithaca
#4 of 22 in Ithaca
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Ithaca
2.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Ithaca
2.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ithaca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Statler Hotel at Cornell University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Statler Hotel at Cornell University

Address: 130 Statler Dr, Ithaca, NY 14853
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Ithaca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Ithaca
#1 Business Hotel in Ithaca
#1 Family Hotel in Ithaca
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ithaca
Price Range: £167 - £322 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Statler Hotel at Cornell University 4*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering a blend of campus energy and modern elegance, The Statler Hotel offers visitors and travelers an inviting atmosphere within a first-class hotel. Guest are minutes from Ithaca, NY and can take in the sights of the ever-beautiful Finger Lakes countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Statler Hotel at Cornell University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Statler Hotel Ithaca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing