We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super service, wonderful location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Statler Hotel at Cornell University
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Ithaca
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I was here for 6 nights and found it to be a great location (of course, my meetings were right in the hotel...so an easy "commute") with wonderful service. Cute story--I ordered room service one evening and ordered a bottle of the local root beer....when it arrived with no bottle opener, I just put it in the fridge thinking I'd find a bottle opener later. When the gal came to get my tray, I happened to mention (when she asked how my meal was) that I had not received a bottle opener...she was aghast, appalled and super apologetic...I think she must have RUN back to the kitchen to get me a bottle opener, as she was only gone for a flash! BTW---the local root beer is super yummy! I'd stay here again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whitecalla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (663)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

396 - 402 of 663 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

Went for Labor Day weekend to check out some wineries and stayed at the Statler. We were very pleased that Cornell students were working at the hotel. You can tell that they really made an effort to make our experience pleasant.
The rooms were decent sized and clean. The beds were comfortable too. Overall, our stay at the hotel was flawless!

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
Thank mizy k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Having done a lot of college visits, and stayed in a variety of local inns and hotels, the Statler is a wonderful change of pace. It is situated perfectly, atop the campus. The staff is friendly, helpful and eager to please. The rooms are clean and bright, the facilities are lovely. It has all the positive attributes of a big city hotel, but the charm and personal feel of a small town one. The campus view rooms are definitely worth the upgrade - the view of the campus, down to the lake is breathtaking.

Room Tip: The campus / lake view rooms are fabulous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jih2lex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

The statler hotel is used as a training hotel for the students of the hotel school in Cornell but don't let that put you off as it is a really excellently run hotel, located right in the heart of the historic campus. Excellent meeting facilities.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GM1Galway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Went for a conference and felt very taken care of. The hotel was very clean and elegant. Clearly an older hotel but they really put in some modern pieces - Keurig in the rooms and electric shades. The beds were super comfortable. The airport shuttle was great and easy. Front desk gave me walking directions and suggestions on what to see/do.

Room Tip: I had a corner room and got to see more of the campus!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lindsay H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

I was blown away by the service at the Statler. Everyone jumps to please. The food is great- very committed to local, seasonal, organic, etc. The rooms were more upscale- Frette linens- than I anticipated. Beautiful campus- they even have running maps for guests, based on the distance they run.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveljack2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Most of the people staying at the Statler are there because of its location on the Cornell campus. In that regard, this hotel cannot be beat by any local competition. The rates are significantly higher than might be expected in this region but they certainly don't have any problems finding customers. The rooms are bright, modern ,well appointed and they've always been scrupulously well-maintained on my multiple visits to the campus over the years. Many of the staff positions are occupied by Hotel and Restaurant School students who are in training for future careers in the industry. In many ways, that's a very good thing because you meet a lot of bright talkative kids who draw you into the college experience. Occasionally, it exposes you to someone who probably really wasn't put on the earth to serve people coffee at breakfast at 7 AM or who might be otherwise ill-equipped to serve in a busy restaurant. Overall, it all seems to work out but adjusting your expectations is probably a good idea. I would say that the lobby bar could use a tuneup. The decor and service is more something you would expect in a student pub located off-campus. I would also love to see the lobby store opened more orthodox hours. "Bankers hours"doesn't seem to make much sense for a store people rely on for newspapers and toothpaste.

Room Tip: Reserve your room well in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YankeeExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ithaca hotels
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Ithaca
0.8 mi away
Ithaca Marriott Downtown on the Commons
2.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Ithaca
Hampton Inn Ithaca
#4 of 22 in Ithaca
696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Ithaca
2.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Ithaca
2.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ithaca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Statler Hotel at Cornell University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Statler Hotel at Cornell University

Address: 130 Statler Dr, Ithaca, NY 14853
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Ithaca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Ithaca
#1 Business Hotel in Ithaca
#1 Family Hotel in Ithaca
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ithaca
Price Range: £160 - £327 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Statler Hotel at Cornell University 4*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering a blend of campus energy and modern elegance, The Statler Hotel offers visitors and travelers an inviting atmosphere within a first-class hotel. Guest are minutes from Ithaca, NY and can take in the sights of the ever-beautiful Finger Lakes countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Statler Hotel at Cornell University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Statler Hotel Ithaca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing