We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“delicious breakfast with gracious host”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ithaca
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Amazing Grace Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #13 of 18 Ithaca B&B and Inns
Reviewed 14 November 2011

lovely spot for nature and animal lovers. house is definitely 'antiquey' and the conversations with alicia were broad and interesting. my husband and i really appreciated the visit as a quintessential ithaca re-immersion, having been away for many years. alicia prepared amazingly delicious and beautiful breakfasts both mornings, with her own farm fresh eggs, fruit preserves and vegetables grown on her land.

Room Tip: rooms with two twin beds are nice for traveling with children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank skifood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (23)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 23 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2011

I was in Ithaca in June to attend a course at Cornell University and a friend came to meet me for the weekend. It was High School graduation weekend and most accommodations were filled. We were able to get a reservation at Amazing Grace B&B at the last minute and had a cozy room with twin beds. Alicia was a gracious hostess, showing us in and then leaving to tend to her horses.

Breakfast in the morning was hearty - a full plate of fresh fruit, juice, pancakes with strawberries, yogurt & syrup and very crispy bacon.

We found the accommodations suitable for our needs, but there were a few things to note that may bother some: one window in our room did not have a screen, so we were not able to get a cross draft, there appeared to be wireless, but we could not find the access key written down, and were not able to find Alicia in the evening again after she let us in, and there was not a way to lock our bedroom door when we left the room. As we knew that the owner had left the house unlocked, we just took our laptops and my passport with us when we went out...

Listening to the crow of the rooster in the morning and looking at the horses in the pasture out our window gave us an authentic farm feeling, and Alicia is charming and knows so much about Ithaca and the Finger Lake region!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BelgraviaBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2010

My wife and I visited Ithaca in mid-October 2010. When we talked to the owner to book the Amazing Grace Bed and Breakfast, the owner seemed friendly and we were excited about our stay. However, we were not excited at all upon arrival.

The location was 15 minutes away from Cornell's campus and even further from Ithaca Commons. At the B&B, there wasn't enough room for all cars to park in the driveway and cars had to park on grass along the road.

We went in the front door and searched for our room. The owner was not there and did not leave a note. The only empty room that we found had dirty, stained sheets and had no lock on the door. With the front door unlocked and no locks on room doors, we did not feel comfortable leaving our belongings in the room while we spent time in Ithaca during the day.

Also, the room shared one bathroom with three rooms (6 people). Apparently, there was another bathroom available on a different floor, but realistically the three rooms on the second floor shared one bathroom.

My wife and I were not comfortable with the stained sheets, one bathroom shared among 6 people, and no locks on doors so we called the owner to cancel. We explained our concerns to the owner and, as part of the owner's rude response, she informed us that we should not worry about the lack of locks because we couldn't possibly have any belongings worth stealing. The owner said this to us even though we never even met her face to face.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Tim140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2010

My son and I were visiting Ithaca College and needed a room with two beds; Alicia "shuffled" her guests around to accommodate us. We arrived late and hungry and promptly left to go find a restaurant. When we returned, around 11:00 p.m., Alicia was waiting with a bonfire blazing in a pasture behind the house. We crossed the field and met up with Alicia's two horses, who joined us for a late night bonfire and star gazing. My son and I slept like rocks in twin beds upstairs, where the only thing you could hear was quiet. Breakfast consisted of homemade jam, concord grapes and steamed asparagus. This is the sort of experience you would never find at a regular hotel. If you want to get off the beaten track, try something different, and meet a very original hostess, give this place a try.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IsadoraPhiladelphia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2010

Pond fringed with iris, patched with waterlilies: my husband and 7-year-old swam in it every morning and evening. Fireflies and bonfire, rolling wooded hills beyond. Enormous old oak tree with swings for the children. Chickens providing fresh eggs for breakfast, and soon there will be sheep for cheese. Our host Alicia took my son out on her horse, showed him newts and frogs; he was in heaven. And we were allowed to stay with a baby; so unusual. Beautiful old house, broad oak plank floor. Large comfortable beds on antique frames, small old-fashioned windows with trees beyond. Utterly comfortable.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yselden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2010

Staying at Amazing Grace was less like staying at a B&B than visiting a beloved aunt. Alicia made it clear how delighted she was to have us there; she fussed over us like a mother hen (ironically, she would show us the freshly laid eggs before she cooked them) and fed us delicious food. The surroundings are breathtakingly beautiful: the property has a pond, horses, and of course, chickens. The interior had plenty of quaint and rustic charm, even if it was a bit cluttered with tschotschkes. But the good-heartedness of our hostess overshadowed those concerns.

I would recommend Amazing Grace to anyone visiting the Ithaca area, as long as they enjoy a homey environment.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fabulousvixen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2008

We were greeted and treated with the warmth and kindness of old friends * the place itself is lovely * the hostess, an angel * and our experience was magic. The grounds are BEAUTIFUL. The breakfasts were yummy. Accommodations were unique- we stayed in a simple cabin, set in a meadow with goats for neighbors... it was a sweet home*base for our explorations and ultimately made for a very special weekend. Alicia is a gracious hostess with a generous heart and a remarkable woman (when a fellow guest asked if he could call a taxi- without missing a beat she volunteered to drive him where he needed to go.) Suggestions, directions and maps were offered freely. Came for my birthday and every detail- from the swings hanging from the maple, the autumn leaves reflecting in the pond, the marshmallows roasted to perfection under a wide open sky with the moon glowing bright, the candles sweetly placed in the corn/spoon bread the morning of our departure- was a gift. WE WILL DEFINITELY BE BACK...

Stayed: October 2008
1  Thank SparkleHeart11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ithaca hotels
6.4 mi away
Inn on Columbia
Inn on Columbia
#3 of 18 in Ithaca
124 reviews
9 mi away
Grayhaven Motel
Grayhaven Motel
#9 of 18 in Ithaca
2 reviews
7.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ithaca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Ithaca
7.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Ithaca
Hampton Inn Ithaca
#3 of 22 in Ithaca
706 reviews
6.9 mi away
Econo Lodge - Ithaca
Econo Lodge - Ithaca
#18 of 22 in Ithaca
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amazing Grace Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amazing Grace Bed and Breakfast

Address: 136 Hunt Hill Rd, Five Foxes Farm, Ithaca, NY 14850-9697
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Ithaca
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Ithaca
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing