We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible Desk Service” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Homewood Suites by Hilton Ithaca

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Ithaca
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in Ithaca
Certificate of Excellence
Carol Stream, IL, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Terrible Desk Service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

The front desk staff at this hotel were extremely rude and unhelpful during our check-in. Our rooms were not ready and we were late to a National Competition in which our daughter was performing. The staff was very uncaring, unhelpful and extremely rude as we were attempting to check in - after a long flight and airport delay's.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WHGGuestService, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Ithaca, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us on TripAdvisor. We value all feedback from our guests, both negative and positive, as it helps us to constantly improve. That being said, I'm disappointed to read about your overall experience and that our front desk agents. I'm sorry they were not able to satisfy your need in a timely manner and manage the situation better.On behalf of our entire staff I would like to personally apologize to you.I have taken up this matter with the front office leadership team to be sure that the team has the training and empowerment to better handle situations in the future. Historically they have been very adept at handling big groups early check-in requests. So again, I’m truly sorry it wasn't handled appropriately during your visit. What you described is certainly not the exceptional level of service we strive to consistently provide. I do hope you’ll return and allow us another opportunity to provide you with the extraordinary experience that you deserve!

Warmest Regards,
Mohamed Abdelrehim
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

649 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    370
    187
    60
    19
    13
See reviews for
352
98
26
133
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canandaigua, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

We stayed at this hotel while in town for a state swim meet. With the exception of some dust, the room appeared to be very clean. Although not inexpensive, we were able to prepare meals in the kitchen which is important to us when at meets. Saving money on food and having healthy meals outweighed the mid-level hotel cost. Barry was great in helping us to secure a late checkout, which was also important. Highly recommend if you need a home away from home in Ithaca!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Hanna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WHGGuestService, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Ithaca, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to detail your experience with us on TripAdvisor. It was a great pleasure to read your review, and I was happy to know that you would highly recommend us! We are delighted to learn that you have enjoyed the hotel facilities, the food and suite layout and found our accommodations very comfortable. I will personally ensure that your compliments are passed on to Barry and the rest of hotel associates and let them know that their efforts to provide perfect hotel stays didn't go unnoticed. Once again, we all truly appreciate your kind words. Thank you for recommending us and I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon!

Mohamed Abdelrehim
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

This is a nice hotel. Friendly staff and clean. Decent drive to Pool facility, but we ran into lots of Friday afternoon traffic. If you are there for a swim meet, allow more time than you think to get there. We enjoyed the breakfast, and the hotel accommodated the swimmers and families by starting the breakfast early on Sat AM. Overall, nice stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank sarahsE9436RA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WHGGuestService, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Ithaca, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Thank you for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor following your recent stay at Homewood Suites by Hilton Ithaca . It was a great pleasure to read your review. I do appreciate your positive remarks about the hotel's facilities and location. I also enjoyed reading your kind words about our services and our friendly staff - thank you. We look forward to have an opportunity to welcome you again to our hotel for you next swim event.

Warmest Regards,
Mohamed Abdelrehim
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

Have a chat and coffee with Sandee. She starts your day off right. All areas of the hotel are clean. Good food inclusive in our rate. Warm fire to sit or work by. Quiet even when filled with lots of kids. Excellent location near all colleges.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lpb03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WHGGuestService, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Ithaca, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Thank you for staying with us and giving us this feedback on TripAdvisor. I’m very pleased to read that you liked our breakfast, suite layout and found our accommodations very comfortable. Thank you for your comments regarding Sandee. I absolutely agree, there's something special about starting my day with a morning coffee and a great conversation with our breakfast team! Our great associates and attentive service is what sets our hotel apart. I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel for your next visit .

Mohamed Abdelrehim
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harleysville, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

I am a Hilton Honors member and it was great to have 2 bottles of water, Milano cookies and a note to greet us when we got to our room. The room was very spacious and accomodated 2 adults and one 16 year old very comfortably.

We choose the Homewood Suites for many reasons - the free internet access for multiple laptops, the 24/7 access to coffee and hot water for tea and hot chocolate and the hot breakfast on real plates with real cutlery. We were there for 2 nights and they vary the breakfast each day.

The breakfast staff are very helpful and Sandie was kind enough to introduce us to the wonderful raspberry scones with white chocolate chunks inside. We've never had them before.
We also like the pistachio muffins we had the first day.

We'll definitely stay again when we go back to Ithaca

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fks2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WHGGuestService, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Ithaca, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments and providing the TripAdvisor community with your endorsement of our Ithaca hotel. It’s wonderful to get great reviews from our Hilton Honors members such as yourself. I do appreciate your positive comments with regards to the hotel’s amenities which you have kindly mentioned - the free internet access, 24/7 access to coffee, tea , hot chocolate and our everyday complimentary breakfast. It was great to read your praise for Sandie and the hotel staff, Our team is a great asset to us I will ensure that your kind compliments are passed on to them. Once again, thank you for letting us know your stay with us was pleasant, and we look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Mohamed Abdelrehim
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

During six stays over two years the hotel experience is continually high quality and staff attentive and professional. Rooms have always been clean, comfortable and appealing. The location is ideal if you have car - short drive to Ithaca and Cornell. The breakfast buffet was consistent and the staff exemplary. Sandie in particular. Good experience. Will return.

Room Tip: Room on the east side are further away from the highway and slightly quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tropical_Frog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WHGGuestService, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Ithaca, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
I would like to thank you for being a long-time guest with us at Homewood Suites Ithaca. Furthermore, Thank you for sharing your review with us on Tripadviser. I'm very pleased to learn that you have enjoyed the hotel facilities, the food and the accommodations we offer. I will ensure that your kind compliments are conveyed to all hotel team whose efforts were highly appreciated. We truly value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back.

Mohamed Abdelrehim
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

The hotel room was fine, clean, etc. tho' way overpriced for what it was. There were no sheets on the sofa bed and we had to root around 'til we found them. But my biggest beef is that the hotel supposedly had a "fitness center" when it really was a tiny narrow room with barely enough room for 2 treadmills and an elliptical. There were 2 people in there and it was crowded. It's misrepresentation. And it was one reason I chose the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Evehartwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WHGGuestService, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Ithaca, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Thank you for sharing your review with us. It is always our goal to ensure our guests experience a clean, comfortable and inviting stay during each visit. I’m glad you found your Hotel suite clean. With that said, I am very sorry that you had to look for the extra sheets. We store the extra sheets and pillows for the sofa beds in the suite closets, I’m sorry that this wasn’t brought to your attention during check-in and do hope that this oversight didn’t cause too much discomfort. I have brought this to the attention of our front desk associates and asked them to be aware of this in the future.

I'm also happy to share that we just finished our fitness room remodeling this week. Our Fitness center includes 2 treadmills ,an elliptical machine, weights and medicine balls.

Once again, thank you for your review. I do hope we can welcome you back to Homewood Suites Ithaca in the near future to not only provide you with okay visit, but a remarkable experience.

Thank you,

Mohamed Abdelrehim
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ithaca hotels
2.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Ithaca
4.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Ithaca
Hampton Inn Ithaca
#4 of 22 in Ithaca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
5.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ithaca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Statler Hotel at Cornell University
4.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Ithaca
3.0 mi away
Ithaca Marriott Downtown on the Commons
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Ithaca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Ithaca

Property: Homewood Suites by Hilton Ithaca
Address: 36 Cinema Dr, Ithaca, NY 14850-1656
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Ithaca
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ithaca
#2 Family Hotel in Ithaca
#3 Business Hotel in Ithaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Ithaca 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Homewood Suites by Hilton® Ithaca hotel is the only all-suite hotel in Ithaca, New York. Situated in the heart of the beautiful Finger Lakes Region, our hotel offers central hotel accommodations for both extended stay and short-term guests, that's near some of Ithaca's main attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Ithaca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Ithaca Hotel Ithaca
Homewood Ithaca
Ithaca Homewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing