We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel in an okay location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Ithaca
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in Ithaca
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 April 2009

This is a very clean and nice hotel with large rooms featuring kitchens and numerous amenities. The staff was very friendly, and I would return in an instant. The location isn't ideal, as it is on the north side of Ithaca near the highway, but everywhere you want to go is at most 15 minutes away. One of the best hotels around, with great dining recommendations as well.

Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
Thank Brotsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (739)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

700 - 706 of 739 reviews

Reviewed 28 February 2009

great staff-front desk great-that woman can multitask-very clean-great breakfast help, beautiful surroundings interior/fireplace/huge breakfast greatroom/above average breakfast but not over the top/not desirable location-you have to drive through a dunky strip mall area-almost shady; but convenient to highway. Did not hear highway noise at all-beautiful large rooms(king 2 room suites) but they are deceiving. Very clean-but I smell cigarette smoke and I really think the staff that folds the laundry smokes-alot- and the sheets are extremely uncomfortable(not the mattresses the sheets) and they and the pillow cases smell like smoke. The heating system-extremely state of the art-was blowing cold when set at 75 degrees-blowing cold in February-then it would straighten out. It's a good priced hotel but if you stay there and if you like soft sheets you will not be happy. If you sensitive to cigarette smoke you will not be happy. Great visible staff though-not their fault.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nurseinknow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2008

My girlfriend and I spent two nights at this hotel. The location is outside of the downtown, so you have to drive everywhere. It's about a 5-10 minute drive to downtown. However, if you're visiting the Lakes and such, you're going to drive around anyway.

We had a one-bedroom suite with a kitchen. It was clean, spacious, and nicely appointed. If is very comfortable for couples or families.

The price includes an afternoon reception, which changes daily. One day it was chicken and onion rings, which could have easily been a dinner. The breakfast is also pretty substantial, with many hot and cold choices. Go for the waffles, which you make yourself.

There is a pool and hot tub. The pool is very tiny, but is ok. The hot tub is a good size. We timed it right, and made it there while there were few people. Given the small size, adults would not enjoy the pool with 3-4 loud kids. The hot tub was serviced regularly, but the chlorine or something was off. On our second day our eyes felt burning in the hot tub (and we were not underwater).

The dining room staff was especially helpful and friendly. Unlike many other hotels, they actually encouraged us to take food out of the dining room. They provided us with various size take out containers.

The front desk staff was not very good. We didn't have any problems at all, but they just acted very unenthusiastic and apathetic. For example, we asked for a local area map, and the attendant seemed bothered to look for one.

We paid $159, which is kind of expensive for upstate NY. However, we couldn't find anything better at a cheaper price. Ithaca must be a popular weekend destination. Overall, you should enjoy your stay there.

  • Stayed: September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank finhat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2008

All around just a great experience from the terrific staff to the super clean and comfortable room to the nice pool and whirlpool to the nice breakfast. The whole place is clean, bright and cheerful. HD flatscreen, great kitchenette, full size fridge, dishwasher, 2 burner stovetop, large shower, (free microwave popcorn). Even the pull-out sofa bed was comfortable for the kids. Nice business center with 2 computers and office supplies. The only not so nice thing I can say is the location just off the interstate isn't so nice.
We ended up here after originally booking a room at the Ramada Inn just up the road. The Ramada was so old and dank we refused to stay there.They suggested Homewood Suites and called to secure a room for us.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Ingelore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2008

I have stayed at many sub-par hotels in Ithaca over the last couple of years and am so thrilled to have found Homewood Suites. Seems brand new and is very clean. Rooms are very spacious and quiet and beds are very comfortable. Breakfast buffet was huge and very well done. Most hotels in Ithaca are pretty terrible and this one, while not the most luxurious in the world, is certainly pleasant and clean. I will only stay here when I visit Cornell U. from now on...even better than the Statler and the price is right especially because it includes breakfast and light dinner during the week.

  • Stayed: June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank kalodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2008

This was a wonderful hotel to stay at. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The rooms were very clean. Their breakfast bar and their "Welcome Home Reception" (this was a light dinner) was also very good. This was my first stay at a Homewood Suite owned by Hilton and I plan on staying at more of these type of hotels.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank cincogates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2008

If you have to go to Ithaca, especially on university business, you really must consider this hotel. We took our son for a campus tour. Booked this hotel based on Tripadvisor, and WOW. For what it offers, this hotel is a delight. (Hey, you don't stay at Homewood for the ambiance.) Price was unbelievably cheap. The hotel seems to be near a sort of industrial area, but the mall and Cornell campus was nearby. The entire hotel was wonderfully clean and comfortable. A sweet little kitchenette with everything you needed except a real oven for baking. Decent sleeper sofa for my son. Everything in the room worked. Staff was amazing. Extra blanket, late checkout, more coffee. Everything was offered with a smile. The indoor pool area was clean and the hot tub -- wonder of wonders -- was actually hot -- and after a drive through the mountains of upstate NY, you'll be wanting that hot tub. Water in tub and pool was clean. The bed was beyond comfortable. Best night's sleep I had in a long time.

The area is very quiet. You will have to wind around a bit to find the place. If I had one suggestion, it would be to signpost the street in a couple of places to help find it. No biggie. Wireless internet connection is free, lightning fast and automatic. No codes, no secret handshakes, no adjusting your computer's settings to get your email to go out.

The free buffet breakfast was ample. Plenty of cold selections, lots of fruit, and a waffle maker. Hot food was just eggs with some excellent hash brown & ham casserole, but it was fine. Great coffee. And did I mention the place was clean, clean, clean? I am a bit of a travel snob, and generally go lux. While this hotel is by no means elegant, I was shocked by how nice it was. Kudos to the staff and management of this hotel. Hands down the friendliest employees I've ever seen. I hope someone at Hilton reads this. If I have to go back to Ithaca, I won't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank MizLiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ithaca hotels
4.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Ithaca
Hampton Inn Ithaca
#3 of 22 in Ithaca
704 reviews
4.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Ithaca
2.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Ithaca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ithaca
3.0 mi away
Ithaca Marriott Downtown on the Commons
4.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ithaca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Ithaca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Ithaca

Address: 36 Cinema Dr, Ithaca, NY 14850-1656
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Ithaca
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ithaca
#2 Family Hotel in Ithaca
#3 Business Hotel in Ithaca
Price Range: £107 - £243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Ithaca 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Homewood Suites by Hilton® Ithaca hotel is the only all-suite hotel in Ithaca, New York. Situated in the heart of the beautiful Finger Lakes Region, our hotel offers central hotel accommodations for both extended stay and short-term guests, that's near some of Ithaca's main attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Ithaca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Ithaca Hotel Ithaca
Homewood Ithaca
Ithaca Homewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing