We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, roomy suite. Recommended.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Ithaca
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in Ithaca
Certificate of Excellence
London, ON
Level Contributor
66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Clean, roomy suite. Recommended.”
Reviewed 8 September 2010

This appeared to be a fairly new or at least well-maintained hotel. Check-in was painless and the type of room I booked was available. Mattress was a little too soft for my liking, but that's a personal choice. Free WiFi was nice, though a little sluggish. Free breakfast was wonderful to have, even if the eggs and sausage were a little 'bouncy'. Hotel had a pool and hot tub which seemed to be in good condition. Nice exercise room too. Staff were pleasant and helpful. The hotel is a short drive outside of Ithaca itself, but if you don't mind this it probably makes for a quieter stay. Would return to this hotel if in the area again.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kgilbert001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

676 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    381
    195
    63
    24
    13
See reviews for
370
99
26
141
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
159 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2010

Very nice new hotel in ithaca good pool and patio and great rooms stay hear if in ithaca

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cardtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morristown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2010

We arrived at midnight, with a guaranteed reservation for a non-smoking room. The clerk said that our room had been given away to another guest because their room had a problem with the lock, so the only room available to us was a smoking room. I told him that we can't stay in a smoking room, for medical reasons. He was nice enough, but said we were the last to arrive, so...

So, there we stood there, after a long day driving, at midnight, with nowhere to stay. I think the clerk expected us to just leave. After pressing him to 'do something', the clerk called the front desk manager, who was not at the hotel. The clerk called around to some other hotels and they were full. He finally found us a room at another hotel. I asked if they would pay for our night at the other hotel. He said that the front desk manager told him not to, since technically there was one room available and we were 'choosing' not to take it.

So, we arrived at midnight, spent a half hour figuring out where to stay for the night, schlepped over to the only hotel with a room available, paid a last-minute rate at the new hotel, paid for our own breakfast the next morning, and had to get up early in the morning to be somewhere. And, the hotel which did not honor our reservation offered us NOTHING to compensate for the inconvenience???

Unbelievable and I have taken it up with the corporate office. This is not the Hilton experience I am used to, as a Gold Honors member.

(We had actually stayed at this hotel previously and found it quite satisfactory. Our only complaint on the previous stay was that the room and kitchen were not cleaned very well.)

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank trvl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waltham, MA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2010

We arrived late in the evening, around 10:00pm, and asked if there were any available rooms. The desk person told us we could get a "king studio" for $189, to which we agreed. Unfortunately, she told us it was her third day on the job, and she didn't know how to use the computer system yet, so we'd have to wait for her coworker. (On a side note, I'd like to know what was covered on her first two days of the job; if I was training someone to work the computers at the registration desk of a hotel, the first thing I would teach them is... to work the computers). While we waited for her coworker, we chatted it up with her, talking about our mini-odyssey to that particular hotel that night. We were camping nearby when severe thunderstorms began (quite literally 3 minutes after I got a fire going and began cooking dinner), and a tree branch fell cut a hole in the tent, making it the opposite of waterproof.

In any case, her coworker came over, and then claimed the "king studio" had just been taken (even though we could hear the person he was helping and they were not making a new reservation, nor was there anyone else in line to register, at 10pm on a Sunday night). But he'd be happy to put us in a "king suite" for $209.

I've never seen a bait and switch at a hotel, and surely not for a measly $20, but he knew we were in a bit of a bind, so rather than leave and hunt around for another place to stay, we accepted the room. I'm 29 years old and have a good 50 years left in me to not stay at Homewood Suites, so this crafty business man's plan is probably not going to pay off in the long run for his company.

The room was new and clean, which was all we were really looking for. However, the following morning, while walking through the little kitchen to grab a cup for water, I nearly stepped on a large piece of glass on the floor. It was about the size of my thumb - maybe 1 inch wide by 2 inches long, sort of concave. Thankfully, the sharp edges were pointing down and the convex part was facing up, or else I would have probably been heading to the hospital for some stitches. As for how the glass got there, I haven't the slightest idea. We looked through the cabinets for a broken glass or bowl, but there was none to be found. If something had broken on the floor, I don't see how one could have missed this piece when cleaning it up.

So between the $20 bait-and-switch, and the inexplicable glass on the floor, I'd have to say I will be avoiding this hotel & brand in the future.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MikeTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WA state
Level Contributor
70 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2010

We had a little trouble finding it, but the GPS eventually got us there. Once there, it was very handy for going back and forth to the nearby Cornell campus. Prior reviews and photos are accurate in terms of our experience, though we found everything to be spotless and we didn't interact much with staff, other than at check-in which was quick and smooth.

The only criticism we had was the heating/cooling system, which had a ultra hyped up fan that blew too cold when in a temperature regulating mode, e.g. whether we moved it to a higher or lower desired temp, the cold air blew hard. I had to put a pillow over the vent to be able to stand in that part of the room.

Otherwise, it was a super place to stay. Very commodious.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patty P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
163 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2010

On a recent trip to Ithaca I had the pleasure of staying at the Homewood Suites on a moments notice. The front desk personnel were very friendly and helpful. My room was spotless and the amenities were wonderful. The beds were comfortable and the kitchen area was a bonus. There is even a free light dinner served downstairs in the breakfast area. It was great. They served grilled Talapia, garden vegetables, tossed salad, beer and wine. It saved me having to go out looking for a place to eat. I can't think of one negative thing to say about this hotel. I will definitely stay here whenever I'm back in the Ithaca area.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cguillau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 2 May 2010

Newer, clean hotel. Friendly staff. Rooms were nicely laid out and perfect for a few day stay. Beds were very comfortable. Breakfast was better than the average hotel breakfast. The only bad thing was the pool was closed for the first night (chemical problem) and when we finally got down there the next day it was smaller than we anticipated. All around great stay!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jezeblla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ithaca hotels
2.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Ithaca
4.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Ithaca
Hampton Inn Ithaca
#4 of 22 in Ithaca
645 reviews
5.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ithaca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Ithaca
2.4 mi away
The Statler Hotel at Cornell University
3.0 mi away
Ithaca Marriott Downtown on the Commons
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Ithaca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Ithaca

Property: Homewood Suites by Hilton Ithaca
Address: 36 Cinema Dr, Ithaca, NY 14850-1656
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Ithaca
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ithaca
#2 Family Hotel in Ithaca
#3 Business Hotel in Ithaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Ithaca 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Homewood Suites by Hilton® Ithaca hotel is the only all-suite hotel in Ithaca, New York. Situated in the heart of the beautiful Finger Lakes Region, our hotel offers central hotel accommodations for both extended stay and short-term guests, that's near some of Ithaca's main attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Ithaca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Ithaca Hotel Ithaca
Homewood Ithaca
Ithaca Homewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing