We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice respite”
Review of Inn on Columbia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Inn on Columbia
Ranked #3 of 18 Ithaca B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 January 2008

This is a lovely bed and breakfast and we found it to be an excellent location in walking distance to downtown and Cornell University. The hosts were friendly and very accommodating. We stayed in the cottage next to the main house that is shaped like an octagon. It is a gorgeous space and one that I have never experienced. The bathroom was clean and spacious. The TV/DVD set up is also beautiful and the inn keepers have DVDs to borrow. Our only complaint is that there was a lot of dog hair on the rug in the bedroom which simply needs more thorough vacuming. Also, the room had a musty smell to it that improved when the doors were left open for a bit. I'd stay here again if we find ourselves in Ithaca in the future.

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank kusafari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (123)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

116 - 122 of 123 reviews

Reviewed 15 January 2008

We had been rather worried when we signed up for the Inn since we had read the complaining review but it was the only place available. We found the place perfectly clean and our room, a glass enclosed octagon, quite stunning. The dog was quiet and gentle.

Kenn was friendly, Madeline was a bit more formal but very attentive to our requests. (she is a serious cook and I felt that doom would come on me if I entered her kitchen.)

The breakfasts were wonderful. Part of each day consisted of bragging about them to our son and daughter-in-law who were staying elsewhere.

Stayed: November 2007
2  Thank BostonianInBrooklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2007

Founds hosts to be friendly but distant. Our room was fine, it was an attic room so was very hot. The B&B is in a good location and easy walking distance from the town. The breakfast was nice as well. Would recommend this B&B to others.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank bren_farrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2007

My husband and I were looking for a little romantic getaway and when we called, the Inn Keeper assured us the Inn on Clumbia was just what we were looking for. However, when we arrived we found that the Cottage we booked was filthy. When we booked it no one told us it was on a property away from the main inn. The Inn was also under construction which the Inn Keeper also failed to tell us when we spoke with him. There was a dog roaming about the property when we arrived. When we told the Inn Keeper we were not pleased with the state of the room, he was rude and told us that our reservation was non-refundable. Even so, the room was so unacceptable that we decided not to stay and we had to pay for the room anyway. The Inn Keeper never made any effort to remedy the situation. An Econo Lodge would have been nicer. Don't waste your time or money. For $215 a night the Inn should be pristine. The Inn owners should be ashamed of themselves! They don't even serve a hot breakfast in the morning. What kind of Bb&B is that, especially when you are paying over $200 a night?

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Annabelle045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
columbiaIthaca, owner at Inn on Columbia, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2009

We are sorry that these guests didn't give our place an fair chance. She wanted a typical country B&B and is afraid of animals. He decided to surprise her with an urban Inn that is pet friendly. Our Inn is how we portray it on our wedsite.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2007

The owners really do take pride in their properties! The Villa Madeline is an offsite property that the owners of the Columbia B&B operate, and I stayed in the downstairs red room w/ a queen size bed. I checked in at the main house and was super impressed with the architecture and the interior, and was given easy directions to the Villa Madeline which was very close. I was only there for two nights, so I didn't need much from the owners.

The kitchen was stocked with continental breakfast treats, and the overall feeling was very comfortable. The living room offered a lot of reading material for the area. My private bath had personal toiletries which I thought was a nice touch. The pictures of the other units look just as good, and I would definitely choose Columbia B&B for all future visits to Ithaca - I don't think ANY hotels in Ithaca can compare to this place!

  • Stayed: November 2004, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hawaii_Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2007

Four of us enjoyed a weekend in the private Hillview Holiday House which is a separate dwelling and operated by the owners of the Inn on Columbia. We were welcomed by the owners at the B&B with fresh cider and cookies. They were very accomodating and provided maps, brochures on the wine country, restaurants etc. All the facilities were newly renovated. .
Although the Main House offers a full breakfast, at the Hillview House we had a well stocked kitchen with a basket of fruit, cereals,scones and coffees, teas, juice and milk.
All of the properties are close to the Square and a short drive to the campus. check out [--] for photos.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank CutlerHaines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank djavisvoyage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenn Y, Owner at Inn on Columbia, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ithaca hotels
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Ithaca
0.2 mi away
Ithaca Marriott Downtown on the Commons
0.9 mi away
The Statler Hotel at Cornell University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Hotel Ithaca
The Hotel Ithaca
#14 of 22 in Ithaca
515 reviews
1.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Ithaca
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Ithaca
Hampton Inn Ithaca
#3 of 22 in Ithaca
696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn on Columbia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on Columbia

Address: 228 Columbia St, Ithaca, NY 14850-5734
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Ithaca
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Ithaca
Price Range: £149 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn on Columbia 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Inn on Columbia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On Columbia Hotel Ithaca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing