We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Happy Graduation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Inn on Columbia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Inn on Columbia
Ranked #3 of 17 Ithaca B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
louisville,ky
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Happy Graduation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2012

We just returned from a three night stay in the Hillview Holiday House while attending our son's college graduation. The house is beautiful, spacious and is the perfect spot for a family party. Ken and Madeline go out of their way to be helpful and are always quick to respond to questions or requests. Having this wonderful house to celebrate with family and friends made for a memorable weekend for all.Utilizing the kitchen, a deck and a wonderful yard meant we were able to dine at the house and avoid the wild scramble for restaurant reservations. Wegman's, a local grocery store makes shopping a breeze. Fletcher, our dog, was welcomed both times we have stayed at the properties which is also a bonus.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bluegrassgirl59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    23
    5
    5
    7
See reviews for
30
58
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

We stayed at this inn close to Valentine's Day. We were pleased to find a place that allowed us to bring our two large dogs. The four of us (my husband, me, and our two married friends) stayed in the Hudson Apartments, a 2-bedroom apartment on the first floor of a house around the corner from the main house. It was decorated in an 1920s Art Deco style, and wonderfully toasty and pleasant. The house was obviously old, but well-maintained. We tried to be respectful dog owners and keep our dogs quiet, clean, and non-destructive, as we urge all dog-travelers to be (so more places allow dogs!). We brought crates for them and kept them in there when we went out to dinner. Though the apartment was cozy, there was enough room to set up our crates. There's a nice dog walk near the B&B, and "downtown Ithaca" is within walking distance, so we had a great time exploring the town. The proprietors were so friendly and helpful with a map of local attractions. There were fresh cookies in the main house. I wish I could keep my own house so neat!

Breakfast was one of those small orange crates packed full of fresh scones, muffins, breads, and fresh fruit. It was great, and more than we could eat. There was also a refrigerator with milk, orange juice, yogurt, and other goodies. There's a kitchen area with a sink, some dishes, coffee maker. B&Bs like this are really accommodating and spoil you for hotels.

Only complaint is that it was hard to get up the hilly surrounding roads with the ice! At one point, our car slid backwards. But this has no bearing on the B&B, and it wouldn't have been a problem at all if there wasn't a snowstorm the weekend we stayed.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cojojojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
70 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2012

I recently stayed at the Inn on Columbia and had a peaceful and pleasant time. I was in the blue room, which is located in an adjunct property around the corner from the main building. It was spacious, immaculately clean and very comfortable. I was greeted warmly by the owners and given detailed directions and recommendations about Ithaca and my personal points of interest. The location was also very convenient - ten minute walk from the downtown commons and a quick drive to Cornell. Do note though that the inn is located on a hill so the walk back from downtown to the inn is up a steep hill and therefore limiting for anyone unable to make the minor climb. Breakfast was fresh and plentiful. This inn offers great value for money and I would return again. Note to any last minute travelers - if you book a reservation the same day as your stay, there is a significant discount!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kristinagrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

We stayed at the Hudson Apartment which is a satellite facility of the Inn on Columbia. We had a lovely two bedroom apartment with one bath and a living room with a kitchenette. The decor was a mixture of modern and traditional. The beds were comfortable with good linens and there were plenty of towels. Each morning we had a basket of homemade muffins, scones, nut bread, and fresh fruit. The fridge was stocked with juice, yogurt, and milk. Madeline and Ken were very nice hosts. We plan on returning to the Inn on Columbia for our next visit to Ithaca.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syracuse, NY
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2011

The music was bad and the beer was off but the Inn on Columbia made it all worth while. We recently stayed overnight in Ithaca, NY to see music at one of the local venues. Because my son was not available to watch the dog we brought him with us. ($25 extra, which appears to be a standard cost for pets compared to other accommodations.) After perusing Trip Advisor for options I decided on the Inn on Columbia which allows pets. A last minute special was $125/night plus $25 for the dog. The Inn is a renovated 1830's house in the village of Ithaca a short distance (about a mile) from the Commons. All the renovations done by Kenn, one of our hosts who is an architect. I would describe the decor more modern with wonderful, interesting art works/pictures on display. We were welcomed by our hostess, Madeline, on a blustery Thursday afternoon. Although we didn't part take, there was hot cider and homemade cookies waiting for us. There is a lovely "great room" guests are welcome to use in the main house with a gas/propane fireplace on one end and a dining area on the other end. A wall of windows gives lots of natural light to the room which looks out on the back deck and a configuration of other bldgs. on the property. Our room was at the top of the stairs in the main house with a private bathroom just outside our door. The room was clean and spacious, the king sized bed comfortable, nice linens and towels. There were fresh flowers in the room and bath, the kind of touches I just love! Madeline was a gracious hostess and eager to offer ideas for dining and activities and give directions. The very best part our stay was the breakfast or should I say our gourmet breakfast! We were first served a bowl of fresh strawberries, juice, great coffee accompanied by warm scones and muffins. Out of three choices, my partner, Mike, had herb scrambled eggs with goat cheese and for me, the French toast with cranberry-maple compote. Everything was absolutely delicious! I told Madeline I wanted to come for Thanksgiving dinner...thanks again for a wonderful overall experience at your Inn.

Room Tip: There are other rooms on the property that probably aren't "dog rooms". They also have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank steffpuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2011

We stayed at the Inn in October (IC's homecoming) in the Villa Madeline on Aurora. The room was super comfortable with a big en suite bathroom. Breakfast included muffins, fruit, yogurt, and scones in a ribboned box with a cheerful "Good mornin!" on the label. The house was very convenient to the Commons and the rest of downtown (10 minute walk?) and a very short drive up the hill to Ithaca College. Kenn had great suggestions for dinner and exploring. All of the staff were friendly, helpful, and efficient.

One tip: Columbia Street had no street sign. Pay attention to the street names before and after to find it.

Room Tip: The Blue room at Villa Madeline faces Aurora St. Steady traffic and lots of afterhours foot traffic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tofumidget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wyncote, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
36 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2011

By far one of the nicest places to stay in Ithaca. We have stayed with Ken and Madeline several times we discovered their beautiful B&B when our daughter attended Ithaca College. We just a lovely weekend at one of their properties. The rooms are clean. The breakfast is fresh and lovely. Within walking distance of downtown. A short drive to any of the attractions in the greater Ithaca area. I could not recommend them more highly.

Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank mserdikoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ithaca hotels
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Ithaca
0.2 mi away
Argos Inn
Argos Inn
#10 of 22 in Ithaca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Statler Hotel at Cornell University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ithaca Marriott Downtown on the Commons
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Ithaca
Hampton Inn Ithaca
#4 of 22 in Ithaca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
3.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Ithaca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn on Columbia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on Columbia

Property: Inn on Columbia
Address: 228 Columbia St, Ithaca, NY 14850-5734
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Ithaca
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Ithaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn on Columbia 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Inn on Columbia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On Columbia Hotel Ithaca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing