We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed Feelings”
Review of Inn on Columbia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Inn on Columbia
Ranked #3 of 17 Ithaca B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco
Level Contributor
58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Mixed Feelings”
Reviewed 25 August 2012

We arrived in town rather late without a place to stay. This place had the perfect accommodation for us - a two bedroom apartment in a house nearby but separate from the main house. We had two bedrooms, one bathroom and a living room. I liked the living room best. It was a nice size with galley kitchen (fridge and microwave and many attractive wooden cabinets) and black leather furniture, colorful rug, windows. We especially enjoyed having this communal space to hang out and work in (although there was no desk).
The bedrooms were both small - barely bigger than the queen beds they contained. There was a wardrobe for clothing and a metal shelving unit (not very homey or attractive) for the tv. I found the bedroom claustrophobic and it smelled somewhat of urine - maybe from the pets they own and allow? Also, the view was not so great - of a driveway and yard filled with cars. On the other hand, it was very quiet. The bathroom was typical of an old house - functional but not luxurious. The main house, where we checked in, is very attractive - a renovated wooden clapboard house. Breakfast was a basket of delicious breads and muffins as well as yogurt, granola, fruit and juice. The owner was very helpful but also very opinionated. He recommended restaurants and activities. The price was very reasonable.
So, overall, I have mixed feelings. Attractive living room and cramped bedrooms. Quiet, close to town, yummy breakfast breads. You decide if this is what you are looking for!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PHguide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenn Y, Owner at Inn on Columbia, responded to this review, 9 February 2015
So as I understand it everything was great except the size of the rooms in our most economical accommodation and you didn't like the view from the bedroom. Seems like minor issues for such a harsh overview.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    24
    5
    5
    7
See reviews for
32
58
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2012

We stayed in the Villa Madeline guest house for three lovely nights in Ithaca, NY. The location was central to The Commons, up a big hill. The room was clean, big enough for a couple and felt cozy enough for us to feel at home.

There were a few quirks, but not enough to deter us.

Breakfast each morning was delicious and often was enough to serve as a snack later in the day. Only question... the fresh pastries were very cold after having been in the fridge all night. That was a little strange.

Other than that, had a great trip to Ithaca and would recommend the Inn on Columbia.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pennstategal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, SC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2012

My husband and I stayed for a week while visiting family in the area. The location, grounds, and our lovely cottage apartment were thoughtfully designed, decorated and well maintained. We had plenty of privacy and felt totally relaxed during our stay. Breakfast each morning was innovative, beautifully presented, fresh, and heavy on local ingredients. The Inn is located within walking distance to several great restaurants, walking and biking trails and a variety of cultural sites. Overall a totally fantastic stay. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Taliusc12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
louisville,ky
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2012

We just returned from a three night stay in the Hillview Holiday House while attending our son's college graduation. The house is beautiful, spacious and is the perfect spot for a family party. Ken and Madeline go out of their way to be helpful and are always quick to respond to questions or requests. Having this wonderful house to celebrate with family and friends made for a memorable weekend for all.Utilizing the kitchen, a deck and a wonderful yard meant we were able to dine at the house and avoid the wild scramble for restaurant reservations. Wegman's, a local grocery store makes shopping a breeze. Fletcher, our dog, was welcomed both times we have stayed at the properties which is also a bonus.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bluegrassgirl59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012

We stayed at this inn close to Valentine's Day. We were pleased to find a place that allowed us to bring our two large dogs. The four of us (my husband, me, and our two married friends) stayed in the Hudson Apartments, a 2-bedroom apartment on the first floor of a house around the corner from the main house. It was decorated in an 1920s Art Deco style, and wonderfully toasty and pleasant. The house was obviously old, but well-maintained. We tried to be respectful dog owners and keep our dogs quiet, clean, and non-destructive, as we urge all dog-travelers to be (so more places allow dogs!). We brought crates for them and kept them in there when we went out to dinner. Though the apartment was cozy, there was enough room to set up our crates. There's a nice dog walk near the B&B, and "downtown Ithaca" is within walking distance, so we had a great time exploring the town. The proprietors were so friendly and helpful with a map of local attractions. There were fresh cookies in the main house. I wish I could keep my own house so neat!

Breakfast was one of those small orange crates packed full of fresh scones, muffins, breads, and fresh fruit. It was great, and more than we could eat. There was also a refrigerator with milk, orange juice, yogurt, and other goodies. There's a kitchen area with a sink, some dishes, coffee maker. B&Bs like this are really accommodating and spoil you for hotels.

Only complaint is that it was hard to get up the hilly surrounding roads with the ice! At one point, our car slid backwards. But this has no bearing on the B&B, and it wouldn't have been a problem at all if there wasn't a snowstorm the weekend we stayed.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cojojojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
75 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2012

I recently stayed at the Inn on Columbia and had a peaceful and pleasant time. I was in the blue room, which is located in an adjunct property around the corner from the main building. It was spacious, immaculately clean and very comfortable. I was greeted warmly by the owners and given detailed directions and recommendations about Ithaca and my personal points of interest. The location was also very convenient - ten minute walk from the downtown commons and a quick drive to Cornell. Do note though that the inn is located on a hill so the walk back from downtown to the inn is up a steep hill and therefore limiting for anyone unable to make the minor climb. Breakfast was fresh and plentiful. This inn offers great value for money and I would return again. Note to any last minute travelers - if you book a reservation the same day as your stay, there is a significant discount!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kristinagrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
49 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

We stayed at the Hudson Apartment which is a satellite facility of the Inn on Columbia. We had a lovely two bedroom apartment with one bath and a living room with a kitchenette. The decor was a mixture of modern and traditional. The beds were comfortable with good linens and there were plenty of towels. Each morning we had a basket of homemade muffins, scones, nut bread, and fresh fruit. The fridge was stocked with juice, yogurt, and milk. Madeline and Ken were very nice hosts. We plan on returning to the Inn on Columbia for our next visit to Ithaca.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mvborn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ithaca hotels
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Ithaca
0.2 mi away
Ithaca Marriott Downtown on the Commons
0.9 mi away
The Statler Hotel at Cornell University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Ithaca
Hampton Inn Ithaca
#4 of 22 in Ithaca
645 reviews
0.3 mi away
Argos Inn
Argos Inn
#12 of 22 in Ithaca
52 reviews
1.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Ithaca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn on Columbia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on Columbia

Property: Inn on Columbia
Address: 228 Columbia St, Ithaca, NY 14850-5734
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Ithaca
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Ithaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn on Columbia 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Inn on Columbia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On Columbia Hotel Ithaca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing