We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western University Inn
Ranked #12 of 22 Hotels in Ithaca
Commack New York
Level Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel”
Reviewed 9 May 2012

Stayed overnight on April 28th 2012. This hotel was in a quiet location. It was also clean and the rooms spacious. There is a breakfast buffet included in the price with a variety of breakfast foods, everything from cereal, oatmeal,mini muffins, eggs, make your own waffles, yogurt and assorted juices and tea and coffee. The hotel is conveniently located to the east side of Cornell taking you into campus towards the engineering quad. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adyanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    153
    111
    55
    37
See reviews for
191
79
30
129
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

This was our second stay. The staff is very friendly and accomidating. It was clean and pleasant. A bit pricey, but that's Ithaca for ya! We will be traveling to Ithaca frequently. We plan to make this hotel our first choice when making overnight plans.

Room Tip: If you need it; ask for smoking rooms......they have them!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LucyDayton_Ohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
Level Contributor
114 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Think of a generic hotel and this place pretty much matches what you're thinking. For the price, it's not bad. We had a good night stay and breakfast was ok. Pretty much a smooth overnight visit. It's has a nice location, close to downtown, though it has a very odd entrance (back of strip mall?)

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank h1d3m3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Potsdam
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

We like to stay at the Inn; however when it's booked we will look for a park camp ground.

Room Tip: We are seniors, and I think they group us on the far side. It's very quiet there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Potsdam_Sr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

I travel frequently to Ithaca for business, ALWAYS stay at this property, and rely heavily on the complimentary shuttle service. The drivers: Chris, Stu, and Rhonda, to name a few, are always courteous, friendly and extremely accomodating. The convenience of the shuttle, the comfortable rooms, and the wonderful staff at this hotel...makes my every stay an enjoyable one!

Room Tip: I enjoy the polo suites which have a fireplace, microwave and frig
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ringlady11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, OH
Level Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

Location is convenient to Ithaca College, although a bit strange (at the end of a shopping plaza). We had a "two double bed" room in building 3 (there were no luggage carts in the building, although there were some at the main building). It was clean, comfortable, quiet, and had sufficient towels. The TV was an "old school" tube set, but worked fine. The WiFi required a login and password, but it worked OK if a bit slowly. The HVAC and refrigerator worked well. The staff was very helpful with restaurant recommendations and offered to take us in the shuttle even though we had a car. There is a waffle station at breakfast (along with all the usual cereals, bagels, mini-muffins, fruit, etc.), but it is not with everything else so we didn't notice it until we had finished eating. There were no other hot breakfast items. No indoor pool. Lower quality machines than I'd like in the fitness room. I'd normally expect a bit more for the money, but everyplace in Ithaca is relatively expensive. I asked Hotwire for a 3 star hotel and this is where it booked me.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank m60freeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012

We followed other reviewers' advice and asked for a room in the main building. Beautiful, renovated room just downstairs from main lobby (and breakfast area). Our room had a very nice king bed and large jacuzzi tub in the main area! Large flat screen TV, very nice bathroom with shower stall. Couldn't be happier with the room. The location (tucked in at the end of a strip mall) leaves a bit to be desired. Just a few minutes to downtown.

Room Tip: Main Building for the win!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ithaca hotels
3.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Ithaca
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Ithaca
Hampton Inn Ithaca
#4 of 22 in Ithaca
645 reviews
3.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ithaca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Ithaca
2.9 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#14 of 22 in Ithaca
214 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Ithaca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western University Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western University Inn

Property: Best Western University Inn
Address: 1020 Ellis Hollow Rd, East Hill Plaza, Ithaca, NY 14850-2808
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Ithaca
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Ithaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western University Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located only 1/2 mile from Cornell University and 12 minutes from Ithaca College, the hotel is located in the East Hill Plaza, location of 5 eateries, 24 hour grocery store and pharmacy. Hotel is approximately 1 mile from downtown Ithaca. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western University Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western University Hotel Ithaca
Best Western Ithaca
Ithaca Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing