We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ithaca Best Western”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western University Inn
Ranked #13 of 22 Hotels in Ithaca
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Very clean rooms and grounds. Excellent breakfast, buffet, waffles and fresh fruit. Convenient to both colleges and downtown. Close to a shopping plaza with good restaurants close by. Parking was very convenient to all the entrances. This Best Western supplied a shuttle van to both colleges as well as to some local houses of worship. Wifi is free. The price was competitive with the hotels in the area. I believe going through Hotwire helped. Ithaca on weekends can be very expensive due to the demand by parents coming to visit.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leobg3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Best47958, Director of Sales at Best Western University Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

Dear Leobg3,
We certainly appreciate your kind comments about the breakfast and shuttle service! I hope you had a chance to experience Agava at the end of our plaza.

On some special event weekends, like Homecoming and football games, rates and rooms may be at a premium. If I can help with an affordable price when you return to Ithaca, I would be happy to make your reservation personally. Please call me at 1-607-272-6100.
Kind regards,
Jim McMann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (516)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

324 - 330 of 517 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2013

Room was nice and clean and location was nice – by Cornell and close to the Taughannock falls and Watkins Glen Park. Breakfast (nice), parking and WiFi were free. We arrived late at night and it was really cold but could not use the air-condition since it made awful noises and a bad smell. A team of tennis players stayed there and it got quite noisy from early hours of the morning. It was totally overpriced for the room and service we received.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Merav A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Best47958, Director of Sales at Best Western University Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

Dear Merav,
While we love your comments about the location of the hotel and breakfast, we are disappointed that the air conditioning was not working in proper order. I have printed this for our maintenance department. Because of our proximity to the Reis Tennis Center, we do get tennis teams staying with us, but ensure the coach for each team is housed adjacent to the students. When you return to Ithaca, I would pleased to offer a discount. Please contact me at jmcmann@twintierhospitality.com.
Sincerely,
Jim Mcmann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

If you are visiting Cornell university then this is one of the closest hotels, although it was way overpriced for what you get. The rooms and hotel is good quality. It includes a good quality breakfast.

The location of the hotel is good. Parking is free, Wifi internet is free.

Wish they would lower the price, then this would get a much higher rating.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeepakTailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Best47958, Director of Sales at Best Western University Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2013

We are sorry that you felt the price of the room did not match the accommodations. Our rates do vary throughout the year. Thank you for your positive comments on our breakfast. Should your plans include coming back to Ithaca in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at 1-607-272-6100 and I will personally give you an affordable rate.
Best,
Jim McMann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Definitely not worth the cost of the room. Temp could not be regulated in the room, blow dryer broken, very rude van driver. Would sleep in my car before staying there again. That was the fourth Best Western we stayed at during our vacation and it was the least favorable.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
2  Thank Carol F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Best47958, Director of Sales at Best Western University Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2013

I am very disappointed that you had an unacceptable stay with us. Although this can't make your stay any better, I have printed your comments for our maintenance department. My General Manager will speaking with our shuttle driver regarding your comments. Please don't hesitate to contact me with further comments about your stay.
Sincerely,
Jim McMann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

A last minute booking through hotwire and we ended up in this hotel for two nights. I must admit, when I called on Tuesday to confirm my booking, the front desk clerk was very helpful and accommodated my request to be put in a Polo Suite room immediately. My husband and I were encouraged.

Unfortunately, it went downhill upon arrival. We checked in to find a disappointingly dirty room. I would agree with the previous poster who said that it looked like the bed had been made by a kindergartener, except I'm sure that even small children have better vision than our housekeeper, who missed the upwards of twenty hairs of unknown origin in the sheets and the giant black stain on the corner of the comforter. Also, the room was not recently vacuumed, and featured several large cobwebs in the corners. Thankfully, the PTAC unit worked well, and we did have ac as needed.

The bathroom was disappointingly stocked. Only two bath towels and face towels and one wash cloth for a king size room? So if my husband and I wanted to shower once upon arrival and once the next morning, our only choices were to re-use the towels that were there, or make the long journey to the front to ask for more. We are BW rewards members and Ugh, it was not up to BW standard.

I wasn't sold on the design of the shower either. I'm 5'9, so not short by any means, but even my husband, who is shorter than I, said the set up was at best meant for someone of a child-like stature.

The internet was GOD-AWFUL. It was super slow, and every five minutes or so I was kicked back to the log-in page. It happened so many times I now have the code memorized. I think it will probably follow me to my grave. But seriously, nothing loaded, and I couldn't do work I had counted on getting done. When I called the front desk several times over the course of the first night, I was given several excuses from the weather to a mysterious, "Well, Tech-support says it should be working, but I'll check with them in a little bit" I honestly gave up.

Morning breakfast was, again, not to BW standards. My husband got "crunchies" in his eggs. Don't know what that was about, but I'd recommend staying away from those. Also, no orange juice? I'm sure they were just out of stock, but being that it's a fairly busy hotel, I would have expected better planning.

TV was mediocre at best. When I brought up the several missing channels (including the free HBO that was advertised) and the awful internet service at checkout on Saturday morning, I was given little more than an insincerely sympathetic "Oh, that's too bad." Know what it sounded like? You had a hotwire room, so who cares?

Seriously, the room had some nice touches with the fireplace and the country themed decor. But the execution was WAY off. Do yourself a favor and don't pay such a steep price for a stark disappointment.

Room Tip: If you must stay, ask for a Polo Suite room, but make sure it's clean first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank U R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Best47958, Director of Sales at Best Western University Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2013

I can't say how disappointed we were about the state of your room based on your review. Those comments will be printed and given to our executive housekeeper to determine who cleaned the room and take actions with that employee.
Regarding the breakfast, there is no excuse for no orange juice. A 24 hour grocery store is located in our plaza and someone should have gotten supplies.
I am also disappointed with your reception at the front desk. All guests should be respected no matter how their reservations were made. I hope that you will give me a call at 1-607-272-6100 so that we can speak further.
Best,
Jim McMann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

This was perfect for our 3 night visit to Cornell, because it is very close to the southeast entrance. We were happy with the room - it was clean and very spacious with a high ceiling. The breakfast was fine, with waffle maker, cereals, scrambled eggs...

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chazster_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Best47958, Director of Sales at Best Western University Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2013

We are thrilled that you were able to stay with us for your trip to Cornell University. I hope you were able to take advantage of our shuttle service to the campus. Our shuttle is a real value as the college does have limited parking and we can drop you off and pick you up anywhere on campus. In addition, we are glad you have the chance to have our next extended breakfast! Please call me in the future, should you decide to return to Ithaca and Cornell University.
Kind regards,
Jim McMann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We used the Best Western as our base while visiting the Finger Lakes area. The room was quite comfortable for three of us, with two queen beds, refrigerator, microwave and thirty something inch flat screen TV. There was a complimentary breakfast with scrambled eggs and sausage patties, also make your own waffles, and pastries, as well as juice and coffee. All together it was an adequate breakfast. A swimming pool is located beside the office, but we did not use it, as the weather did not co-operate.
I would recommend this hotel for most travellers, unless you are looking for something with a restaurant or lounge.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FrankLeigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Best47958, Director of Sales at Best Western University Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2013

Thanks for your feedback. Although we don't have a restaurant or lounge, we are adjacent to five restaurants in the East Hill Plaza. In the evening, we do take guests in our shuttle to the downtown Ithaca Commons for dinner.
When you return to the Finger Lakes in the future, please contact me to make your reservations.
Thanks!
Jim McMann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ithaca hotels
3.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ithaca
2.9 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#15 of 22 in Ithaca
220 reviews
3.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Ithaca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Ithaca
Hampton Inn Ithaca
#3 of 22 in Ithaca
696 reviews
3.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Ithaca
3.3 mi away
Econo Lodge - Ithaca
Econo Lodge - Ithaca
#16 of 22 in Ithaca
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western University Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western University Inn

Address: 1020 Ellis Hollow Rd, East Hill Plaza, Ithaca, NY 14850-2808
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Ithaca
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Ithaca
Price Range: £93 - £187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western University Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
*1/2 mile from Cornell University *12 minutes from Ithaca College * East Hill Plaza, location of 5 eateries, 24 hour grocery store and pharmacy. * One mile from downtown *Cargill 14 minutes *Borg Warner 12 minutes *Cayuga Lake 1 mile *Cayuga Lake Wineries 12 minutes *Taughannock State Park 16 minutes ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western University Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western University Hotel Ithaca
Best Western Ithaca
Ithaca Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing