We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Do Not Use this Hotel in cold weather when visiting Cornell” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN University Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BEST WESTERN University Inn
Ranked #11 of 22 Hotels in Ithaca
A TripAdvisor Member
“Do Not Use this Hotel in cold weather when visiting Cornell”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

Was put in furthest room from lobby where breakfast and coffee was served..It had ice all over parking lot was could not walk to lobby. The phone in room did not work and later that nite around 10:30 the heat stopped working. Not bad when it's 17 degrees out. They did move us to a lower quality room next to us but luckly me they gave me 10 dollars for my problems.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Best47958, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN University Inn, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Dear Trip Advisor Member,
We do apologize about your issues with the heat in your room and the conditions of the parking lot. Your comment has printed and submitted to our maintenance department. There is really no excuse for the issues your encountered. Should your plans bring you back to Ithaca, please call me at 1-607-272-6100 and I personally guarantee you a room in our main building.
Best,
Jim McMann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    126
    148
    101
    55
    36
See reviews for
181
77
28
122
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hartwick
Level Contributor
102 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

We have stayed here in the past. Rate run from $125 to over $200 for the same room depending on events in town. Parents weekend for example or graduation weekend this place does some old fashion "price gouging" of the public. Not unusual in the hospitality industry guess. Room was clean, except shower curtain. We advised that the curtain needed cleaning from some gross stuff on the inside when we left. A bit noisy as doors tend to slam and makes a lot of noise. Great location and good area for walking.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hartwickvisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Best47958, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN University Inn, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Dear Hartwick visitor,
We appreciate taking the time to give us feedback about your recent stay. Your comments about the shower curtain have addressed with our housekeeping department.
About the room rate, we do agree that certain times of the year, prices can be at a premium. Please don't hesitate to call me at 1-607-272-6100 and I will personally make your reservation.

If you stay at many Best Westerns, you might consider signing up for the Rewards program where you can accrue points for a future complimentary stay.
Best,
Jim McMann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ithaca, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

I've stayed several times over of the past few years and the Best Western University Inn in Ithaca has always been very accommodating to my last minute stays. My stays at the Best Western in Ithaca has alway been due to extreme unexpected winter weather conditions. I would highly recommend anyone staying in Ithaca to stay at the Best Western.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Brenda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Best47958, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN University Inn, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Dear Brenda,
Thanks so much for responding to our survey! We are very glad that you hae enjoyed our services and appreciate you recommending our hotel to others. We look forward to your next stay in better weather!
Best,
Jim McMann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

My GPS literally had me going around in circles so I called the front desk. The woman who answered the phone gave me simple to follow directions which brought me quickly to the Inn. I stayed for one night to attend a graduation at Cornell University. The Inn is conveniently located nearby shopping, restaurants, and the University. I had a room with a king size bed and gas burning fireplace. The room was very clean and nicely appointed with ample desk space for my laptop and comfortable sitting chairs. The front desk personnel were all friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: The rooms with king size beds and gas burning fireplace start with 400. Easy parking. Even though th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 210Gary210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Best47958, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN University Inn, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Thanks, Gary! We are putting this on our Facebook page! We are so glad we surpassed your expectations. Yes, the Fireplace rooms are very much in demand especially during the winter season. I hope you had the chance to take advantage of our shuttle service to Cornell, as well.
Please call us if you should find yourself coming to Ithaca in the future.
Sincerely,
Jim McMann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

We traveled during the summer and stayed at the Best Western during our travels. Since we stayed three times we received a free night. We had a Free night at The Best Western University in Ithaca, NY this past Friday, January 3rd 2014. It was wonderful. We had a King Bed, Hot Tub and a Fireplace. It was soooo woderful:) Thank you Best Western!!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank barbaramU6633XY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Best47958, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN University Inn, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Hi, Trip Advisor Member,
I'm glad you stayed in our king room with Jacuzzi and Fireplace. Definitely, if you want to get away, that is the room to stay in. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Best,
Jim McMann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

I travel often to the Ithaca area, and would never consider staying anywhere else. The hotel is conveniently close to Cornell University, and the hotel shuttle takes all the hassle out of parking on campus. The newly updated breakfast room and lobby are lovely, and the staff is ALWAYS courteous, friendly and accommodating. I especially enjoy the spacious rooms which include a microwave and frig, and VERY comfortable new mattresses. A nice plus at this time of year is the cozy gas fireplaces in the Polo Suites, which offer nice ambience on a cold winter night.There is a grocery store and drugstore nearby, and an excellent restaurant (Agava) featuring southwest cuisine-all within walking distance. I look forward to my next stay here!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Ringlady11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Best47958, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN University Inn, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Hi, Judy,
You are one those guests our staff always enjoy seeing you coming through the front door. You also give us the best recommendations on the best new restaurants to try out. We have some new improvements coming soon that you will have to see. Have a great spring!
Jim McMann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, CT, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013

Hey! The Hotel provides nicely for the baseline needs of a leisurely overnight. The room was comfortable. Bathroom was recently updated and large. The bathroom fixtures and tile work are above average. This Best Western is set back from the road and, as in our case, at night and in the rain/fog, impossible to find. I liked this Best Western's breakfast food selection, presentation and comfortable dining space. It was a good value for Ithaca.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Best47958, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN University Inn, responded to this review, 26 December 2013
Hi, Michael,
Thanks for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. We realize that sometimes our location can be challenging for our guests. We do have signage at both entrances to the East Hill Plaza. Directional signs are also on Pine Tree Road coming from Route 366 and also Route 79 coming in to Ithaca from Binghamton.
That being said, we do appreciate your kind words about the accommodations themselves. We do strive to make our new breakfast area comfortable and do solicit comments from our guests to make it better. We hope to see you again in the future.
Have a great New Year!
Jim McMann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ithaca hotels
3.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Ithaca
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Ithaca
Hampton Inn Ithaca
#4 of 22 in Ithaca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Ithaca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ithaca
2.9 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#15 of 22 in Ithaca
3.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
3.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Ithaca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN University Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN University Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN University Inn
Address: 1020 Ellis Hollow Rd, East Hill Plaza, Ithaca, NY 14850-2808
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Ithaca
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Ithaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN University Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located only 1/2 mile from Cornell University and 12 minutes from Ithaca College, the hotel is located in the East Hill Plaza, location of 5 eateries, 24 hour grocery store and pharmacy. Hotel is approximately 1 mile from downtown Ithaca. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your BEST WESTERN University Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western University Hotel Ithaca
Best Western Ithaca
Ithaca Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing