We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western University Inn
Ranked #13 of 22 Hotels in Ithaca
Reviewed 21 April 2014

This was one of the hotels offered for a recent wedding and having stayed in other Best Westerns, I expected a lot and was deeply disappointed. Everything in the room looked outdated. The bed was so uncomfortable, my wife and I never got any sleep. The hotel also didn't offer a free breakfast. I don't think I've ever been to a BW that didn't offer free breakfast. I won't be returning.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IntenseMedia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Best47958, Director of Sales at Best Western University Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Thanks for taking to time to let us know about your recent stay. I regret that you felt the hotel was outdated. We have just received all new bedding that we will be putting in the rooms this week. All of the bathrooms were updated last year.

I am a bit confused about the breakfast comment. We do serve a full hot breakfast daily 7am-10am. The breakfast room is on the right when you enter the hotel. Out front desk staff is instructed to let all guests checking where the breakfast room is located. If you have more comments, please don't hesitate to contact me at 1-607-272-6100.
Sincerely,
Jim McMann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (533)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

300 - 306 of 533 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2014

The beds were very comfortable. Room size excellent and all services very cordial. Close proximity to University and area attractions. Parkings was user friendly. Breakfast was very attractively displayed and well serviced.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank ritaNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Best47958, Director of Sales at Best Western University Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Hi, Rita,
What a pleasure to receive your comments. Thank you for the comments on the breakfast, one of our best assets and conveniently located in the main building next to reception. We hope that when you return, you will give us a call.
Best,
Jim McMann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

I have stayed at this hotel before and it was always fine. This time, the room was dirty. It was not properly vacuumed and cobwebs were everywhere. The bathroom was disgusting. In addition, the heat was not working properly and we spent one very cold night there. It was just simply not up to the quality I remember. Hopefully this is temporary, as this has always been a good hotel in the area.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Valerie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Best47958, Director of Sales at Best Western University Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Hi, Valerie,
On behalf of the Best Western, we do apologize for your recent stay. We do address Trip Advisor comments with our staff on a daily basis. Of course, there is not excuse for the cleanliness of your room. We will speaking with the housekeeper that cleaned your room. I hope that we can have another opportunity for you to stay with us in the future.

Please don't hesitate to contact me if you are returning to Ithaca in the future at jmcmann@twintierhospitality.com.

Best,
Jim McMann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Staff was very friendly! Desk clerk was very helpful with questions that I, and other guests, had. Room was spacious and very clean! Comfortable bed and nice linens. Bathroom was spotless! Quiet "lobby" area inside rear entrance.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hugsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Best47958, Director of Sales at Best Western University Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Dear Huglsey,
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us! We are very proud of our staff who do strive to make our hotel such an enjoyable experience. When your travels bring you back to Ithaca, I hope that you will stay with us. Ithaca Festival is a great time to visit Ithaca.
Kind regards,
Jim McMann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Reasonable price with a comfortable king size bed, clean room, quiet location in the rear of facility. Included free breakfast and free shuttle to and from Ithaca Commons for dinner & concert at State Theater. Friendly staff, especially shuttle driver. Highly recommend this place.

Room Tip: Quieter at the rear (farther away from main office, etc.)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daphne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Best47958, Director of Sales at Best Western University Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Hi, Daphne,
We really appreciate your recommendation for our hotel. We are thrilled that you had the chance to explore The Commons and were glad you able to take adavantage our shuttle. We hope you will consider us again when returning to Ithaca.
Kind regards,
Jim McMann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Service was friendly and helpful. They offer decent, but far from fancy, rooms and breakfast is included in the rate. I used their complimentary shuttle to Cornell buildings, and it was alright. My experience there was good and I´ll consider staying there again if I go to Ithaca for meetings at Cornell.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GustavoTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Best47958, Director of Sales at Best Western University Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Dear Gustavo,
Thanks for your review of your recent stay with us. We do try to listen to our customers on how to make our breakfast more varied and appealing. I am glad you were able to take advantage of our shuttle service to Cornell. When you return to Cornell University, I hope that you will stay with us again!
Best regards,
Jim McMann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Hotel staff is professional, courteous, caring and a real pleasure to work with. Quiet hotel. No people slamming doors, talking in the hallways all night. Most comfortable beds to sleep on. Great breakfast.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Ron R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Best47958, Director of Sales at Best Western University Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Hi, Ron,
Thank you for your refreshing view on your stay with us. Your input makes us even more proud to serve our customers. I hope you the chance to eat at Agava when you were here. It's just downt the street! We hope to see you again in the future!
Best,
Jim McMann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ithaca hotels
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Ithaca
Hampton Inn Ithaca
#3 of 22 in Ithaca
713 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Ithaca
3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Ithaca, NY
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Ithaca
3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Ithaca
1.2 mi away
The Statler Hotel at Cornell University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western University Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western University Inn

Address: 1020 Ellis Hollow Rd, East Hill Plaza, Ithaca, NY 14850-2808
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Ithaca
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Ithaca
Price Range: £74 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western University Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
*1/2 mile from Cornell University *12 minutes from Ithaca College * East Hill Plaza, location of 5 eateries, 24 hour grocery store and pharmacy. * One mile from downtown *Cargill 14 minutes *Borg Warner 12 minutes *Cayuga Lake 1 mile *Cayuga Lake Wineries 12 minutes *Taughannock State Park 16 minutes ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western University Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western University Hotel Ithaca
Best Western Ithaca
Ithaca Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing