We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly all right considering the price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western University Inn
Ranked #12 of 22 Hotels in Ithaca
Asheville, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Perfectly all right considering the price”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

I only gave this hotel an average because in many ways it is. The room I had was nice sized and clean and pleasant. It had a fake fireplace that you could turn on and off with a timer switch next to the bed. There actually was more room than I would have expected and it was really quite clean.

The bed was not particularly comfortable. It wasn't bad enough for me to not sleep well but it certainly was not one of those that you drop into after a long and tiring day and say ahh. The bathroom is adequate in most respects although pretty minimal. What I will tell you is that I bought my own toilet paper. The stuff they had was so thin and rough I refused to use it. I didn't know anyone made such thin one-ply TP but as far as I am concerned it was worse than what I experienced in a cheap hotel in Izmir Turkey in 1972.

I asked for a couple things from the front desk that should have been handled by housekeeping but neither was. It wasn't the end of the world, and I actually got two decent nights' sleep without spending much money. Just don't go to this hotel expecting more than the 2-2.5 star rating most places give it. Limit your expectations and you will be perfectly satisfied.

Room Tip: I was in the 400 wing or rooms which was quiet and made for a very convenient walk to Agava Restaura...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pyrprshr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Best47958, Director of Sales at Best Western University Inn, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Dear pyrprshr,
I am disappointed that your recent stay was only okay. The Polo rooms we put you are actually quite in demand due to the quiet surroundings away from the main building.
However, the amenities you expected from housekeeping, we agree, should be have been in the room before you got here. We are glad you were able to get a good night's sleep.

We hope that you will consider us again in the future.
Best,
Jim McMann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    159
    113
    57
    38
See reviews for
201
80
30
132
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Harrisonburg, VA, United States
1 review
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Ten of us were in Ithaca for an informal reunion of our Peace Corps group, which was formed in 1964 and went to Thailand. We chose our hotel pretty much at random, primarily because it was close to Cornell, where a Thai ceramic collection is housed (We wanted a small educational component to our get-together). While we weren't surprised at the hospitality -- the competence, professionalism, and always pleasant disposition of the entire staff -- nor the attractiveness of the property, we all felt choosing such a Best Western specifically this Best Western, played a major role in making our reunion so thoroughly enjoyable and memorable. And at this age, making something "memorable" ain't easy. Thanks to all at Ithaca's Best Western.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Best47958, Director of Sales at Best Western University Inn, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Hi, John,
Wow, that review you wrote really makes our work that much more enjoyable. We are thrilled that Best Western played a role in making your reunion go so well. We hope your next get together brings you back to Ithaca. Cornell has so many art collections, including the Johnson Museum!
Kind regards,
Jim McMann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poconos, United States
1 review
Reviewed 4 May 2014

This was our second time using this hotel for visiting Ithaca College. Other than a dirty looking smoke alarm, and wi-fi that was not as speedy as some, it was clean and pleasant. The breakfast was great. At $180 per night, a bit expensive, but not compared to other hotels in Ithaca.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Carla M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Best47958, Director of Sales at Best Western University Inn, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Hi, Carla,
Your comments on the hotel are really appreciated. We have printed your e-mail for our maintanence department to follow up on the smoke alarm. We hope to see you again when visiting Ithaca College.
Best,
Jim McMann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Appearance of the hotel is adequate. Nothing special, just practical/functional. Staff is very helpful. Rooms are small but decor is nice and homey. Comlimentary brekfast a nice touch for what is offered. It is not a full breakfast nor did we expect to recieve a complete brekfast. Staff made sure there was always a fresh supply of items available. . Check your bedding/linen as they were not as fresh as it could have been.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank 366salm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Best47958, Director of Sales at Best Western University Inn, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Dear 336,
Thank you for your comments. Although we are pleased that you enjoyed the breakfast, we are disappointed that you found the accommodations less than favorable. The Best Western does make numerous improvements including bedding, towels and blankets.
I hope that should you return to Ithaca in the future, you will give another try. Please don't hesitate to contact me at 1-607-272-6100 and I will make your reservation personally.
Best,
Jim McMann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island, United States
1 review
Reviewed 22 April 2014

My family of five stayed one night for a college visit; the room was spacious enough for us to fit comfortably with the pull-out in use along with the two double beds- The bed linens were a bit Spartan, could have been a bit more sumptuous- Breakfast was ample, with a decent variety- Coffee was good- Accommodations were fine for our purpose-

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Eric R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Best47958, Director of Sales at Best Western University Inn, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Eric,
We appreciate your kind words during your Cornell stay with us. We hope that when you decide to come back to Ithaca, you will give us a call. Don't forget Homecoming this fall!
Best,
Jim McMann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Dirty room, stains on bedding! Dirty bathroom, looked like, it was not even mopped... will not stay there again and will not recommend. Very nice person at check in! Great location if you want to visit the universities in the area.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank MMS914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Best47958, Director of Sales at Best Western University Inn, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Thank you for your constructive review of the hotel. There is no excuse for the state of the bedding and bathroom during your stay. We keep track of who cleans the rooms and that person will be given this review and put in their file. I hope that you will give us a second chance should you return to Ithaca in the future.
Sincerely,
Jim McMann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ithaca hotels

Phoenix, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

This was one of the hotels offered for a recent wedding and having stayed in other Best Westerns, I expected a lot and was deeply disappointed. Everything in the room looked outdated. The bed was so uncomfortable, my wife and I never got any sleep. The hotel also didn't offer a free breakfast. I don't think I've ever been to a BW that didn't offer free breakfast. I won't be returning.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IntenseMedia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Best47958, Director of Sales at Best Western University Inn, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Thanks for taking to time to let us know about your recent stay. I regret that you felt the hotel was outdated. We have just received all new bedding that we will be putting in the rooms this week. All of the bathrooms were updated last year.

I am a bit confused about the breakfast comment. We do serve a full hot breakfast daily 7am-10am. The breakfast room is on the right when you enter the hotel. Out front desk staff is instructed to let all guests checking where the breakfast room is located. If you have more comments, please don't hesitate to contact me at 1-607-272-6100.
Sincerely,
Jim McMann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ithaca hotels
3.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Ithaca
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Ithaca
Hampton Inn Ithaca
#4 of 22 in Ithaca
668 reviews
3.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ithaca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Ithaca
1.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Ithaca
2.9 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#14 of 22 in Ithaca
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western University Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western University Inn

Property: Best Western University Inn
Address: 1020 Ellis Hollow Rd, East Hill Plaza, Ithaca, NY 14850-2808
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Ithaca
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Ithaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western University Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located only 1/2 mile from Cornell University and 12 minutes from Ithaca College, the hotel is located in the East Hill Plaza, location of 5 eateries, 24 hour grocery store and pharmacy. Hotel is approximately 1 mile from downtown Ithaca. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western University Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western University Hotel Ithaca
Best Western Ithaca
Ithaca Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing