We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Just perfect!”
other travellers have booked this property
The living room area opening out on to the large deck with splendid views.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The living room area opening out on to the large deck with splendid views.
A well equipped kitchen with microwave and gas range with oven. The ideal spot for a romantic get away. And... bring your pet!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
7 reviews
The living room area opening out on to the large deck with splendid views.
A well equipped kitchen with microwave and gas range with oven.
The ideal spot for a romantic get away. And... bring your pet!
Taken from the north.
Mallard on the left. After a thunder storm...
Mallard is surrounded by flower borders, lawns, stone patio's and fields.
Our pond across the road. Mallard is on the right of Enfield Manor
bedroom has a door with fly screen to deck and you can watch the sunrise from your bed.
The bedroom has a queen bed and attached bathroom.
sunrise from the deck...
Taughhannock Falls State Park, only 8 miles from your doorstep..
Watkins Glen State Park, only 18 miles from Mallard..
Lucifer Falls at Robert Treman State Park, 1 1/2 miles from Mallard...
Taken from the deck of one of the dozens of wineries overlooking Senaca and Cayuga Lake....
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Ithaca, Finger Lakes, New York

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jennifer...
1 review
“Just perfect!”
Reviewed 23 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

My husband and I visited the cottage for our honeymoon. It was exactly what we wanted. Private and comfortable within easy driving distance of many wineries and we could bring our pup along. Hiking in the morning and wine touring in the afternoon, made our honeymoon perfect. Tom and Inez were welcoming as were Floyd and Sally. We had a wonderful time and will definitely be back. Thanks so much!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cynthia M...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful scenery. Nice cottage.”
Reviewed 22 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The location of this cottage is beautiful and the scenery is gorgeous. The cottage itself is clean, quiet, and comfortable. My dog felt right at home after a couple of days. The innkeeper is helpful and friendly but she seemed to be preoccupied with the guests who booked the cottage after us. In fact, she made us leave early before the usual check out time so she could accommodate these guests quickly. Also, the innkeepers dogs are friendly but a little overbearing. My dog rarely got the opportunity to do his business without being followed by them.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Sep 2017
Hi Cynthia
Many thanks for your review. We enjoyed having you staying at Mallard. Our check out setting states that it is "flexible". That is indeed the case as many previous guests will confirm. However, on same day turn overs we have to start cleaning at 11AM. We asked you to vacate Mallard by 10.30AM which is the usual check out time for vacation rentals. My apologies if this made you feel rushed.
As regards to our dogs: We checked in several times to see if everything was ok. If you would have made us aware of the problem we would have made quite sure that our dogs would have been penned up when you took your dog for a walk.
We hope that you feel rejuvenated and rested after your break and hope to see you again some time!
regards, Inez
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patimo
1 review
“PERFECT”
Reviewed 14 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We loved everything about our stay! Inez and Tom and their beautiful dogs were very welcoming!
It was close to everything we wanted to do and see in the Finger Lakes!
The cottage was adorable and had a beautiful view from the deck!
Look no further! This is the place!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Sep 2017
Many thanks for your positive review! We are always happy to have guests who make the very best of their stay and you certainly did! There is so much to see and do in this area and it is a great place for your furry best friend as there are a lot of dog friendly activities around. We hope to see you again some time! All the best, Inez
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TerriT758...
old lyme
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Better late than never”
Reviewed 15 February 2016 for a stay in October 2015

I remember our visit at Mallard Cottage well, as it was one of the best, most intimate accommodations we have ever had.
Greeted by the two friendly golden retrievers and their owners, we along with our golden doodle were comfortable right from the get go. The accommodations were beautiful, clean and the expansive fall views were gorgeous! Breakfast in the morning was delicious and was conducive to chatting with the other guests and owners who recommended new places to explore.
My only complaint is that there was not a television or radio…actually not having a TV would be fine if there had been a radio or the ability to play music.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: pet friendly and setting
Liked least: no music
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Feb 2016
Hi Theresa!
Many thanks for your positive review. Mallard has in the meantime been equipped with "a 32 inch dumb TV" that you can plug your computer into for streaming and playing music. We have also upgraded our internet so it can handle the streaming. We enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you back sometime!
Regards, Inez and Tom
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grande_La...
Philadelphia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mallard Cottage is a little slice of country heaven! ”
Reviewed 19 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Mallard Cottage is a little slice of country heaven!
Tom & Inez are spectacular people. They are warm, delightful, and willing to work with you if your situation is 'complex.' We have a 100+ lbs mastiff that we brought on our trip. He is plays too rough with other dogs so we avoid mixing. Tom & Inez have two awesome golden retrievers that wouldn't hurt a fly (just a tennis ball). They worked with us via constant texting to orchestrate our routines so that our dogs weren't out in the yards at the same time. So accommodating & we are truly appreciative of them working with us at their home. So if you have a social dog, this is the place for you. If your dog has qwerks- contact them- they may work with you.

The cottage is awesome. Brand new & well appointed. We used the kitchen & grill every night for dinner- from pasta to sausage and peppers to steaks & veggies- we had all the tools we needed. The deck on the cottage is fully fenced in & looks out onto the valley below & the mountain range just beyond. Just beautiful for sunrises, morning coffee/breakfast, dinner, and wine at night. Nice quiet country road & 'neighborhood.' It is exactly the image in your mind of NY farm country. Enormous white tails deer in the field across the street every morning saying 'hello.'
The property is 1-2 miles from the upper entrance to Robert (not Allen) Trehman State Park- secretly the best park in the area. Way less crowded then other parks & Lucifer Falls/Gorge beats Watkins Glen & others hands down. In addition, they are located central to all you want to see & do. Just minutes from Ithaca/Watkins Glen/Buttermilk Falls/Seneca & Cayuga Lakes/Taughannock Falls/the best wineries. If you aren't careful, other places may be 30-60 minutes away from these best of best places. BTW- Wiener/Wagner/Pompous A-ss/Goosewatch were our favorite vineyards from the 15 we tried this trip.
If you have never been to the finger lakes before & you like the outdoors, fresh air, wine/beer/whiskey- be prepared to be blown away. This was our 1st time (only 4 hours from Philly) & I can't believe it took so long to find this gem of a vacation area. Perhaps people don't talk it up b/c they don't want the secret to get out.
If you've been to the area before- we highly recommended Mallard Cottage or Tom & Inez's Enfield Manor B&B. Whatever your preference, you won't be disappointed.
We can't wait to return. And Twinkle Toes especially thanks you for cottage deck & its views! ;-)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elbitsnoc
Leesburg, Virginia
2 reviews
“A Peaceful and Pretty Get-Away from the Office”
Reviewed 13 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

My husband and I wanted a place where we could have peaceful nights and lazy breakfasts, but that would also give us easy access to nearby adventures. Mallard delivered. The huge deck looks out on rolling hills and plenty of trees, and we regularly saw or heard bats, coyotes, deer, geese, and other birds. The kitchen is well-appointed -- though you should bring spices with if you if you have complex dishes in mind -- and there were plenty of towels to keep us going for the week. The bed was easily the most comfortable of any house we've rented in the past. And although the cottage is right next to the B&B on the same property, we still felt like we were in a private hideaway.

Inez and Tom, the property owners, were friendly, interesting, knowledgeable about the area, and regularly checked to make sure we had everything we needed.

One minor warning: Although Mallard has wi fi, it's a bit spotty and slow. That was fine for us because it gave us one more excuse not to check work email, but is something to be aware of if you can't completely unplug on your vacation.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing