We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location!”
Review of The Hotel Ithaca

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Hotel Ithaca
Ranked #14 of 22 Hotels in Ithaca
Reviewed 16 April 2013

My husband and I have stayed here several times. We usual visit Ithaca at least once a year for the huge used book sale (visit booksale.org for more info), sometimes staying overnight, sometimes not. When we do choose to spend the night, we like the Holiday Inn for its extremely convenient location--it's right next to The Commons, and area full of shopping and restaurants, and it's also just off the expressway for easy access. (It has its own parking lot as well, an added bonus.) Otherwise, this hotel is just okay: the rooms are somewhat old and shabby (although if you are lucky, you might get one with a beautiful view of Cornell University or Cayuga Lake), and the restaurant is just average. I would recommend this hotel with caution; depending on your expectations, this might be a good choice.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank btobey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at The Hotel Ithaca, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2013

Dear btobey,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on your stay. I am very pleased to know that our location was convenient for your needs. However, I'd like to apologize that our room accommodations were not completely to your liking. I appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Regards,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (523)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

341 - 347 of 523 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2013

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Downtown Ithaca the Saturday night before Easter. We had reserved a 2-Bedroom Suite, but it was not ready when we arrived to check-in. Josh was on duty at the front desk and he offered us an option so we would not have to wait...2 adjoining rooms on the first floor, and he would have a refrigerator and microwave delivered. Sounded good to us!
Got our keys and were in the rooms in moments. One room had a king bed, the other had two doubles, plus having two bathrooms was a bonus.
The beds were very comfortable, the rooms were clean...everything worked fine. It was also very quiet even though we were on the first floor right by the street. We enjoyed a few drinks in the bar Saturday night, and on Sunday we had Easter Brunch...what an amazing variety of food at a reasonable price. Everything tasted great and the service was good...all at a reasonable price. So, all in all, a good stay. Okay, so this isn't the most luxurious hotel I have ever stayed in...but I really have no complaints. The location is good...not far from Ithaca College and Cornell. Walking distance to The Commons shopping plaza...pretty convenient to pretty much everything.
Thanks again to Josh...very attentive to our needs.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Billom1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2013

Picked this hotel because the location works well for Cornell and they have on site parking. Room was ok. Definitely in need if renovation. Everything feels old and worn. Luckily I had seen reviews of this hotel and got a tower room. Very tight for 4. Bathroom needs major renovation. Staff seems somewhat clueless. Asked for a rollaway when we checked in and it never came. Breakfast service was really slow. Restaurant wasn't that crowded and it took forever to get coffee and food. Indoor pool good for kids.

Room Tip: Pick a tower room. More expensive but you will regret the cheap rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luv4travel80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2013

There are some bad reviews of this hotel so I didn't have a hope high for it. the location is really good, in the heart of downtown, very close to our destination -Cornell U. We ended up in a room on first floor because my husband checked in before I had the chance to tell him requesting for a high floor tower room. The room was clean, beds were comfy, not as bad as I expected at all- typical room for a holiday inn.

With that said, aged, stained carpenter in lobby should be replaced as soon as possible.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
Thank wildy2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2013

As a regular traveler to Ithaca for business, I choose this hotel due to its convenient location to downtown. Up in the morning and getting ready to shower, notice the tub is backing up so I check the drain.
I pull out a chipmunk-size hair clog - unbelievable! Call the front desk and the person there is also grossed out and sympathetic. Feeling like the rest of the room must not be clean beyond the surface appearance. Plenty of other choices in Ithaca and will stay in one of those next time.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank tsam1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at The Hotel Ithaca, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2013

Dear tsam1,

Thank you for your review. All our guest comments are valuable and we consider them seriously in the consistent efforts to improve the quality of our products and service. I'm delighted that our location was very convenient for your business needs. Please accept my sincerest apologies for the inconvenience the condition of the shower have caused you. Rest assured this feedback will be shared with the appropriate department that can help us monitor and improve the quality and services we offer

While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we hope that you would give us another chance to make it right.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

They stuck me in the oldest part of the hotel, the old motel-style rooms that now have an enclosed hallway to protect you from the elements. But not the cold.

Room was dated, carpet too--with stains and obvious mud and dirt marks. For the most part the bathroom and room were otherwise clean. Heating unit was loud.

For about the same price or maybe $10 more, you can stay at the nearby Hilton Garden Inn or the Hampton Inn on Rt 13. Which is where I'll stay the next time I'm in town.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the newest section of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cbr79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at The Hotel Ithaca, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2013

Dear cbr79,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding the carpet and for the property being dated. We will look into this point. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2013

Great price on Priceline. Large room with comfortable beds. Friendly staff. Great bar downstairs (Max's) for drinks. Good location..walk to Commons. Housekeeping was terrible. My husband found an empty wine bottle in a dresser drawer while he was unpacking. We stayed for two nights and the room was never even cleaned the second day.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank keeptraveling88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at The Hotel Ithaca, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2013

Dear keeptraveling88,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am pleased you mentioned the hotel's quietness. Although our hotel is located near the airport, we want every guest to receive comfortable and friendly accommodations. I am sorry you were not satisfied with the service you received from our housekeeping staff. We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ithaca hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Ithaca
0.2 mi away
Ithaca Marriott Downtown on the Commons
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Ithaca
Hampton Inn Ithaca
#3 of 22 in Ithaca
713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Ithaca, NY
3.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Ithaca
1.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Ithaca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Ithaca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Ithaca

Address: 222 S Cayuga St, Ithaca, NY 14850-5510 (Formerly Holiday Inn Ithaca)
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Ithaca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 22 Hotels in Ithaca
Price Range: £95 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hotel Ithaca 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Hotel Ithaca located in the heart of the beautiful Finger Lake Wine Region on the Ithaca Commons. Our hotel offers an indoor pool, fitness room, two penthouse suites and our restaurant, Max s Classic American Grill featuring thick, juicy burgers and nostalgic diner specialties.While staying in Ithaca, shop in one of a kind specialty boutiques on the Ithaca Commons, take in a show at the Historic State Theatre, enjoy a glass of wine along the Cayuga and Seneca Lake Wine Trails or take a stroll along Taughannock and Buttermilk Falls. Come and enjoy a summer of festivals and events including the annual Ithaca Festival , Finger Lakes Wine Festival , Grassroots Festival , and the Dragon Boat Festival . NASCAR and Indy fans will love to catch a race at Watkins Glen International Raceway. The Hotel Ithaca is an ideal location for business travelers and college families. We are only a mile away from Cornell University and Ithaca College, and close to many companies including Emerson Power Transmission, Borg Warner, TPG Inc., Goodrich Ithaca Space Systems, Wilcox Press, Cargill Inc. and Cayuga Medical Center. We are the perfect location for planning your next business meeting, seminar, wedding or small convention.The Hotel Ithaca awaits your arrival! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Hotel Ithaca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Ithaca Hotel Ithaca
Ithaca Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing