We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistent with nice touches!”
Review of The Hotel Ithaca

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Hotel Ithaca
Ranked #15 of 22 Hotels in Ithaca
Winchester, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Consistent with nice touches!”
Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

We were in Ithaca for Cornell Freshman Parents' weekend, and had another pleasant stay the Holiday Inn, Ithaca. Friendly staff, comfy beds, clean rooms, and a very nice reception featuring local beers and wines as well as appetizers made with local ingredients. Room rates were jacked up a bit due to all the parents visiting, but, not as bad as Boston hotels for the World Series!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontOffice M, Front Office Manager at The Hotel Ithaca, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear Julie, I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay! We truly appreciate the positive feedback! We look forward to seeing you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    141
    125
    90
    71
See reviews for
163
115
28
116
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

My husband and I spent 3 nights in the Holiday Inn downtown Ithaca and it wasn't really good value for the money. I'm not sure if this isn't so for all the hotels in downtown Ithaca. They all seem to have high priced accommodation and I'm not sure why.
The one redeeming factor of this hotel was that it was situated right down town so that it was close to walking distance to great restaurants and bistros and to the Common. But this hotel is tired and needs a renovation. Our first room smelled of smoke and the night manager was very understanding so he gave us a new room across the hall. Both rooms were on the second floor and were kind of dingy and disappointing. The second room overlooked the rooftop and its large industrial vents - no view at all. The bathroom was okay and quite spacious but the taps were a bit grungy and the tub was small and shallow. Our beds sagged and the cleaning staff didn't clean our rooms on the last day that we were there - they didn't realize that we had booked to stay on the Sunday night. So overall, though I loved the area and the city, I wouldn't recommend this place.

Room Tip: I heard the rooms in the tower might be better than the ones on the ground and second floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lackrill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at The Hotel Ithaca, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Dear lackrill,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. I can assure you that your comfort and satisfaction are of utmost importance to us and for that please accept my sincere apologies if your stay was negatively affected by the room you received. I appreciate you bringing this matter into our attention as this is our best resource for improving guest satisfaction. This feedback will be shared with the appropriate people that can help us make a difference to ensure our valued guests' needs and expectations are met in the future.

Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

The hotel got barely lukewarm reviews in Trip Advisor, but we really needed a hotel room for my daughter's Ithaca College concerts, so we made a reservation for one night at the Holiday Inn. The location is great. The room was clean. We got a complimentary water and small bottle of wine for signing up for the rewards program. The staff were friendly. Everything good so far. The room was fine - it's a Holiday Inn - not a five star hotel - a good price, nice room EXCEPT we were facing the parking ramp and there was no curtain to draw! There was only the sheer curtain. Several times during the night I woke up and the room had an orange glow from the parking garage lights. Seriously? I would definitely stay there again if they invested in some room darkening curtains. I heard from a local that they were renovating the rooms. Maybe they hadn't made it to the curtains yet. I would definitely consider staying there again, if I had a room with curtains, because it is a great location, and otherwise the hotel was fine - a Holiday Inn at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank relax18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagerHIIthaca, General Manager at The Hotel Ithaca, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
We appreciate you choosing the Holiday Inn- Ithaca Downtown to stay while your daughter visits Ithaca College. We are in fact starting renovations this November. Unfortunately it is a common oversight but there are black out curtains behind the sheers which sometimes get hidden but the drapes. Please next time if you have difficulty finding them contact our front desk and we will be happy to show you. Hope to see you on your next visit to Ithaca.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ithaca hotels

Boca Raton, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We stayed here for a recent wedding. The rooms were well appointed and the staff was extremely friendly. We lost our luggage on the way to Ithaca. The luggage was delivered at 2 am, and the staff kindly held the bags until early the next morning.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aaron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagerHIIthaca, General Manager at The Hotel Ithaca, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
We are pleased to hear that our staff was helpful for your stay here in Ithaca. Hopefully you were able to enjoy the wedding you were in town even with the hiccups you encountered.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

The hotel choices in Ithaca are fairly slim pickings; aside from the Statler, you're not going to get luxury. That said, the Holiday Inn is very conveniently located near the Commons and not too far from the college campuses. I found the hotel to be extremely clean and comfortable. We stayed in the tower, and had nice views of the surrounding area. The highlight of our stay was the friendly front desk staff, which checked us in efficiently, came through in a pinch with a Blackberry charger, and loaded us up with awesome free bath amenities (Tom's of Maine toothpaste!) when we realized we'd forgotten our own. I think I dealt with about five different people over the course of our stay and every person was friendly and helpful. My only complaint was that the parking lot filled up at night so we had to park on the street, but meters are free overnight and the lot had cleared out by the time we needed to move the car the next morning at 9am.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lemongrass09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ithaca, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 October 2013

HI has tried to update this very dated property - lobby lovely, rooms leave much to be desired. I asked for the room the front desk mgr would choose for herself. Right off lobby and main corridor, 1st floor. Door not fully closed by ? Housekeeper -swells and must be forced closed. Old smoke smell greeted me. Room decor somewhat welcoming. Dirty, dirty window sills over noisy room ac/heat source. View - my car parked outside my window. Checked bed for bugs - always do that - and found mattress pad very deteriorated. Clearly not laundered regularly - would not have made it thru washer in one piece. Dirty glass rings on the night stand from previous occupant. Towels folded to look cute.

Internet use password used month and date. So on 9/30 @ midnight my login no longer worked for my am of 10/1. huh?..... This must happen about 12 times per year......

$170/night. No re-fridge, dated, not cleaned well, linens very shabby. 3block walk to attractions dark and with minimal foot traffic. Would only return if I had to. Hilton Garden Inn 2 blocks away, $40/night more, clean, fresh, friendly - very worth price difference.

Room Tip: Can't offer one. Front office mgr placed me in her room of choice and you have seen what that yi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reluctantbsnstravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at The Hotel Ithaca, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Dear Reluctantbsnstravel,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your thoughts and comments regarding your stay with us. It was unfortunate to see your stay was not as comfortable as it could have been. Please remain assured that we have recorded your comments and will forward it to the appropriate departments for future considerations. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Thank you again for your review and have a wonderful day!

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Holiday Inn Ithaca is a clean hotel in a good part of Ithaca, downtown, 2 blocks from the Commons, a nice multi-block section of shops where the street is permanently a pedestrian mall.

15-20 years ago, he Holiday Inn was THE premium hotel in Ithaca (excluding Cornell's Statler Hotel). I stayed in the two-story section, which seems more dated than the tower.

The room was generally clean. Decent size. But dated decor. Parking lot was full, but spots were available across the street. AC unit was quite noisy.

I would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MPCLDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at The Hotel Ithaca, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Dear MPCLDC,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave a review. We strive to provide the best possible service and experience and it is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing. We are very sorry to read that you experienced inconvenience because we did not meet your expectations. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ithaca hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Ithaca
0.2 mi away
Ithaca Marriott Downtown on the Commons
1.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Ithaca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Statler Hotel at Cornell University
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Ithaca
Hampton Inn Ithaca
#4 of 22 in Ithaca
669 reviews
1.9 mi away
Best Western University Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Ithaca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Ithaca

Property: The Hotel Ithaca
Address: 222 S Cayuga St, Ithaca, NY 14850-5510 (Formerly Holiday Inn Ithaca)
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Ithaca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 22 Hotels in Ithaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hotel Ithaca 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Hotel Ithaca located in the heart of the beautiful Finger Lake Wine Region on the Ithaca Commons. Our hotel offers an indoor pool, fitness room, two penthouse suites and our restaurant, Max s Classic American Grill featuring thick, juicy burgers and nostalgic diner specialties.While staying in Ithaca, shop in one of a kind specialty boutiques on the Ithaca Commons, take in a show at the Historic State Theatre, enjoy a glass of wine along the Cayuga and Seneca Lake Wine Trails or take a stroll along Taughannock and Buttermilk Falls. Come and enjoy a summer of festivals and events including the annual Ithaca Festival , Finger Lakes Wine Festival , Grassroots Festival , and the Dragon Boat Festival . NASCAR and Indy fans will love to catch a race at Watkins Glen International Raceway. The Hotel Ithaca is an ideal location for business travelers and college families. We are only a mile away from Cornell University and Ithaca College, and close to many companies including Emerson Power Transmission, Borg Warner, TPG Inc., Goodrich Ithaca Space Systems, Wilcox Press, Cargill Inc. and Cayuga Medical Center. We are the perfect location for planning your next business meeting, seminar, wedding or small convention.The Hotel Ithaca awaits your arrival! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your The Hotel Ithaca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Ithaca Hotel Ithaca
Ithaca Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing