We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place to sleep, nothing more”
Review of Quality Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quality Inn
Ranked #14 of 22 Hotels in Ithaca
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
62 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A place to sleep, nothing more”
Reviewed 27 June 2013

The Comfort Inn provides a place to lay your head at night. It meets all of the basic needs for an overnight stay which is all i would recommend. The appearance of the hotel, its cleanliness, its amenities and its furnishings were borderline. The price was fair for the stay and is one of the lower cost hotels in the Ithaca/Cornell area. Most likely would not stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank job28123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComfortInnMngt, General Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, 11 July 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. We make every attempt to listen to the concerns of our guests. We hope that when you return to the Ithaca area, you will stay with us again.
Best,
Jennifer Foster
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    81
    52
    32
    22
See reviews for
100
41
13
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 June 2013

We spent four days at this hotel. The location is quite convenient for those going to Cornell, as well as being close to a big shopping center. Personnel particularly at the front desk, were cordial and helpful. However, we did have the experience of coming back at night and find that our room had not been cleaned, and the bed had been made very sloppily. On the plus side, the night desk person warned us about the interior light of our car being on one night, averting a major hassle.
The room was OK though a little bit smaller than others of this type. A small table and a couple of chairs would provide more comfort, but it is quite cramped as it is - maybe they should look at the furniture and implement some changes to make it more comfortable!
The bathroom was reasonably clean and the bathtub and shower well kept. We appreciated the two safety bars in the bathtub. Problem: they do not refresh the supplies as needed - we had to ask for towels and toilet paper. They don't provide the option of keeping one's towels for a couple of days either. (To be honest, there's not space to put hem anyway!)
Breakfast was OK , but the toaster didn’t work very well. Coffee was really good. The breakfast area is very small and not too comfortable. The lobby is just the front desk - no place to sit at all.
There is a small gym that we did not use. It only contains a treadmill and another sport machine. No swimming pool.
In sum, it is a conveniently located motel and the staff is cordial and helpful. It only provides the bare essentials and have not paid proper attention to details. We found the hotel to be a little bit pricey for what it offers.

Note: My evaluation would be 3 out of 5.

Room Tip: first floor rooms open directly to the outside - to the parking lot if in the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank virginia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComfortInnMngt, General Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, 11 July 2013
Thank you for your response. We always look for ways to improve and appreciate any and all feedback. We always want to make all of our guests stays enjoyable. Thank you for taking the time to post.
Regards,
Jennifer Foster
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
110 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2013

OK, since I am going to be in Ithaca for business, might as well spread my stays around until I find the right place. Happened upon the Comfort and decided to give it a try. Clean, fairly updated and full of friendly staff. I would give it another try, no problem. BTW, Buttermilk State Park and Buttermilk Falls are less than a mile away!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComfortInnMngt, General Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, 11 July 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We look forward to having you stay with us while you are in the area.
Regards,
Jennifer Foster
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freeport, Maine, United States
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

I understand that every hotel in Ithaca gouges you during Cornell's graduation weekend (the rate is $339 per night, with a 3-night minimum, which is 3x the regular rate), and I should not expect a 5-star accommodation at a Comfort Inn, just because I'm paying almost a thousand dollars. But still! My major complaint was with housekeeping. On arrival, I noticed that they gave us one (one!) bar of soap and three bath towels. The second day of our stay, we came back at 4 pm to a room that had not been cleaned--one of the beds was not made (because it is their policy not to make the bed if there is anything personal on it, in our case, that was a newspaper and an empty bag). There were half-filled coffee cups left around from the morning, and the ironing board was still up in the room. Yes, I could have put the board away myself, and thrown out the coffee, but again, for a thousand bucks, you kind of expect some service, right!? The carpets outside our room never got vacuumed, and were noticeably dirty. The tub in my room was Dirty--visible scuff marks inside and out. When I complained to the front desk, housekeeping did clean the tub the following day (inside, not outside!) The common area trashcans were filled to overflowing all weekend. The decor was in serious need of an upgrade, for instance the bed comforters looked rather threadbare and the breakfast area features dusty green ivy and fake poinsettias--in late May! Yes, they made an effort to make the lobby festive for graduation, with a couple dozen helium balloons in school colors, but it was a poor substitute for a much-needed investment in some modernization.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComfortInnMngt, General Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, 11 July 2013
Thank you for your time in commenting on your stay. We always try to improve our hotel and services. We have used your comments and are upgrading all the things you mentioned. Thank you again for your time.
Best,
Jennifer Foster
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ithaca hotels

NY, NY
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

After three days of water pouring through the bathroom light switch ( danger anyone?) and three days of bringing this to the hotel's attention with no resolution, they finally agreed to refund the cost of the room, which as double normal rates for Cornell Commencement weekend. Wasn't my first, second or third choice. Needs a good steam cleaning.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DiGama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComfortInnMngt, General Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, 11 July 2013
Thank you for your comments. We always want to improve our hotel and services for our guests. We will be using this as a great learning tool.
Regards,
Jennifer Foster
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 14 May 2013

Horrifying, dont do it. We were traveling with a large party and they made us move everything into one room (miscommunication between parties) and members of the hotel staff assisted in moving our things, accessed all of our rooms and then when I came back only my electronics were missing. Ironic since my books were still stacked and my tablet was on top.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank starliet13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evian
Level Contributor
106 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2013

We stayed for two nights. The rooms were the best of our whole trip in the NY area - very well appointed. Breakfasts plentiful and varied. Not really possible to walk into Ithaca so a car is necessary, but the rooms at the back are quiet.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room at the back of the property. Staff are happy to oblige
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JandSEvian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComfortInnMngt, General Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, 11 July 2013
Thank you for your positive comments about our hotel. We hope to see you again in the future.
Best,
Jennifer Foster
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ithaca hotels
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Ithaca
Hampton Inn Ithaca
#4 of 22 in Ithaca
645 reviews
2.9 mi away
Best Western University Inn
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Ithaca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Econo Lodge - Ithaca
Econo Lodge - Ithaca
#15 of 22 in Ithaca
75 reviews
1.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ithaca
4.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Ithaca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn

Property: Quality Inn
Address: 356 Elmira Rd, Ithaca, NY 14850-5115 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Ithaca
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 22 Hotels in Ithaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Quality Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Ithaca
Comfort Inn Ithaca
Ithaca Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing