We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced - On the outskirts of town”
Review of Quality Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quality Inn
Ranked #15 of 22 Hotels in Ithaca
Reviewed 29 June 2013

Booked this hotel through Hotwire, and expect more when paying over $100. Hotels in Ithaca are generally expensive compared to let's say Syracuse.

There is not enough light in the room. Rooms on the first floor either look to the parking lot, or back fence. There are no enclosed patios, so there is no privacy if you leave the drapes open.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ezra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComfortInnMngt, General Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2013

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. We make every attempt to listen to the concerns of our guests. We hope that when you return to the Ithaca area, you will stay with us again.
Best,
Jennifer Foster
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (219)
There are newer reviews for Quality Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

116 - 122 of 219 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2013

I stayed at the Comfort Inn Ithaca to attend a short class at Cornell University. I highly recommend this hotel to others, as it has proved to be a great option. The hotel itself is very easy to find, nearby the University and several shops/restaurants. The staff was very friendly and helpful in providing information regarding the area.

I arrived to the hotel on a very hot & humid day, so i was happily surprised when I entered my room and the a/c was already kicked on, leaving the room nice and cool. The room itself was very clean, and provided several amenities needed throughout my stay (mini fridge, WIFI, and a very comfortable bed). Free breakfast & Shuttle to Cornell were also provided, and again were much appreciated.


Overall, I would not hesitate for a minute to recommend this hotel to others visiting the area for any reason!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marilyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComfortInnMngt, General Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2013

Thank you so much for your comments. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future if you are in the area.
Best,
Jennifer Foster
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

The Comfort Inn provides a place to lay your head at night. It meets all of the basic needs for an overnight stay which is all i would recommend. The appearance of the hotel, its cleanliness, its amenities and its furnishings were borderline. The price was fair for the stay and is one of the lower cost hotels in the Ithaca/Cornell area. Most likely would not stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank job28123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComfortInnMngt, General Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2013

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. We make every attempt to listen to the concerns of our guests. We hope that when you return to the Ithaca area, you will stay with us again.
Best,
Jennifer Foster
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

We spent four days at this hotel. The location is quite convenient for those going to Cornell, as well as being close to a big shopping center. Personnel particularly at the front desk, were cordial and helpful. However, we did have the experience of coming back at night and find that our room had not been cleaned, and the bed had been made very sloppily. On the plus side, the night desk person warned us about the interior light of our car being on one night, averting a major hassle.
The room was OK though a little bit smaller than others of this type. A small table and a couple of chairs would provide more comfort, but it is quite cramped as it is - maybe they should look at the furniture and implement some changes to make it more comfortable!
The bathroom was reasonably clean and the bathtub and shower well kept. We appreciated the two safety bars in the bathtub. Problem: they do not refresh the supplies as needed - we had to ask for towels and toilet paper. They don't provide the option of keeping one's towels for a couple of days either. (To be honest, there's not space to put hem anyway!)
Breakfast was OK , but the toaster didn’t work very well. Coffee was really good. The breakfast area is very small and not too comfortable. The lobby is just the front desk - no place to sit at all.
There is a small gym that we did not use. It only contains a treadmill and another sport machine. No swimming pool.
In sum, it is a conveniently located motel and the staff is cordial and helpful. It only provides the bare essentials and have not paid proper attention to details. We found the hotel to be a little bit pricey for what it offers.

Note: My evaluation would be 3 out of 5.

Room Tip: first floor rooms open directly to the outside - to the parking lot if in the front.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank virginia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComfortInnMngt, General Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2013

Thank you for your response. We always look for ways to improve and appreciate any and all feedback. We always want to make all of our guests stays enjoyable. Thank you for taking the time to post.
Regards,
Jennifer Foster
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2013

OK, since I am going to be in Ithaca for business, might as well spread my stays around until I find the right place. Happened upon the Comfort and decided to give it a try. Clean, fairly updated and full of friendly staff. I would give it another try, no problem. BTW, Buttermilk State Park and Buttermilk Falls are less than a mile away!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComfortInnMngt, General Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2013

Thank you for your feedback. We look forward to having you stay with us while you are in the area.
Regards,
Jennifer Foster
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

I understand that every hotel in Ithaca gouges you during Cornell's graduation weekend (the rate is $339 per night, with a 3-night minimum, which is 3x the regular rate), and I should not expect a 5-star accommodation at a Comfort Inn, just because I'm paying almost a thousand dollars. But still! My major complaint was with housekeeping. On arrival, I noticed that they gave us one (one!) bar of soap and three bath towels. The second day of our stay, we came back at 4 pm to a room that had not been cleaned--one of the beds was not made (because it is their policy not to make the bed if there is anything personal on it, in our case, that was a newspaper and an empty bag). There were half-filled coffee cups left around from the morning, and the ironing board was still up in the room. Yes, I could have put the board away myself, and thrown out the coffee, but again, for a thousand bucks, you kind of expect some service, right!? The carpets outside our room never got vacuumed, and were noticeably dirty. The tub in my room was Dirty--visible scuff marks inside and out. When I complained to the front desk, housekeeping did clean the tub the following day (inside, not outside!) The common area trashcans were filled to overflowing all weekend. The decor was in serious need of an upgrade, for instance the bed comforters looked rather threadbare and the breakfast area features dusty green ivy and fake poinsettias--in late May! Yes, they made an effort to make the lobby festive for graduation, with a couple dozen helium balloons in school colors, but it was a poor substitute for a much-needed investment in some modernization.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComfortInnMngt, General Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2013

Thank you for your time in commenting on your stay. We always try to improve our hotel and services. We have used your comments and are upgrading all the things you mentioned. Thank you again for your time.
Best,
Jennifer Foster
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

After three days of water pouring through the bathroom light switch ( danger anyone?) and three days of bringing this to the hotel's attention with no resolution, they finally agreed to refund the cost of the room, which as double normal rates for Cornell Commencement weekend. Wasn't my first, second or third choice. Needs a good steam cleaning.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DiGama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComfortInnMngt, General Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2013

Thank you for your comments. We always want to improve our hotel and services for our guests. We will be using this as a great learning tool.
Regards,
Jennifer Foster
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ithaca hotels
4.4 mi away
Econo Lodge - Ithaca
Econo Lodge - Ithaca
#16 of 22 in Ithaca
85 reviews
1.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ithaca
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Ithaca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Best Western University Inn
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Ithaca
Hampton Inn Ithaca
#4 of 22 in Ithaca
686 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ithaca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn

Address: 356 Elmira Rd, Ithaca, NY 14850-5115 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Ithaca
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 22 Hotels in Ithaca
Price Range: £75 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Quality Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Ithaca
Comfort Inn Ithaca
Ithaca Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing