We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a dirty hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sheraton JFK Airport Hotel
Ranked #3 of 31 Hotels in Jamaica
GreenLeadersGold level
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
“What a dirty hotel”
Reviewed 13 November 2013

The first thing we noticed was a terrible smell from a sewer treatment plant located next to the parking lot. The lobby was dark and dingy with staff rudely standing in the lobby speaking what sounded like russian and offered no assistance. The hallways smelled like wet dog and the sheets in our room had black marks all over them. The grout tub was moldy and needed to be cleaned. The planes flying above the hotel was my breaking point....had to leave with no refund offered

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Billy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam1496, Front Office Manager at Sheraton JFK Airport Hotel, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Dear Billy E,
First we would like to thank you for choosing the Sheraton Jfk, and for taking the time out to review our hotel. All comments are taken very seriously and are dealt with immediately, in order to better our services for our guests. I'm very dissapointed that your stay with us was not what you expected however I'm glad you gave us the chance to correct things.
We thank you for your loyality and look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

626 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    241
    205
    110
    49
    21
See reviews for
134
127
86
190
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
100 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We stayed here just one night as we had an early international flight out of JFK the next morning. We arrived late but found the front desk and bell hop to be very hospitable. Room and bathroom were both small but had everything we needed and the bed was comfortable. Took the free shuttle with no problems the next morning. I would stay here again for the same purpose.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam1496, Front Office Manager at Sheraton JFK Airport Hotel, responded to this review, 16 November 2013
Dear Tracy L, Thank you for choosing the Sheraton JFK, We are so happy to hear that we were able to meet your expectations. I will be sure to pass on your compliments to everyone. Hope to serve you in the near future, thanks again for taking the time out to share with future guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
174 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

perfectly located for someone catching a plane from JFK. As with many Sheratons, your dining choices are limited to the hotel but they do manage to crank out decent meals. Surprisingly quiet from road noise and aircraft movements. We did have a bit of a time finding it (the taxi driver had never been there) but managed very well after that. Shuttle was convenient, timely and very helpful with the luggage.

Room Tip: Did not use the pool or spa. Think about whether upgrading to club level is worth it. The biggest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B0bAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherman Oaks, CA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We knew we were getting into JFK late and needed a place to crash. I made a reservation at the Sheraton JFK with Starwood Points. We met the shuttle at JFK and it was a quick ride to The Sheraton. When we got there it was brightly lit and had classy decorations for fall. The lobby is nice, big, and clean. We were met in the lobby by Abdell who checked us in. Abdell was great! He made us feel so welcome and made sure we knew everything that was available. He even helped us to have some food delivered. Again, can’t say enough about how great the service was when e checked in.

Our room was on the concierge suite and was really nice. Clean, Big, Comfortable. The bathroom was really nice with a great shower.

We sat at the bar as we waited for our food to be delivered and we felt so welcome. The bartender was great and all of the guest really enjoyed hanging out there. As the bartender started to close down the bar (she stayed open later than normal because there were late guest arriving) she insisted that we hang out as we waited for our food and assured us it was no problem. We never felt like “we should go”. Again, GREAT SERVICE!

I the morning there was breakfast in the Concierges Suite and it was really good. I grabbed some food and took it back to the room where my wife and I fell back asleep. When we woke up it was late. I called the front desk and apologized for over sleeping missing check out. We were told it was “No Problem” and to “take all the time we needed”.

When we finally got it together the check out was great and friendly. The Shuttle was right there to take us back to JFK to catch the train to NYC.

This is a great place to layover at JFK. One of the best Airport hotels I‘ve stayed at. . . EVER. Great service, clean, and friendly! Stay here and say “Hi” to Abdell!

Room Tip: We stayed on the Concierge Suite floor, We highly recommend it! Enjoy the hotel bar!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank long4vt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam1496, Front Office Manager at Sheraton JFK Airport Hotel, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Dear Sir/ Madame, Thank you for choosing the Sheraton hotel, We are so excited to hear that we were able to meet your expectations. I will be sure to pass on your compliments to everyone expecially ABDEL. We hope to serve you in the near future, thank you again for taking the time out to share with future guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandton, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Nothing beats being close to the airport especially when you have an early flight to catch. My stay was comfortable and restful. The reception and checking were swift and splendid. The rooms are spacious and nicely furnished.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ndabam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam1496, Front Office Manager at Sheraton JFK Airport Hotel, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Good Evening,

Thank you so much for taking the time out to review our Hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and had a pleasant time. I also want to thank you for recognizing our staff, we always aim for the best when it comes to our guests.

Thanks again we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central Coast
Level Contributor
88 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

I'm stunned as I read the reviews of this hotel. In my opinion, it's all that you want in an airport hotel. It's very convenient to JFK - got there in under 10 minutes for a morning flight. The front desk staff were efficient and cordial. The room is nicely appointed, attractively furnished, and quiet. Extremely quiet. We had an early morning flight from JFK and this hotel was perfect.

I booked this room thru Priceline, requesting a 4 star hotel, and paid about $150 including service fees and taxes. Honestly, I would have paid more. I suspect that the negative reviews have ulterior motives or just overly fussy.

If you're traveling, this is a great hotel to make your early morning connection.

Room Tip: Great hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PasoWarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam1496, Front Office Manager at Sheraton JFK Airport Hotel, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Hello,



Thank you so much for the AMAZING review regarding our hotel and staff. We take pride in our hotel, we strive for excellence when dealing with our guest. We want each and every encounter with our staff to be a pleasant one, from the front desk agents to the housekeeping staff.



I will definitely share your comments with the team.



Again thank you so much!!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highland Mills, New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Having a early flight, I went to JFK the day before.No problem of a time clock on the way to airport.I checked at 4pm . The staff and the front desk treated like a VIP.The first thing I noticed was the rich wood paneling,made me think I was in a NYC Private club.The people you know me the next thing I checked out is the Bar and it was well stocked and the food was great
Next i went to the room it was large and nice This hotel still had movies on demand my down fall got some soda and chips and watched a movie.in the morning I had breakfast at the hotel ,full breakfast no buffet. I took the hotel shuttle over to jet blue to deal with the wonderfull people T.S.A. as we get older our tolerance of BS gets less .That is why I get to jfk the day before i know dealing with a 2 hour plus car trip,watching the clock and parking the car and then dealing with tsa would have me in airport jail

Room Tip: If you go to bed early or sleep late get a room on a higher foor in the back Conduit is a noisey roa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kbd196385
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam1496, Front Office Manager at Sheraton JFK Airport Hotel, responded to this review, 2 November 2013
Good Evening,
Thank you so much for taking the time out to write a survey about our property. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and had a great time. We also want to thank you for recognizing our staff, we aim for excellence in customer service.

I will definitely pass on your great feedback to all the department managers and staff members.



Again thank you so much for your great feedback,





SAMANTHA WATSON



Front Office Supervisor
t— 718.322.7190 f— 718.322.7191



SHERATON JFK AIRPORT HOTEL
132-26 S Conduit Avenue, Jamaica, New York 11430



sheratonjfk.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jamaica hotels
0.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Queens / JFK Airport
0.7 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott New York JFK Airport
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn NY - JFK
Hampton Inn NY - JFK
#2 of 31 in Jamaica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza JFK Airport New York City
0.6 mi away
Hilton New York JFK
Hilton New York JFK
#7 of 31 in Jamaica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,615 reviews
0.4 mi away
Radisson Hotel JFK Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton JFK Airport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton JFK Airport Hotel

Property: Sheraton JFK Airport Hotel
Address: 13226 S Conduit Ave, Jamaica, NY 11430-1505
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Queens > Jamaica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Jamaica
#3 Business Hotel in Jamaica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton JFK Airport Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheraton JFK Airport Hotel is a new, full service hotel featuring a sleek design, and everything you need to be comfortable and productive. Located just 0.5 miles from John F. Kennedy Airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton JFK Airport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jamaica Sheraton
Sheraton JFK Airport Hotel Jamaica, New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing