We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In a Bad Neighborhood- NOT Close to JFK”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sleep Inn JFK Airport
Ranked #13 of 30 Hotels in Jamaica
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Do not do like I did and confuse this Sleep Inn with the one (higher rated) on Far Rockaway!

Our taxi ride from JFK cost $22 plus tip. . . then we were worried about getting out of the cab in this dark, dangerous looking neighborhood. Once inside, we had a nice receptionist who arranged for the hotel shuttle to take us to a pretty good Portuguese restaurant called Sangria a couple of miles away. . . in a less dicey area.

The hotel was acceptable (not the cleanest. . . long clump of hair on the bathroom floor, ugh!), bed comfortable. . . typical breakfast for that kind of motel, that normally cost about $70 a night. The trouble is. . . after taxes, we $116. . . which we felt was a rip off, even for New York!

There just has to be better choices!

Room Tip: Stay some place else!
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sherrrrry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica H, Front Office Manager at Sleep Inn JFK Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2014

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to sincerely apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (211)
There are newer reviews for Sleep Inn JFK Airport
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 211 reviews

Reviewed 10 April 2014

My companion and I recently spent a few days in New York city. We were looking for a hotel close to JFK that provided free shuttle service. Sleep Inn Jamaica provided that and so much more.

The shuttle service took me to JFK to await the arrival of my partner and came back to take us back to the hotel when we were ready to return. Ozzie, our driver, was more than helpful with questions we had about the subway (as neither of us had taken the subway before.)

Our room, although small, was clean and comfy. Monica, the night desk manager, was more than helpful when recommending places to get takeout/delivery food. She even made the call for us and ordered our food and paid the vendor when it was delivered. Again, they treated us more like family.

The continental breakfast was great with a lot of selections to choose from. I loved that they had a small fitness center that was available 24/7.

On our last evening before leaving for Pennsylvania, Ozzie, took us to a nearby Applebees so that we could have a real sit-down meal and returned for us when we called the hotel.

We would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ginny Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica H, Front Office Manager at Sleep Inn JFK Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2014

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your survey responses will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We arrived at JFK at 9am, so we came to the hotel and left our baggage in storage room, because check in was after 3pm. The lady on reception at this time was very nice and helpful. She said we can come back anytime after 3pm and check in, even at midnight. Shuttle bus operate till 11pm, but we didn't catch it, so we tried to take some taxi, but it was impossible. In this area, which i have to say was very unsafe and we felt really like we are in some ghetto. We spend one hour to try catch some taxi, we saw only 2 yellow cabs and they were full. There was a "private taxis" with private cars, but we was so afraid to take them, they looks so unsafe as well, but after hour we were so tired and freezing so we took one of them ( i do not recommend walk there when is dark ) and this "private taxi" was kind of normal...so we paid 7$ to get to the hotel, which was good price. So finally we arrived safely at the hotel and did check in. The rooms were very nice and modern and king beds very comfortable. Breakfast was not very good, not too many choices, just few jogurts, waffle maker and some bread. When we check out there was a different lady on reception and she was rude and not polite at all. So overall hotel on it's own is nice, just staff can be more polite and area it's poor and unsafe. We just book this hotel for one night only and because it was close to the airport and free shuttle bus ( to subway and the airport too ). It's a pity that this hotel is in bad area and some improvement needs ( staff, breakfast ) so i will not book it again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kiara0007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica H, Front Office Manager at Sleep Inn JFK Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2014

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to sincerely apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. We have since made various improvements and changes.Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We actually thought we booked the other Sleep Inn and were surprised that there were two Sleep Inn's in the same town. So we drove to this one. It's the same size and layout as the other one. Very small, barely enough room for you and your luggage. It was not too clean. Toilet paper on the roll was almost gone, and the plastic cups were dirty. We wondered if someone had been in the room after the maid cleaned it. There was even blood on the bed sheets under where the pillows were. We would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meeta4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica H, Front Office Manager at Sleep Inn JFK Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2014

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to sincerely apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. We have since made various improvements and changes.Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

A group of 16 of us recently returned from an overseas trip and landed at JFK in New York just as a major snowstorm hit the east coast. Our connecting flight to Boston was cancelled, and as the day progressed, most of the other flights out of JFK were as well. So we were stuck - what to do? Smartphones found this wonderful oasis in the snowstorm for us. Our criteria was this: enough space for 8 couples, and a shuttle to get us to the hotel. The Sleep Inn had both, but were hesitant to send a shuttle out in the awful weather to pick us up. But eventually the staff, feeling sorry for us stuck at the airport, risked trouble and sent the van for us. And when we reached the hotel, the staff couldn't have been more pleasant or accommodating! They gave us all toothbrushes and toothpaste (our luggage was stuck in the baggage system at JFK), menus for local take-out food, and tried to assure us that everything would be just fine. We placed a big pizza order and the hotel provided a nice lounge for us to dine in (they don't have a restaurant on the premises.) After a very comfortable night's sleep in a very clean room, a nice continental breakfast was served to us, and then, with the weather much clearer, the van returned us to JFK so that we could continue our trip home. Talk about a "port in a storm" - this was the ideal place to find when we most needed it, and the staff couldn't have been nicer! The price to stay was also very reasonable, especially considering the demand for hotel space due to the storm that night! 6 stars, if we could award that many!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisG44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica H, Front Office Manager at Sleep Inn JFK Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2014

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your survey responses will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

I took the wrong Sleep Inn shuttle ( i was so cold that i just jumped in the first shuttle i saw) and had to take a cab to the hotel- in my mind i was thinking that the hotel will be crappy.
It was excellent. The staff was friendly and efficient. The room was way bigger and nicer than i thought. I slept well in that bed. The breakfast was good as well.

Great stay would definitely stay here when i have an overnight at JFK.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TriniGirl01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica H, Front Office Manager at Sleep Inn JFK Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2014

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your survey responses will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Close to JFK airport. Free Shuttle bus every 30 min to JFK. The shuttle also drop you off in Jamaica Station where you can take the train to World Trace Center (45 min train trip -Line E-). The shuttle is also able to pick you up in this station. New hotel, clean and warm rooms, The heater was broken down during our stay. Good bathroom. Nort bad Breakfast. No restaurant. You can order fast food to local restaurnats (pizza, burger, etc). Staff friendly and helpful. Be careful with the free wi-fi, I was attacked by virus. Small lobby and mini-gym. Good for 1 or 2 nights maximum.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fersolsan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jamaica hotels
1.8 mi away
Best Western Jamaica Inn
2.5 mi away
Sleep Inn JFK Airport Rockaway Blvd
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#23 of 30 in Jamaica
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn NY - JFK
Hampton Inn NY - JFK
#2 of 30 in Jamaica
1,745 reviews
2.7 mi away
Days Inn Jamaica - Jfk Airport
1.1 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Jamaica JFK Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleep Inn JFK Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn JFK Airport

Address: 17708 Liberty Ave, Jamaica, NY 11433-1431
Region: United States > New York > Queens > Jamaica
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 30 Hotels in Jamaica
Price Range: £859 - £881 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sleep Inn JFK Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Sleep Inn JFK Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn Jamaica Hotel Jamaica
Sleep Inn JFK Airport Jamaica, New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing