We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn NY - JFK
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Jamaica
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 5 May 2011

My husband and I had a one night lay over between connecting flights at JFK. We booked the Hampton Inn based on its proximity to JFK and on the comments in Trip Advisor. We were not disappointed. This is an excellent hotel. Despite being busy with both customers and telephone calls, the front desk staff were welcoming, responsive, and informative. The room was spacious with excellent beds and a large, well appointed bathroom. Our room was quiet with great temperature control, and it had free wireless. One bonus was the fact that the Hampton connects with another hotel that offers a full restaurant menu, with excellent service. Also, the full breakfast at the Hampton was outstanding -- and the breakfast room contained both a flat screen TV turned to the news, and a feed from the JFK arrivals/departures board. Finally, given the high volume of travelers at this hotel, we were struck by the friendliness of the staff we encountered. The breakfast chef came into the dining area and visited with us for a few minutes and the Shuttle Driver went out of his way to accommodate a very large crowd waiting to get the early bus to JFK. Also, we noticed that the staff were congenial to one another -- generally a sign of good management. The Shuttle Service is excellent. Upon arrival, one only has to call the hotel from well marked kiosks in the airport, and take a short hop on the Airtrain to Federal Circle to meet the driver. On departure, the shuttle runs every half hour from the hotel beginning at dawn -- up until early morning. All in all, the JFK Hampton exceeded our expectations and made for a comfortable reentry from a two week trip abroad.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vlandry123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,702 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    575
    703
    277
    84
    63
See reviews for
547
466
182
338
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
philadelphia, pa
Level Contributor
47 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2011

we wanted to get a hotel near JFK to make the 4 am wake up a little easier on the kids. (instead of the 2 am wake up from philadelphia). the hampton inn was perfect. our room was spotless and very comfortable. we were able to park our car for 2 weeks and pick it up on the way back( for a fee or course - but still cost less than getting a service from home and not much more than parking it in long term parking) shuttle bus left every 1/2 hour. we picked it up easily from JFK back to the hotel from federal circle. they let us have breakfast in the hotel before we headed back to philly. very nice front desk staff. i certainly wouldn't stay here if your goal is to sightsee new york but for a pre/post airport trip it's perfect.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wetakethekids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2011

Just a one night stay with my wife and two kids (9 and 12) on the way from London to Florida. This is a good value hotel, with free coffee and (a good range of) tea in the lobby, free wifi, and a buffet breakfast included. The beds are comfortable, and the location is convenient for JFK - ideal for a stop-over or early-morning flight. At least it would have been if our taxi driver hadn't misunderstood the address and got lost on the way to the hotel from the airport. No such problems with the hotel shuttle bus to JFK the next morning - which was easy and on time.

Room Tip: Show your taxi driver the address in writing
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkrPhillips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clermont, Florida
Level Contributor
63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2011

The rooms were nice and spaciuos, and very clean! The breakfast was delicious! Bacon, eggs, sausage, waffles, oatmeal, muffins, juices, and coffees. One problem.. There was no spray for the waffle maker! Once the waffles were finished many had problems peeling their waffle off the waffle maker, I was just in a hampton inn in VA the night before and they had spary for the waffle maker.. Its not that difficult!!! We needed a fridge, and had to ask over and over again before they actually sent it to our room. However the staff was very friendly. The internet was SO s..l..o..w!! It took over an hour to load 4 minute youtube video!! Overall it was a good stay and I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Book early, rooms fill up quickly!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BBGRL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2011

My friend didn't want to miss his flight and thus suggested to stay at an aiport hotel. I picked it after reading comments here. The room is pretty spacious and clean. Staff are friendly. The location is not easy to find as there's no subway around. My friend and me took a taxi to go there. The driver suggested us not to go out at night because the area was too quiet. Anyway, we just wanted to have some beautiful sleep before departure. The hotel provides free shuttle bus service.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ngrowena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2011

Following a long trip from Australia I stayed at this hotel.

From the call to the shuttle, to the check-in, to the cleanliness and comfort, everything was fantastic.

The rooms are spacious, very clean and comfortable and tastefully decorated. They are immaculate. The hotel staff were very friendly and prepared to help with anything.

The free brekky is wonderful and the coffee was hot. The waffles are the best!

Checkout was a breeze and I was even offered a take away breakfast pack containing an apple, muesli bar, water and a muffin.

I will be returning here and recommending to others.

John

Room Tip: Level 11 is quiet and has nice rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TarinJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunnyvale, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2011

The only reason to stay at an airport hotel like this Hampton is that you have a flight that leaves early in the morning or gets in late at night. My daughter and I were in the second situation -- our flight arrived at JFK after midnight. A short and inexpensive (under $10) cab ride took us straight to the Hampton Inn, where a friendly security guard let us in the door. The staff was uniformly pleasant and our room was ready for us and perfectly clean.

Minor issues: The beds were pretty hard; also, the only blanket was an excessively heavy duvet. The free wifi was pretty slow. I would have appreciated a little more variety in the soda vending machine. And the breakfast, though free and plentiful, was heartburn-inducing; if I went back, I'd stick with the boxed cereal.

But, as I said before, the staff was super-nice, the room was quiet and convenient, the price was reasonable, and I was tired enough not to care much about the bed. For one night near the airport, this hotel was perfectly fine.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vgshea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jamaica hotels
0.0 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott New York JFK Airport
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza JFK Airport New York City
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Queens / JFK Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sheraton JFK Airport Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hilton New York JFK
Hilton New York JFK
#7 of 30 in Jamaica
1,664 reviews
0.6 mi away
Days Inn Jamaica - Jfk Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn NY - JFK? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn NY - JFK

Property: Hampton Inn NY - JFK
Address: 144-10 135th Ave, Jamaica, NY 11436-2200
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Queens > Jamaica
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Jamaica
#5 Business Hotel in Jamaica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn NY - JFK 3*
Number of rooms: 216
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn NY - JFK reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Ny - Jfk Hotel Jamaica
Hampton Inn Jamaica
Jamaica Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn NY - JFK Jamaica, New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing