We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Long Wait for Shuttle”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn NY - JFK
Ranked #2 of 31 Hotels in Jamaica
USA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Long Wait for Shuttle”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Stayed at this hotel after a long flight to JFK and the hassle of going through immigration and customs at JFK. Waited for 50 minutes for shuttle to come pick us up at the AirTrain Federal Circle station. I called twice to ask when the shuttle was coming and was told both times that the shuttle was "5 minutes away".

The hotel is a standard Hampton Inn with very clean and good-sized rooms. It is too bad that their shuttle takes so long to pick-up guests.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank ElPipo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,681 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    562
    699
    274
    83
    63
See reviews for
539
458
178
337
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
895 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 258 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

After a long flight, just seeing a Hampton Inn as our cab approaches it, relieves all the stress of travelling, especially for short stays. This one is just as good as all Hampton Inns. Great comfortable beds, comfy pillows and fresh clean linen are basics here. Add to that super fast reliable wifi, 24 hr business center service and gym, and basic good breakfast. That's all I need! Staff are exceptional! Thank you Hampton Inn!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Amin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, United States
1 review
Reviewed 22 July 2014

OK for a 1-night stop over. Nothing exciting about this hotel, missed diner facilities on premisses. Reasonable to get to with Airtrain, only 4 stops from Terminal-4. Then short ride with courtesy bus. Courtesy bus starts at 04:00 and drops you outside departure lounge.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Henricus B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chevy Chase, United States
1 review
Reviewed 21 July 2014

This is a convenient place to stay with family around NYC. Warm staff, a hot breakfast, and clean rooms. We were surprised also that it was not difficult to drive into the city from the hotel. Especially taking the kids into consideration and expensive NYC parking, this made staying around the city easy and economical.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Shoma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rye Brook, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 July 2014

This is the 6th stay at this Hampton Inn.
The location to JFK is perfect. The rooms are spotless clean and the beds are top quality.
You can not hear any noise from the airplanes whatsoever.
Most of all; it must be said, the staff is excellent. Whoever selects them and trains them is doing a great job.
Check in is handled very professional and friendly.


I recommend this hotel to anyone who needs to stay in the JFK area.

Room Tip: Just stay at the Hampton Inn at JFK
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Spent the previous night (July 18) at this Hampton Inn located approximately 3 miles from the JFK Airport. Despite a 20 minute wait for the hotel shuttle, check-in was managed expeditiously. Hubby and I were assigned a room which was well appointed, beautifully furnished and sufficiently spacious (a welcome relief from French accommodations suitable only for sardines!). The king size bed was comfy and inviting. The room and bathroom were spotlessly clean; however, the hallway carpet needed a thorough vacuuming.
Breakfast, which was complimentary, was mediocre at best -- standard buffet offerings of oatmeal and other assorted cereals, yogurt, waffles, pastries, as well as cooked items, such as eggs and bacon. The eggs were flavorless and appeared to be imitation (not the real McCoy, for sure!), the bacon was raw and fatty and the bagels were bland and chewy. Food quality wasn't up to snuff but hasn't been for us also at other Hampton Inns.
Despite our dissatisfaction with the substandard food, we still enjoyed our accommodations and plan to return in October upon our return from Italy.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaytonDiva_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
182 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

Booked hotel as had a night in New York, flying on to Jackson Hole.
After landing at JFK take the Air Train route 1 to Federal Circle. After 4 stops get off, go down the escalator, turn right and walk about 100 meters to shuttle stops. Shuttle comes every 15 minutes.
Hotel is bit dated, very friendly staff on check in. Good night sleep, beds comfortable, rooms quiet. Had room with 2 double beds, slept 4 comfortably.
Breakfast included. Exceeded expectations, waffle, fruit, cereals, yogurts, juices, sausage and breakfast patties.
Great value for families

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jamaica hotels
0.0 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott New York JFK Airport
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Queens / JFK Airport
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza JFK Airport New York City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hilton New York JFK
Hilton New York JFK
#7 of 31 in Jamaica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,628 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sheraton JFK Airport Hotel
0.6 mi away
Days Inn Jamaica - Jfk Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn NY - JFK? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn NY - JFK

Property: Hampton Inn NY - JFK
Address: 144-10 135th Ave, Jamaica, NY 11436-2200
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Queens > Jamaica
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Jamaica
#5 Business Hotel in Jamaica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn NY - JFK 3*
Number of rooms: 216
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Southall Travel, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn NY - JFK reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Ny - Jfk Hotel Jamaica
Hampton Inn Jamaica
Jamaica Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn NY - JFK Jamaica, New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing