We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Stay Ever”
Review of JFK Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
JFK Inn
Ranked #28 of 30 Hotels in Jamaica
Cortlland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Worst Stay Ever”
Reviewed 25 April 2013

This is the worst motel/hotel I've ever stayed in and was afraid to go to sleep with all the things creatures 2 legged and 4 legged lurking around. Stay in the terminal if you get delayed @ JFK. If i could give less than a one point rating I would. A homeless person would pass on this dump.All other places were booked with the furlough ait trafiic controller deal so this was a last resort. When I saw the place I said to myself is this by the night or by the hour. Never seen so much mold on one bathroom sealing in my life. Scary place..Was just waiting for someone to bust in the door rob me. Top it all of with over a $100.00 bill . Shouldn't even be able to adverstise at the airport on the hotel directory.

Room Tip: Drive by and don't even slow down
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveladvisor2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JFKInnCharles, Director of Sales at JFK Inn, responded to this review, 22 May 2013
There are always round-the-clock Frontdesk Clerks and Room Attendants at this airport hotel. In over a decade under the current administration there has been no incidence of significant alarm at this hotel, unlike others in major cities.
Late in the previous year, after the Sandy storm, general maintenance was carried out in every room in the hotel, followed with regular inspections. It would have been so much more helpful for us, and our apprehensive guest, if these concerns were addressed to the Frontdesk clerk right then; at least a room change would have been in order or a total refund.
Thankfully, none of our guest’s ghastly expectations were realized. Except for the mold, if it did exist, there is nothing much we could do to allay an overactive imagination. After all, our hotel, like so many others in the area, is located in an airport area. But with room prices around $100 at that time, we still remain one of the most affordable two-star hotels in the area. Nevertheless, our apologies to this guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    38
    61
    64
    208
See reviews for
85
81
69
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Niagara Falls, New York
Level Contributor
56 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2013 via mobile

No words can describe this depressing and low end establishment. It is a bad dream a bête noir . Stay away , pay the extra bucks but don't stay here. Noise ,characters all over the place and filthy rooms.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jesse64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JFKInnCharles, Manager at JFK Inn, responded to this review, 26 March 2013
Attn. Mr. Jesse,
Thank you for the issues you raised in your review, for we address all of our guests’ opinions with due seriousness. As you are aware, our hotel, like so many of the others, is located in the airport area. It is not just any airport, but JFK International Airport- one of the world’s busiest airports. Obviously, there would be very high volume of traffic and business activities in the area. Circumstantially, noise is inevitable.
There is a nearby school bus parking lot surrounded by our hotel and some others such as, Holiday Inn Express, Days Inn, Best Western and Comfort Inn also. The moving of those vehicles between the hours of 6:30 am to 9:30 am had been a source of concern for our guests whose rooms’ location is opposite that parking lot. To circumvent that issue, we had expended over $60,000.00 to install thermal double-glazed Soundproof windows so that our guests are more at comfort.
We have round-the-clock cleaners at the hotel and we take faulty room cleanliness very seriously. In fact, we have supervised checks of rooms after cleaning to ensure proper standards. Nevertheless, when complains such as these arises, justifiable or not, we revise our strategies so that we operate more efficiently and effectively to our guests' satisfaction.
We encourage our guests to immediately raise concerns whenever they are dissatisfied with their service, or have any suggestions. If you are unable to contact the manager right then, please send an email to john@jfkinnnyc.com . We promise you we will take action.
Our Esteemed Guest.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Jamaica hotels

Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

It was the only available room near JFK. All thing in the room was worn out and seedy. NO bIanket was offered so I had to wrap myself with only 2 thin sheets in bed! The only thing I thanked them is their pick-up service.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank penguin25_25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TorontoYash, General Manager at JFK Inn, responded to this review, 4 February 2013
Feb 01. 2013
Sir/ Madam
Good DAY
Ref; Review posted on Jan 23. 2013
Please note all our rooms are very spacious Appox 275 sq feet. All our rooms have Serta beds with an extra top. All beds have Double bed sheets / Depending in the season then blanket / then bed spread along with two pillow case. One Extra blanket & One Extra pillow are kept in the dressers draws in case the guest needs. At the hotel Since December we have been replacing lot of room Amenities that include the linen / Bedding
Again New LCD 40” FLAT Screen TV/ New Serta beds/ New Thermo sound proof windows / High speed internet connection /New wall paper in most of the rooms /New Roof /New Carpet in half of the Hotel guest rooms otherwise washed the existing carpet in all rooms /Fixing the bath rooms where ever it is needed / painting the bath rooms
Please rest assure we are addressing your concern very seriously & are addressing those issues .We will continue spending money in renovations & Improvements
Once again we welcome your review
Thank you very much
John Sharma
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2013

We were booked into stay at the JFK Inn the night before we flew back to the UK four days after Hurricane Sandy. However that does not account for how awful this hotel was. Our room was down a corridor which housed the boiler and smelt of heating oil, the corridor was lined with between 15 and 20 tv's and various pieces of old furniture. Not particularly good as a fire exit. Our room was located next to a vehicle movement centre, can't say exactly what it was as the window was up high and not accessible. The carpet was stained, the wallpaper was coming off the wall. The room smelt of cheap air freshner, that was failing to cover up the smell of cigarette smoke The bathroom was clean. After sitting in the room for approximately 2 hours we decided not to stay and left to get what sleep we could at the airport! The courtesy bus was initially not running due to the lack of available fuel but were very helpful in getting us to the airport. I can appreciate that this was unusual circumstances for the hotel, but many of the issues were not due to difficulties with the Hurricane. I would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ShazK_20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TorontoYash, General Manager at JFK Inn, responded to this review, 2 February 2013
Hi Sir/ Madam
Please note at the time of Hurricane Sandy we at the Hotel did not have the power for two days. On the ground floor in certain part of the Hotel we have to use a portable Gas Fired Heater. Before the storm came we were in process of doing Renovations & Improvement at the hotel. We were not aware the weather was going to deteriorate that bad. Damage what hurricane caused we were not prepared
Please note now with all these Renovations & improvement all rooms at the Hotel has new LCD 40” Flat Screen TV / New thermo heat resistance & sound proof windows / new wall paper / New Carpet / New Beds. We have given ourselves a target at what level we want this Hotel to be.... We are spending lot of money in the guest room’s amenities such as linen /Pillows & many more. We are still behind our schedule. We are still making Improvements on daily basis. We will continue doing it until we are happy with results; Please note with all these new Renovations & improvement our hotel is now entirely at different level.


Once again we were the victim of Hurricane Sandy.

Regards ; John Sharma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
79 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2013

I booked this hotel on desperation, after my flight from Paris to JFK was delayed and I lost my connection to Kansas City.
Checking was fast and efficient, but that was the best of it. Walking up to find my room was a scary proposition, as the hoel seems to be in permanent renovation and the aisles are used as storage for the vacuum cleaners etc. the room was not particularly small or large, but lacked a closet and everything looked reeeeally cheap, overused and not particularly clean!!
The place sems to be catered by strange people as the remote comtrol was tied up by a cable to the wall!!!!!!
TV worked well adn the Wifi was actually quite fast (despite the front desk person saying that probably would not work in the room.)
Worst part is that my room (on the back of the building) seemed to be in front of a warehouse. 18 wheelers started coming in and trying to oark on the loading bays at 3:00 a.m. There was no way to sleep after that!!
Really not a hotel I would recommend to anyone to stating, unless the alternative is under a bridge.

FMR

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Smpletraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TorontoYash, General Manager at JFK Inn, responded to this review, 2 February 2013
Response to January 19TH Review ;

Hi Sir/ Madam ; Please note most of the Hotel in the Industry do the Renovation & Improvement in winter as this is considered as a low season or slow season We were also doing some renovation & Improvement at our property
(A) Installed new 40”LCD Flat screen TV in all the rooms this work has been completed in all 75 rooms
(B) Carpet washed in all the rooms this work has been completed
(C) Changed most the guest rooms windows to thermo/sound proof energy savings window this work has been completed
(D)Hotel is like a running ship in the sea. There is always room for Improvement.
While these renovations & improvements are happening at the Hotel we always try not to disturb the Peaceful Enjoyment of the Guest
Now as far as 18 wheeler trucks are concerned Our Hotel is very close to airlines passenger terminal means within two miles. Most of the other Hotels & ours Hotel We all are surrounded by these airlines cargo offices. We do not deny that there is no truck movement but that normally happens during day time. That is one of reason we have just installed the special thermo/sound proof energy savings window
Once again customer satisfaction is our prime goal. This particular guest when ever their future trip will be to New York area we will try to compensate them with a 10% discount on their stay as the inconvenience was caused due to renovations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Healdsburg, California
Level Contributor
181 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2013

DEspite a friendly shuttle driver and desk staff, we have found better (and cheaper) hotels near JFK. This hotel was full of insurance adjusters and displaced Sandy victims. Bathroom was so tiny, my husband had to go in sideways. Our groundfloor room felt like a basement --our view was of a storage facility, and we had to step on a chair to reach the microwave. NYC hotels are known for having small rooms, but this was downright cramped!! As my husband said, 'Not enough room to change your mind!

Room Tip: Just find a different place!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sfmaria101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TorontoYash, General Manager at JFK Inn, responded to this review, 18 January 2013
Jan 17th, 2013

Response to Review Jan 16th

Please note –
(A)Yes- We had people working for All State Insurance Company staying at the hotel
(B) Yes – We had the people working for National Grid staying at the hotel
(C) Yes – We had the people working for Telephone Company staying at the hotel
(D) Yes –It was sad we could not able to accept people who were victim of Sandy Storm Reason we did not have enough rooms
(E) Above all we are a transient hotel located ONE mile from the JFK Airport Passenger Terminal which means we have guest staying at the hotel from European countries / South America/ Asian subcontinent & Middle East countries

As far as rooms are concerned, we are the only hotel where the room’s size is 25 feet length & 12 feet width, which mean 300 sq feet .Please note Our com set or comparison is with Holiday Inn Express/ Best Western / Comfort Inn /Howard Johnson/ Sleep Inn & Days inn etc .

All our rooms are Non Smoking rooms. We have requested each & every guest while you are staying at the Hotel please do not smoke in the room

Please note we the only hotel where by you will find a ample car parking space, space we allow to use FREE while guest are staying at the hotel

All our items in the room are easily accessible staring from Flat Screen TV to Microwave & Fridge or all other Amentias in the room


Once again we are in hospitality business .We care for each & every guest . We value their opinion . With their suggestion we always try every day to make our Hotel a better place

Thank you for your input. We value it lot ; Regards John Sharma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durras North, Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2012 via mobile

Quick to respond to problems. Domestic staff and reception offer excellent service. A decided lack of management presence to resolve issues and follow up. I will never stay again. However if you want a good stopover close to JFK Airport then this an is economical place to go.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanja K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jamaica hotels
0.1 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Jamaica JFK Airport NYC
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Jamaica - Jfk Airport
0.6 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott New York JFK Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western JFK Airport Hotel
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express At JFK
0.2 mi away
Sleep Inn JFK Airport Rockaway Blvd
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JFK Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JFK Inn

Property: JFK Inn
Address: 15410 S Conduit Ave, Jamaica, NY 11434-4285
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Queens > Jamaica
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 30 Hotels in Jamaica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — JFK Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Hotel.de, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your JFK Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jfk Hotel Jamaica
JFK Inn Jamaica, New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing