We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ok but not great” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of JFK Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
JFK Inn
Ranked #28 of 31 Hotels in Jamaica
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Ok but not great”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2013

First of all.. my room was clean and tidy and customer service was excellent.. I had a few questions and they were very helpful!
Its very close to the airport so ok for a place to crash before/after a long flight.. but its noisy!! And not from planes either, you get used to that noise.. I'm talking about people slamming doors all night long, parties in rooms til 3am or if you get a room at the back then its school bus reversing alarms from 4am onwards.
Oh and I had maids knocking on my door at 6.30am wanting to clean my room even though I had a do not disturb sign displayed!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Happychickmichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JFKInnCharles, Director of Sales at JFK Inn, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
Firstly thank you for that critical evaluation in your review of the hotel in which you were being factual and not melodramatic as sometimes the case with disappointed guest who most likely had a disproportionately too high expectation.
Secondly, our apologies for the noise, especially of that from the school bus parking lot. It is not ours only, but a few other hotels border that parking lot which, because of the noise of moving vehicles between 5-6 am, has been a source of annoyance for guests. Our management team who is committed to better service and upgrade recently embarked on a floor by floor upgrade of the wall-to-wall windows with more sophisticated thermal and soundproof window so our guest can be more at comfort.
However, the noise because of slamming doors and ‘parties’ would have been immediately dealt with had our guest reported that matter to the 24-hrs Front Desk Clerks. Parties are strictly prohibited at our hotel. In fact, because of noise disturbance, we closed our onsite bar so our guest can be more at ease.
We thank this guest for this review and hope to make any future stay much more enjoyable, as it is our constant goal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    36
    59
    60
    199
See reviews for
78
78
67
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Natal, RN
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2013

Even though we had a great time visiting NYC and nothing could have ruined the fact that we saw each other first time after two months of long distance, the motel definitely tried everything to make it a little worse. The rooms were moldy and had a terrible view on a bus lot and a bunch of junk underneath the window. They do offer free shuttle buses to JFK, but when I went to pick someone up, it took me 4 calls and about 50 minutes of standing out in the freezing cold, before the bus finally showed up. Front desk was constantly apologizing, but the driver obviously had a BigMac before he thought he should pick us up, still had remains of the burger all over the seats. Free wifi offered means that if you sit in the 'lobby area' (a couch in front of the reception desk), you might get 2 bands out of 5, but won't be able to make Skype calls at all, especially from your room. Front desk was kind of helpful, but room maids accidentally grabbed some clothes left in the bed and dumped them into the laundry, we never got those back, they claimed to have lost it, but didn't seem to care about this matter at all. Breakfast included was bread, eggs and cereal, and I would've got over it, if it didn't cost me above 200$ for two nights, which is RIDICULOUS for the extremely poor service, the amount and quality of the 'food' and the negligence of the staff. So been there, done that, never again.

Room Tip: If you must choose this motel, get a room looking on the parking lot of the hotel and not the backya...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2Caes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Jamaica hotels

Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2013

Because of the late arrival of connecting flight, I took advantage hastily at this hotel. The cost was $ 100 per night. Wall of the room is thin, voice in the next room could hear a whole. Lighting of the room is also dim, equipment had timeworn. Breakfast was egg bread, coffee, cereal, boiled. There was a microwave, I was able to warm croissants. On the front side, there was always coffee, hot water, and tea pack. Even a little high, I recommend that you stay at other hotels.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MUMOMO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JFKInnCharles, Manager at JFK Inn, responded to this review, 16 May 2013
I appreciate the honesty of the review of this guest, who was not being overly dramatic. Although, if our guest had notify our 24-hr Frontdesk Staff of the concerns the stay would have been much more to satisfaction. The Frontdesk would have at least tried to relocate to a different room, especially because of the noise from next door guests. Unfortunately, some guests tend to be boisterous than others. It is not that the walls are thin or inadequately insulated, but the building was constructed under hotel specifications. In fact, we recently changed wall to wall windows to more modern double-wall, soundproof windows.
Every room in the hotel is facilitated with the following lighting fixtures: fixture on wall by computer desk, two fixtures on bed head wall, bedside reading lamp, and one standing lamp.
Also, we pride ourselves for being one of the most affordable, guest-convenient, amenity-laden two-star hotels operating in the area, as our guest mentioned, because that particular night others were selling rooms for over $130.We sympathize with our guest for the inconveniences endured, avoidable as they were.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cortlland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2013

This is the worst motel/hotel I've ever stayed in and was afraid to go to sleep with all the things creatures 2 legged and 4 legged lurking around. Stay in the terminal if you get delayed @ JFK. If i could give less than a one point rating I would. A homeless person would pass on this dump.All other places were booked with the furlough ait trafiic controller deal so this was a last resort. When I saw the place I said to myself is this by the night or by the hour. Never seen so much mold on one bathroom sealing in my life. Scary place..Was just waiting for someone to bust in the door rob me. Top it all of with over a $100.00 bill . Shouldn't even be able to adverstise at the airport on the hotel directory.

Room Tip: Drive by and don't even slow down
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank traveladvisor2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JFKInnCharles, Director of Sales at JFK Inn, responded to this review, 22 May 2013
There are always round-the-clock Frontdesk Clerks and Room Attendants at this airport hotel. In over a decade under the current administration there has been no incidence of significant alarm at this hotel, unlike others in major cities.
Late in the previous year, after the Sandy storm, general maintenance was carried out in every room in the hotel, followed with regular inspections. It would have been so much more helpful for us, and our apprehensive guest, if these concerns were addressed to the Frontdesk clerk right then; at least a room change would have been in order or a total refund.
Thankfully, none of our guest’s ghastly expectations were realized. Except for the mold, if it did exist, there is nothing much we could do to allay an overactive imagination. After all, our hotel, like so many others in the area, is located in an airport area. But with room prices around $100 at that time, we still remain one of the most affordable two-star hotels in the area. Nevertheless, our apologies to this guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niagara Falls, New York
Level Contributor
56 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2013 via mobile

No words can describe this depressing and low end establishment. It is a bad dream a bête noir . Stay away , pay the extra bucks but don't stay here. Noise ,characters all over the place and filthy rooms.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jesse64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JFKInnCharles, Manager at JFK Inn, responded to this review, 26 March 2013
Attn. Mr. Jesse,
Thank you for the issues you raised in your review, for we address all of our guests’ opinions with due seriousness. As you are aware, our hotel, like so many of the others, is located in the airport area. It is not just any airport, but JFK International Airport- one of the world’s busiest airports. Obviously, there would be very high volume of traffic and business activities in the area. Circumstantially, noise is inevitable.
There is a nearby school bus parking lot surrounded by our hotel and some others such as, Holiday Inn Express, Days Inn, Best Western and Comfort Inn also. The moving of those vehicles between the hours of 6:30 am to 9:30 am had been a source of concern for our guests whose rooms’ location is opposite that parking lot. To circumvent that issue, we had expended over $60,000.00 to install thermal double-glazed Soundproof windows so that our guests are more at comfort.
We have round-the-clock cleaners at the hotel and we take faulty room cleanliness very seriously. In fact, we have supervised checks of rooms after cleaning to ensure proper standards. Nevertheless, when complains such as these arises, justifiable or not, we revise our strategies so that we operate more efficiently and effectively to our guests' satisfaction.
We encourage our guests to immediately raise concerns whenever they are dissatisfied with their service, or have any suggestions. If you are unable to contact the manager right then, please send an email to john@jfkinnnyc.com . We promise you we will take action.
Our Esteemed Guest.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013

It was the only available room near JFK. All thing in the room was worn out and seedy. NO bIanket was offered so I had to wrap myself with only 2 thin sheets in bed! The only thing I thanked them is their pick-up service.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank penguin25_25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TorontoYash, General Manager at JFK Inn, responded to this review, 4 February 2013
Feb 01. 2013
Sir/ Madam
Good DAY
Ref; Review posted on Jan 23. 2013
Please note all our rooms are very spacious Appox 275 sq feet. All our rooms have Serta beds with an extra top. All beds have Double bed sheets / Depending in the season then blanket / then bed spread along with two pillow case. One Extra blanket & One Extra pillow are kept in the dressers draws in case the guest needs. At the hotel Since December we have been replacing lot of room Amenities that include the linen / Bedding
Again New LCD 40” FLAT Screen TV/ New Serta beds/ New Thermo sound proof windows / High speed internet connection /New wall paper in most of the rooms /New Roof /New Carpet in half of the Hotel guest rooms otherwise washed the existing carpet in all rooms /Fixing the bath rooms where ever it is needed / painting the bath rooms
Please rest assure we are addressing your concern very seriously & are addressing those issues .We will continue spending money in renovations & Improvements
Once again we welcome your review
Thank you very much
John Sharma
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2013

We were booked into stay at the JFK Inn the night before we flew back to the UK four days after Hurricane Sandy. However that does not account for how awful this hotel was. Our room was down a corridor which housed the boiler and smelt of heating oil, the corridor was lined with between 15 and 20 tv's and various pieces of old furniture. Not particularly good as a fire exit. Our room was located next to a vehicle movement centre, can't say exactly what it was as the window was up high and not accessible. The carpet was stained, the wallpaper was coming off the wall. The room smelt of cheap air freshner, that was failing to cover up the smell of cigarette smoke The bathroom was clean. After sitting in the room for approximately 2 hours we decided not to stay and left to get what sleep we could at the airport! The courtesy bus was initially not running due to the lack of available fuel but were very helpful in getting us to the airport. I can appreciate that this was unusual circumstances for the hotel, but many of the issues were not due to difficulties with the Hurricane. I would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ShazK_20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TorontoYash, General Manager at JFK Inn, responded to this review, 2 February 2013
Hi Sir/ Madam
Please note at the time of Hurricane Sandy we at the Hotel did not have the power for two days. On the ground floor in certain part of the Hotel we have to use a portable Gas Fired Heater. Before the storm came we were in process of doing Renovations & Improvement at the hotel. We were not aware the weather was going to deteriorate that bad. Damage what hurricane caused we were not prepared
Please note now with all these Renovations & improvement all rooms at the Hotel has new LCD 40” Flat Screen TV / New thermo heat resistance & sound proof windows / new wall paper / New Carpet / New Beds. We have given ourselves a target at what level we want this Hotel to be.... We are spending lot of money in the guest room’s amenities such as linen /Pillows & many more. We are still behind our schedule. We are still making Improvements on daily basis. We will continue doing it until we are happy with results; Please note with all these new Renovations & improvement our hotel is now entirely at different level.


Once again we were the victim of Hurricane Sandy.

Regards ; John Sharma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jamaica hotels
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Jamaica - Jfk Airport
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express At JFK
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn New York JFK Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Courtyard New York Jfk Airport
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN JFK Airport Hotel
0.1 mi away
Rodeway Inn near JFK Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JFK Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JFK Inn

Property: JFK Inn
Address: 15410 S Conduit Ave, Jamaica, NY 11434-4285
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Queens > Jamaica
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 31 Hotels in Jamaica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — JFK Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your JFK Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jfk Hotel Jamaica
JFK Inn Jamaica, New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing