We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Layover at JFK”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Radisson Hotel JFK Airport
Ranked #15 of 30 Hotels in Jamaica
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Weather cancelled flights created a very tense attitude in passengers and standing in line for an hour waiting for rebooking just added to the excitement.
The airline (Delta) booked me a room at the Radisson JFK and, after taking a train and a bus arrived.
The hotel is perfectly fine as an airport hotel. The room was clean and mostly quiet.
No noise from other hotel guests but the traffic noise, and occasional siren, weren't drowned out by the fan.
Cheryl, the bartender in the Lounge, was very pleasant and extremely helpful when this tired old traveler just wanted a drink and something to eat.

Room Tip: High, even numbers (XX22+) are farthest away from the highway and face oncoming traffic.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PA_Larry_Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savio M, Manager at Radisson Hotel JFK Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Greetings from the Radisson at JFK Airport

We are glad we could meet all your expectations during your recent stay and would like you to think of us as your home away from home when ever you are in the New York area.

manage Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,120)
There are newer reviews for Radisson Hotel JFK Airport
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

936 - 942 of 1,121 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2014

I stayed at this hotel since my flight out of JFK was canceled. The hotel was extremely clean and the staff was very friendly and helpful. A number of passengers and airline staff had to be put up at the hotel due to weather so naturally everyone wanted to leave around the same time the next morning. The hotel put extra shuttles into service to get everyone to the airport on time. My flight was later in the day so I wasn't in big rush like most of the other so the hotel staff comp'd my lunch. The front desk staff at check out and check in were great - special thanks to Farah, Richard and Arti.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tim N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savio M, Manager at Radisson Hotel JFK Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Valued Guest

We are glad you had a pleasant stay on your short stop here at the Radisson Hotel JFK airport. The front desk staff that you compliment in the review will get a pat on their backs for the "Yes I can" attitude that the Radisson brand is known for. We look forward to hosting you again in better circumstances.

Manager Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

I was traveling from Brussels, Belgium back to the Pacific Northwest band due to airline delays I missed my connecting flight in New York. Delta set me up with a room at the Radisson for the evening.
The front desk was very helpful and friendly especially Farah and Aarti. The breakfast was very good with plenty of options. The price was a bit high at more than $15.00.
The Radisson provided shuttle service to and from the airport which after a long day of travel was appreciated very much.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Daddad44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savio M, Manager at Radisson Hotel JFK Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review our property after your recent stay. We will make sure the front desk team get the kudos they rightly deserve. We hope to serve you again in better circumstances.

Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Similar to a previous hotel guest, I had some major problems at this Radisson. First, the hotel shuttle didn't come and I had to freeze outside in the cold. Then, the hotel shuttle broke down in the middle of a bridge with traffic coming on both sides. We sat there for about 20 minutes with a baby on board. Finally, another shuttle came and we had to change shuttles on the traffic lanes in the dark. I don't even want to mention the dangers involved of walking on icy roads in the middle of a dark night with cars coming on both sides... At the hotel, no-one said "sorry", it was just hushed up. No appology, it was only stated "yes, we know...". The dinner was $35. Even though it was paid by the airline and it was a nice buffet, it was never worth $35!!! Cheap all-you-can-eat restaurants are beter than what we were served. There are no other restaurant options in the area. As I had an early morning flight, I dared to buy two muffins. Instead of charging me $8, I was charged $80 and $50 - total $135! I NEVER gave Radisson permission to make these credit card charges. What I experienced was far below standarts (even for a JFK hotel) and I have no desire to stay at this hotel again. I don't recommend this hotel to anybody.

Room Tip: Don't buy any food from this hotel !!!
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LukiLukeGO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savio M, Manager at Radisson Hotel JFK Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Dear Guest

This has been one of the most severe winters that the North East has seen in the past few years and has taken a toll on both the roads and vehicles. We are sorry and apologize for the situation that stormy night and will have that addressed with the staff. As for the over charge was this human error corrected before you did leave the property.

At the Radisson Hotel JFK Airport we try our best to resolve every guest issue before the guest has even left our doors but if this was not the case we would appreciate if you could reach out to our accounting team who would be glad to help.

Manager Front Office Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

I was staying at the Radisson on 1/26/14 after my flight was cancelled so I was stuck in NY. My wake up call was 15 minutes earlier than I asked which was not a huge deal (there are bigger upsets in this world). However, what I was upset about was when I went downstairs I was waiting for a cab which was late. In order to kill some time I asked the front desk if they served a continental breakfast. The young man said yes they did and to go right in. There was no one at the entrance of the food area so I waited a bit then decided to just take a seat. I had a glass of orange juice and some toast and then went out to check on my cab. As i was leaving a woman asked me "where I thought I was going" and that I needed to pay before I left. I tried to explain to her that the young man gave me the impression that the breakfast was included. She said that I "needed to wait right there" while she called the front desk. She said that some girl "never told me that" so obviously I must be a liar. I was extremely offended as I told her that it was not a woman and a gentleman that told me this and she said that it didn't matter what he said and that "I needed to pay." I asked to speak to a manager where she claimed that she was a manager. So i went to the front desk where a young lady was who was very polite (and i apologize for me being upset) told me that the guy that told me this was new and that she was very sorry. My issue is I have been a waiter for 11 years. If i EVER treated anyone that way I would have been immediately reprimanded. I tried my best to explain my situation and that the hotel told me it was included. I should not have been treated like I was a thief or trying to pull one over on them, nor should I have been charged when the hotel told me it was included. Not to mention, where was she the whole time I waited to be seated??? When I asked her this she had no answer for me. So although the Radisson got their 11 dollars from me for watered down OJ and a couple of sausage links (and that's all i initially ate) I will make sure to spread the word about her lack of customer service to ensure that she doesn't CHEAT anyone else.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savio M, Manager at Radisson Hotel JFK Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2014

Valued guest

On the human front I would like to first apologize for the situation. Apart from just offering you the $11 refund the Director of Food & Beverage is making sure we address this issue in all internal stand up meetings. The front office manager is making sure new hires are aware of the amenities that guest receive.

Can I request that you contact us so that we can resolve this issue and put it in the past with a re-assurance that it will not be repeated.

Manager Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

I had the opportunity last week to stay at this hotel and unfortunately it was not what I thought, the staff was not very corteous, with the low temperatures I arrived at JFK and the driver saw me arrive, I call the hotel regarding the shuttle and I asked the operator to await for me and the driver saw me and left me there with that cold (-8 c) almost freezing myself I had to wait for almost 30 more minutes of snow for the driver. Not recommended at all.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alfredo Jose G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savio M, Manager at Radisson Hotel JFK Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Valued Guest

As a frequent traveler and one who has 114 K in travel miles we know that we failed on this visit of yours. We are in an industry where courtesy has to come without training; so we want to reach out to you and all our patrons to reassure you that we take these reviews seriously. Corrective measures will be put in place especially for areas of concern that you mention.

We want every guest experience to be one that will make them a repeat customer and want you to give us another chance to redeem ourselves.

Manager Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Flight delay.
Flight cancellation,then postponement at JFK
High cost in and out of city. For an 16 hour turn around
The next best thing, a warm comfortable place to stay with 3 great meals and a staff that jumped to it at a short moments notice when inundated with 250-300 suddenly arriving guests.
Not much more to say other than the ambience provided a nice prelude to meeting many of those that we were about to spend a vacation with on a group tour.
And, it was freezing cold outside .

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elliott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savio M, Manager at Radisson Hotel JFK Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your recent review- Like you mention the team at the Radisson Hotel JFK Airport strives hard to make every event here a pleasant one. We have hands on crew who manage large airline layover groups of 150+ people at the desk as well as our restaurant outlets.

Manager Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jamaica hotels
0.2 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott New York JFK Airport
0.1 mi away
Hilton New York JFK
Hilton New York JFK
#9 of 30 in Jamaica
1,753 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Queens / JFK Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sheraton JFK Airport Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn NY - JFK
Hampton Inn NY - JFK
#2 of 30 in Jamaica
1,744 reviews
0.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza JFK Airport New York City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Hotel JFK Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Hotel JFK Airport

Address: 13530 140th St, Jamaica, NY 11436-2137
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Queens > Jamaica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 30 Hotels in Jamaica
Price Range: £120 - £208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Radisson Hotel JFK Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 385
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Radisson Hotel JFK, one of the areas finest full service airport hotel. 385 Guest rooms and suites with Connections restaurant and lounge, state of the art fitness center, functions for up to 500 and complimentary 24 hour airport transportation. Seconds to JFK terminals and minutes to Manhattan, Citi Field, Arthur Ash Tennis, Coney Island, Jones Beach and Brooklyn Cruise terminals. Before checking in, check out the Radisson Hotel at JFK Airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Radisson Hotel JFK Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree New York City
Jamaica Doubletree
Radisson Hotel JFK Airport Jamaica, New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing