We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Difficult to rate hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Holiday Inn New York JFK Airport Area
Ranked #12 of 30 Hotels in Jamaica
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Difficult to rate hotel”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

If we were doing an overnight at JFK we would return to this hotel.
The area around the hotel is not one which you need to visit. There is a breaker's yard next to the hotel and the walk to shops and restaurants described on the website requires negotiating a pavement covered in four to five feet high weeds. The restaurants are a Popeye, a Burger King and IHOP and an Applebees.
It is possible to use this hotel as a base, but it isn't a question of taking the shuttle into the airport and then getting onto the train into Manhatten. You first have to use the Airtrain and that cost $5 per person per journey. The Metro season ticket is cheap and good value, but is less so when, for a couple, you add on $20 per day for the Skytrain. There are also two Jamaica stations, neither is in a particularly desirable area and only one has the Skytrain.
You do not need to phone the hotel about the shuttle as it will eventually turn up at the Federal Circle.
The prices in the hotel restaurant are not exhorbitant for New York and the portions of what we ate were good. The bar prices were also pretty standard for New York and they do have local a local microbrew.
All the staff we engaged with were friendly and efficient.
The room was spotless.
There are no room safes at all despite what it says in the hotel guide. The security boxes behind the reception desk are very narrow and rather shallow.
The pricing for JFK/New York is good.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank GC22014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louis G, General Manager at Holiday Inn New York JFK Airport Area, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
We would like to thank you for allowing us an opportunity to provide you with your lodging needs while you were in New York City.

We would also like to thank you for providing us with some feedback about your recent stay.

I was happy to hear that you were ale to take advantage of one of the many options to get into Midtown Manhattan.

Louis Gonzalez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    144
    90
    29
    26
See reviews for
73
112
45
75
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Shuttle picks you up at Federal Circle, quick check-in process, nice clean rooms. Not sure if Restaurant/Bar is part of Hotel ownership or separate, but pass if you can. Foods not bad, but room is cold & service is horrible. We left early to get breakfast at airport rather than at hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ricardo d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louis G, General Manager at Holiday Inn New York JFK Airport Area, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
We would like to thank you for allowing us an opportunity to provide you with your lodging needs while you were in New York City.

We would also like to thank you for providing us with some feedback about your recent stay.

was sorry to hear that we could not meet your expectations in the restaurant. I will share your comments with our Food and Beverage Team so that they can make corrections to ensure you will not experience this again on a future visit.

Louis Gonzalez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Makati, Philippines
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Taxi drivers hard to locate this place because of poor gps locator
It's like you go to other side of hotel
Great shuttle drivers but you need more shuttle and proper planning for customers specially u have lots of clients going to the city or airtrain transpot
One day there were 20 big luggages for 5 clients check out and no shuttle enough to accommodate everyone
Great bed and clean
More water bottle, better complimentary bottle in room
Ok front desk
Edward,Natasha are great, front desk...very patient
Maggie was ok
Mr. Louis is great
Good and affordable place to stay
What is with the breakfast dining people? They are grumpy and Unclean tables.
Better breakfast selection

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank 17Dubhe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louis G, General Manager at Holiday Inn New York JFK Airport Area, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
On behalf of all Employees of the Holiday Inn Hotel at JFK Airport, I would like to thank you for choosing our hotel during your visit in New York City. We realize there are many hotels to choose from and appreciate that you chose to stay with us. We would also like to thank you for taking the time to give us some feedback about your stay. We will use your feedback to help us improve the levels of service we provide all our guest in the future.

Because we are a new building, some GPS devices are not able to locate our address yet.

I will share your comments with Margie, Natasha, Edward and the Dining Room Staff.

Thank you again and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Louis Gonzalez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danville, California, United States
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

Near JFK, hotel provides 24 hours complimentary shuttle. Just stayed here one night to catch a flight in the morning. I don't believe, there is much to do around the area. Manhattan is around 18-20 miles. The cheapest way to get to Manhattan is to go to the airport taking the hotel shuttle. Take Air-Train to Jamaica, and from there subway E train to NYC.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Shujaul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louis G, General Manager at Holiday Inn New York JFK Airport Area, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your positive feedback regarding your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Hotel JFK Airport. We are so glad to hear your stay was enjoyable and you found the staff friendly and helpful. I hope a had the chance to enjoy the City during your visit.

Louis Gonzalez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

Pleasant night staff, dealt very well with many tired and cranky guests whose flights were cancelled. Up to date property, beds slept great, not noisy at all, very pleasant stay. The waitress in the restaurant ran her butt off, she was so busy but still got the job done. Free shuttle between hotel and jfk. The staff was great to call us a taxi at 4am for our new flight out of lga.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank LCath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louis G, General Manager at Holiday Inn New York JFK Airport Area, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
We would like to thank you for allowing us an opportunity to provide you with your lodging needs while you were in New York City.

I will share your kinds words with our Staff. I'm glad we were able to get you to LaGuardia for your continued travels.

Louis Gonzalez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salinas
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

My sister and I are born and bred New Yorkers but have moved to other states and decided to go visit. The house where we were raised was sold last year. Although we have family there, we decided to stay in a hotel instead. This hotel was not too far from JFK airport and has a free shuttle to & from the hotel. This location has been open for about a year and it still smells new. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was a decent size and even though it's close to the airport, was very quiet. I would definitely stay there again. There is a restaurant / bar at the hotel although there is no continental breakfast. The food was good but the service was slow because they did not have enough servers. Overall, good place to stay, It's not close to any attractions and you'd either need to take the shuttle, cab it, or rent a car (not advisable unless you know where you're going!)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dahlia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louis G, General Manager at Holiday Inn New York JFK Airport Area, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Thank you for sharing your valued feedback. I was sorry to hear of your unexpected flight cancellation, but was happy to hear we made it a bit better for you.

We hope to see you again in the future.

Louis Gonzalez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

I had a bumped flight at JFK . American put me up at this hotel. I was very tired and a little cranky . The front desk gentlemen was very friendly and helpful. Wish I remembered his name. Found room clean and comfortable. The only thing I have to say bad is when I entered there was a bit of a mildew smell to room, but subsided after air was turned on.

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank VegasCraig777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louis G, General Manager at Holiday Inn New York JFK Airport Area, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Thank you for sharing your valued feedback. We will use your feedback to help us improve the levels of service you have come to expect for your future visits to our hotel.

Louis Gonzalez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jamaica hotels
3.3 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott New York JFK Airport
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express At JFK
3.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Queens / JFK Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Best Western JFK Airport Hotel
3.8 mi away
Sheraton JFK Airport Hotel
3.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza JFK Airport New York City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn New York JFK Airport Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn New York JFK Airport Area

Property: Holiday Inn New York JFK Airport Area
Address: 154-71 Brookville Boulevard Rosedal, Jamaica, NY 11422
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Queens > Jamaica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 30 Hotels in Jamaica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn New York JFK Airport Area 3*
Number of rooms: 201
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, Ctrip TA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn New York JFK Airport Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn New York JFK Airport Area Jamaica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing