We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to rest”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza JFK Airport New York City
Ranked #5 of 30 Hotels in Jamaica
Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed for the night and were impressed with the service and staff. Food was yummy and staff were friendly and polite. Room was clean and had lots of lovely spa toiletries that were complimentary. Bed was excellent with lovely pillows (and I'm fussy with pillows).
Highly recommend for an overnighter near the airport. Would come again in a heartbeat.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Tazzyrambo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrowneJFK, General Manager at Crowne Plaza JFK Airport New York City, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Thank you for the wonderful comments regarding your stay at our hotel. I will share with the team. I'm glad you had the opportunity to use the sleepless advantage bath amenities and also to taste the food in the restaurant. We constantly train our staff to make a difference in the guest experience and empower them to make decisions. Please let me know if I could assist in any way regarding future travels to our hotel. You may contact me at agm@cpjfkairport.com.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (739)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

567 - 573 of 739 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2014

We arrived at JFK airport at 2:00 am because our flight was delayed. We saw many hotel shuttle buses, but I did not see Crowne Plaza's bus. After waiting for 20 minutes I finally called the hotel to ask for a shuttle. The lobby was quite small, and the check-in staff was...odd. Our room rate did not include breakfast so I asked him how much a breakfast is. He said "about 18 dollars". I said "What do you mean by about? Is the breakfast buffet or not?" He responded "I'm not sure..." Really odd. The room is modern and well appointed and features two comfortable queen beds. I find the complimentary bottled water quite useful. The bathroom is a little small, though. When we checked out the other day, we requested a taxicab to Manhattan. The hotel staff told me it would be 55 dollars, but the driver wanted to charge me 63 dollars. However, eventually the drive agreed on paying 55 dollars. The overall experience is great, but my suggestion is that if your flight arrives at JFK later then midnight, you are better off booking a cheaper hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michael35432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrowneJFK, General Manager at Crowne Plaza JFK Airport New York City, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience with us regarding your stay. I apologize for the staff not providing clear accurate responses to your questions. Our restaurant provides breakfast buffet as well as menu options. The breakfast buffet is $18.00 inclusive. We have reservation packages which include breakfast if you are interested for future travels. The packages are based on availability. We do have 2 shuttles running during the overnight, since we provide complimentary 24hr service. When you arrive to Federal Circle and the shuttle is not waiting for guests, then you must give us a call for a pick up. Our shuttles could be in route to terminals with guests or possibly left Federal Circle with guests in route to hotel. Again, I apologize for the inconveniences and please feel free to contact me if you require assistance in future travels. You may contact me at agm@cpjfkairport.com.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Where to start? Hmmmm. We arrived late into JFK to go back out early AM. So we didn't have much bum scratching time. The 2-bedroom family room I booked online didn't exist. Apparently it is a glitch in the IHG booking system that they know about, but couldn't be bothered to tell us about until we arrived at the desk at 10PM with 3 small children. It gets better. They had no other adjoining rooms, so we either had to split into two family groups or all sleep in one small room. Wait, there's more. They spent 45 minutes working this out. So now its 1045PM with 3 small children. Oh yes, and when we got on the bus at 5AM to go back to the airport, it turned out that two other families of five had booked the same non-existent room, and all had to split up, because no adjoining rooms. So bad, I couldn't even make this up.

Front desk staff about as much use as a custard watch. One guy behind us in the queue insisted that the manager be brought back to the hotel from wherever he was hanging out. Good luck with that. Are you still waiting?

I assume that IHG don't care about the reviews because of the vague monopoly effect around JFK. I spoke with a number of aircrew waiting in the foyer to check in, or out, or just die of sheer incompetence, and they said they hate staying there, but the airline insists.

Apart from that, it was OK.

Room Tip: Don't stay there. Or take a huge dose of Zoloft.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank GrumpyOldTroll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrowneJFK, General Manager at Crowne Plaza JFK Airport New York City, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Thank you for sharing your comments with us. I apologize for the inconvenience caused to you. Unfortunately, the two room suite was not available and I'm hoping the front desk did offer service compensation for the inconvenience. I understand how splitting up a family would not be convenient and in some cases not an option. Please contact me at agm@cpjfkairport.com, so I may look up your reservation and retrieve more details. Again, my apologies on behalf of the hotel staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

My wife stay at the Crown Plaza JFK for two nights for a friends wedding in Queens. I've had bad experiences with Crown Plaza in the past so I was not happy when I found out they were blocking off rooms at this hotel. Our experience this time was a good one, very clean, upgraded rooms, and very attentive staff. When we checked in our air conditioning
was not working well and someone came to the room within 5 min to fix it. The value was great, it was over $50 a night cheaper than the three hotels that are next door to it. Overall it was a great experience and we would def stay their again.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wagner15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrowneJFK, General Manager at Crowne Plaza JFK Airport New York City, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. I'm glad your stay was a positive experience compare to other hotels in the past. We are a new modern hotel and new kid on the block, so we want to make sure our guests remember us when travelling in the NYC area. We try to always inspect the devices in the guest rooms before updating the status as "ready" for our guests. I apologize for the air conditioner not working when you checked into the room. Hope you had a amazing time at the wedding and again thank you for sharing your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

I am a Platinum Ambassador with the IHG and I stay in many hotels throughout the World; for me this is the worst hotel I have ever had the misfortune to stay in.

This is definitely a hotel to avoid at all costs.

Despite leaving a Do Not Disturb sign the cleaners knocked on my door and tried to enter my room 3 times.

The standard response to any complaints is to offer a free US News paper!

Room Tip: If you are forced to stay in this hotel avoid the 100 series rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Leggy92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrowneJFK, General Manager at Crowne Plaza JFK Airport New York City, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. I apologize for the inconveniences caused to you. We always try our best to accommodate our IHG members on the upper floors, but unfortunately sometimes due to occupancy we might only have the low floor guest rooms available. If possible I would like to get your information, so I may look up what day and time your reservation was booked. It is possible that the hotel was at high occupancy during your booking if same day reservation confirmation. Some of the rooms on the first floor are slight smaller, but still offer same amenities as the other rooms, which include a refrigerator, iron, ironing board, coffee maker, etc. I will also rely the comments concerning housekeeping. The staff members are definitely not supposed to knock on the guest doors with a Do Not Disturb sign. I will make sure we advise all housekeeping staff again during the next few morning meetings. Please contact me agm@cpjfkairport.com so I could look up your reservation and hopefully offer you something to show we are sorry for the mistake. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

I have to start by saying that this hotel is most likely now my hotel of choice in the area. I don't particularly think any of the hotels in the area are as good as other airport properties in the USA but this is a nice hotel. Fresh, renovated, clean and excellent staff. Again I find myself in a situation where the friendliness of the staff and their can do attitude really made a lasting impression and is behind this review. They were all ready to help with a smile on their face. My only complaint about the hotel is noise. Not the jets and traffic nearby, but rather the housekeepers who were cleaning the room next door to mine, at 3am. Two in the hallway talking, one in the room working, a security guard standing in the hall chatting, the noise they were creating wasn't necessary and I think rather inconsiderate. I will definitely go back but make sure I pack some pyjamas so that I can walk out into the hallway and join the conversation.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank airlinesimulation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrowneJFK, General Manager at Crowne Plaza JFK Airport New York City, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Thank you for sharing your comments with us regarding your stay. I'm glad we have become your #1 hotel choice in this area and hope you stay on your top list. We work hard to welcome our guests and make everyone feel special. Unfortunately, my housekeeping team and security will need a reminder to be extra attentive and quiet when on the guest floors. I apologize for the disturbance and ensure you I will rely the message to the team. If possible, I would like to retrieve more information regarding your reservation. Could you please email me, so I may look up your reservation. My email address is agm@cpjfkairport.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

I booked this hotel and had to cancel my reservation one day before because of illness. The rate was non-refundable nor non-exchangeable and I knew this at booking time. But after a few days, and without asking anything, I got a refund. This is what I call customer service. Unfortunately I can't review other aspects of this hotel, but I think this shows the hotel cares about its customers, and this is a good thing and needs to be shared.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Service
Thank french_carioca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrowneJFK, General Manager at Crowne Plaza JFK Airport New York City, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Thank you for sharing the comments with us. We appreciate the guests comments and definitely love to share with the team. When we are able to resell the reservation and happy to waive cancellation fees. We understand situations that occurred to the guests regarding illness, family emergencies, flight cancellations, etc. Please keep us in mind for future travels and we will assist with reservations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jamaica hotels
0.3 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott New York JFK Airport
0.2 mi away
Hilton New York JFK
Hilton New York JFK
#8 of 30 in Jamaica
1,829 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn NY - JFK
Hampton Inn NY - JFK
#2 of 30 in Jamaica
1,790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Queens / JFK Airport
0.4 mi away
Sheraton JFK Airport Hotel
1 mi away
Fairfield Inn New York JFK Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza JFK Airport New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza JFK Airport New York City

Address: 13810 135th Ave, Jamaica, NY 11436-2102
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Queens > Jamaica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 30 Hotels in Jamaica
Price Range: £127 - £208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza JFK Airport New York City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 330
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza JFK Airport New York City offers 330 rooms and suites as well as a host of onsite guest amenities. Stay with us when traveling through JFK. New NYC Hotel Near John F Kennedy International Airport Your top choice in a JFK Airport hotel is also closest to the terminal: Crowne Plaza JFK Airport New York City, is a full-service business and leisure hotel for business travelers, overnight guests, on-the-go honeymooners, and more. The 330 rooms and suites at Crowne Plaza JFK feature king and queen beds, Temple Spa bath amenities, free wired and wireless Internet, in-room coffee, safes, and refrigerators, an ample HDTV channel selection, and room service. Dine at our onsite Idlewild Restaurant, or eat quickly at our JET lobby market. Work off your stress in the 24/7 fitness center which features a Zen and yoga room and full range of lifting and aerobic equipment. Business travelers will enjoy the 24-hour business center and onsite Crowne Meeting Director, making productive work days both simple and relaxing. Plan efficient meetings and conferences with our team of experts, and choose from 10 flexible function space options. Make your reservations today to ensure seamless JFK Airport travel. Take advantage of the free JFK Airport shuttle, ensuring you get to and from your flight as seamlessly as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Agoda, Southall Travel, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza JFK Airport New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza JFK Airport New York City Jamaica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing