We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hmmmm... Convenient yet.... Not Wyndham Quality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Howard Johnson Jamaica NY Near Airtrain JFK
Ranked #17 of 31 Hotels in Jamaica
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Hmmmm... Convenient yet.... Not Wyndham Quality”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

The location is very convenient, 2 blocks away from Jamaica Station. $5.00 AirTrain ride from JFK. $2.50 Metro Ticket to Manhattan.

Cons.... There was garbage all the way to the hotel. At the entrance, there were bags (yes bags) of garbage in front if hotel.

They definitely conserve energy, the rooms were like saunas when you checked in. AC unit worked well, as soon as YOU turn it on. Breakfast was good, again the area was very humid.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sanderie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    139
    118
    41
    45
See reviews for
118
115
70
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

We were going to stay 2 nights, but cut our visit short because there was no parking. We had to park on the street, and didn't feel comfortable doing that. The room was very nice, close to the subway. The girl at the front desk was very sweet and helpful. We didn't eat the breakfast, so I can't comment on that. We didn't experience the noise issues others have complained about.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank judyeclark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorton, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

When I arrived in NYC I chose this hotel because this location is good and it was easy to get it by airtrain only for few minutes after JFK airport. Moreover, this was very good and comfortable hotel with cozy and clean room, good WiFi in the room and computer service on the first floor. Near the hotel are many shops and cafe, the neighborhood is safe.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Yevgeniy2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Biskra, Algeria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

It was December, I had planned a trip to New York with my family and I had no idea about the place where I could land. Fortunately, there is a Hotel that call "Howard Johnson Inn Queens JFK AirTrain." It was a perfect week for us, the location is ideal to move to New York. The quality of service is excelente, the staff are extraordinary kindness. If it is again, I go back without thinking.
Excelent hotel, very competent staff, strategic place to visit New York and also very convenient to take the shuttle to JFK Airport.
Do not hesitate to book this hotel.
Djamel Belamri.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Djamel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamaica, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

The hotel is perfect midpoint between JFK and Manhattan.
The rooms are nice and clean and the staff very good.
The time to Manhattan by LIRR is 20 minutes to Penn station but the prices are way below the Manhattan hotels.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunil1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
483 reviews
158 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

Had booked some decent to luxury accommodation in NYC but a sudden need to arrive one day earlier brought me to this hotel for an additional night. I thought I could stay at JFK after a long flight from Beijing so I chose this one, as it is grouped by bookins.com as an airport hotel but this is misleading as is the name "Near Airtrain". After waiting for the shuttle bus I learn that it is not near JFK and I had to make my own way. The location in a inconvenient corner of a rundown neighborhood where connection to town maybe worse than from JFK. I had hope for an early check-in but no good: the reception said housekeeping staff started at 11am to clean room first, but I noticed next day that someone already started at 9am. The room is adequate though everything not really working until I summoned help. The choice completely defied my purpose though I am glad that I stayed only one night. The good things are a big TV and free internet, in-room tea and breakfast (self-served paper plate nothingness, though better than nothing). I am most unhappy that I was misled to believe that this is a JFK hotel with shuttle etc. If you think it should be very cheap you are wring. I paid some $150 enough for a night at a Radisson or Crowne Plaza at JFK proper......I agree completely with one other reviewer and can't understand why it is highly rated......

Room Tip: All rooms are similar
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank awhw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Jamaica hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jamaica hotels
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Jamaica Inn
BEST WESTERN Jamaica Inn
#10 of 31 in Jamaica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
2.7 mi away
Days Inn Jamaica - Jfk Airport
0.5 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Jamaica JFK Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN JFK Airport Hotel
2.4 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott New York JFK Airport
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn NY - JFK
Hampton Inn NY - JFK
#2 of 31 in Jamaica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Jamaica NY Near Airtrain JFK? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Jamaica NY Near Airtrain JFK

Property: Howard Johnson Jamaica NY Near Airtrain JFK
Address: 13909 Archer Ave, Jamaica, NY 11435-4304
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Queens > Jamaica
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 31 Hotels in Jamaica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Jamaica NY Near Airtrain JFK 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly opened, 100% non-smoking hotel just minutes from two major airports JFK & LGA; Citi Field & Arthur Ashe Stadiums; Two block, five minutes walk from AirTrain, LIRR & Subway E, J & Z; 30 minutes train ride to Big Apple's world class attractions including Times Square, Empire State Building, Madison Square Garden, Rockefeller Center, Broadway Theatre District, Central Park and many more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Jamaica NY Near Airtrain JFK reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Jamaica NY Near Airtrain JFK New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing