We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Howard Johnson Jamaica NY Near Airtrain JFK
Ranked #18 of 30 Hotels in Jamaica
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good”
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

The rooms were very nice, we parked on the street, admittedly the area isn't much to look at but there was no trouble. The subway is right next to it which is ideal. The staff at the front desk were very slow but pleasant enough.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hayleyiraina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    140
    120
    46
    46
See reviews for
122
117
72
67
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Surat, India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 7 August 2014

The hotel has very convenient location from jfk air port as well as all train connection. we stayed here for few days and it was a nice experience. all the staff was very friendly and room was very clean and with free wi-fi. Tanks for free wi-fi. we had good break fast in morning.me and my family enjoyed our stay over there.

Room Tip: all rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank umang n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleming Island, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

The hotel was conveniently located. We walked to the E train and rode to the city - Times Square. Conveniently located to Jamaica Av for great shopping! I initially thought parking would be an issue however we had no problem finding parking and we stayed several nights using the car quite frequently when visiting family in the area. Found street parking directly around the corner every time. Outside street not pretty at all and may be intimidating but again we had no issues even at night. The staff was great we left iPad and laptop in the room without a safe and had no issues (although I would NOT suggest that you do that). The only issues were DIRTY TOWELS!! The towels were not clean and had stains. We just simply did not use them and called for clean towels several times. Also the room smelled of a wet dirty rag. You may want to bring an air fresher or SCENTSY :) Be sure to check the towels before using them. Otherwise an OK place to stay. It's near a LIRR (Long Island railroad) station and could see it from our window, HOWEVER we did not hear the train AT ALL!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank fl-cupcakes-
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Due to my flight being cancelled, I unexpectedly had to find a hotel for the night near JFK. I was pleasantly surprised by the very nice accommodations at this Howard Johnson. The staff was very friendly and the room was clean. And, thank you for the free Wi-Fi.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank paishonowitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
294 reviews
283 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Booked via Wyndham for 89$. The hotel is accessible via Airtran , a few minutes walk from there, no shuttle service.

Arrived in the wee hours of the morning and check in was quick and friendly.

The room was decent sized, with 2 double beds, LCD TV with plenty of channels, clean bathroom, free WiFi, decent view of trains. No noise from the trains either.

The breakfast was quite good, with waffles, egg and sausage patties, pastries, fruits. There is a small gym with a few cardio equipment.

This hotel is fairly new and modern, clean, right on the subway line so quick access to NYC. Great option for that city.

Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Lubiere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jamaica hotels
0.6 mi away
Best Western Jamaica Inn
2.7 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Jamaica JFK Airport NYC
2.4 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott New York JFK Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Best Western JFK Airport Hotel
2.7 mi away
Days Inn Jamaica - Jfk Airport
2.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Queens / JFK Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Jamaica NY Near Airtrain JFK? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Jamaica NY Near Airtrain JFK

Property: Howard Johnson Jamaica NY Near Airtrain JFK
Address: 13909 Archer Ave, Jamaica, NY 11435-4304
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Queens > Jamaica
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 30 Hotels in Jamaica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Jamaica NY Near Airtrain JFK 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly opened, 100% non-smoking hotel just minutes from two major airports JFK & LGA; Citi Field & Arthur Ashe Stadiums; Two block, five minutes walk from AirTrain, LIRR & Subway E, J & Z; 30 minutes train ride to Big Apple's world class attractions including Times Square, Empire State Building, Madison Square Garden, Rockefeller Center, Broadway Theatre District, Central Park and many more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Howard Johnson Jamaica NY Near Airtrain JFK reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Jamaica NY Near Airtrain JFK New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing