We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great location, if you're up for a backache.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Duncan Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Duncan Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Jamesport
Certificate of Excellence
los angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great location, if you're up for a backache.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2010

the room was no better than a motel 6. it was 40 degrees inside when we arrived at 7pm. i guess they don't heat or AC the rooms in advance of arrival to save money. the heater was an air conditioner/heater wall unit...noisy and constantly blowing hot air across the room. the bed was horrible and i woke with a backache (which i rarely experience). overpriced at $80/night. i guess we were paying for the location and nice-looking exterior, cause the rooms are about as bare-bones as they come.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tangobanjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    35
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
22
45
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
MA
Level Contributor
112 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2009

Stayed for two nights at the Country Inn. Was initially given a key to the non-kitchenette room but had booked a room with the kitchenette. No issues, we just switched rooms but I am glad I saw the first room. They are definitely small, especially the bathroom so for the little extra money it is worth getting the room with the kitchenette. The hotel is on a main route so it is very convenient. I was impressed by the cleanliness. The lot was well maintained and our unit very clean. I found it cleaner than some hotels I have stayed at that cost twice as much. The place seemed full with a mix of couples and families and noise wasn't an issue, it was quiet considering the location. I would have no problem recommending this Motel.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cimicats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
11758
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2008

stayed at a queen size room no kitchen. Room were very clean,but small. Bathroom was clean updated and again small.Needs a table in the rooms and another chair,so two people can relax and have a snack or drink and sit on something beside the bed. Overall worth the price , was treated nicely by the owner. One last thing needs more towels

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank lwl53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2008

The room (least expensive) was small but clean. Everywhere you walked the floor creaked - very strange. It is obvious the hotel was renovated in the past year or two - it appeared to be clean. There is no desk or table to use if needed. The motel is next to a very busy road so very noisy. The exterior doors on every room appeared to be beat up from use - doesn't look good and also made us not feel safe.
Overall, we would never return or recommend. It was ok but not the type of experience even if passing through that we would like.

  • Liked — N/A
  • Disliked — Creaky floor and registration
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KHD345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2007

After deciding at the last minute to take a wknd excursion to this area, we had no luck finding available accommodations at one of the 'go-to' B&Bs in the area. After doing tons of research, Country Inn seemed like the best option based on the site's pictures and the single (!) TA review. I am thrilled to report that the Country Inn was a pleasant experience. The owner is very nice and helpful. The rooms are very clean and look exactly as they do online. Furniture is much nicer than one might expect and the bathroom too--very modern for a motel. (At least, very modern compared to my expectations b/c I have never stayed at a motel.) Be forewarned that the hot & cold water taps may be reversed--they are in a couple of the rooms, i.e. hot is really the cold tap and vice versa.

Overall, I would recommend for a wknd getaway with friends. It is not necessarily the setting for a romantic getaway, but it is super functional and great value. I would stay there again.

  • Liked — Affordable, conveniently located, good service and clean.
  • Disliked — Hot & cold water confusion
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nanzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2007

We stay in hotel rooms 250 nights a year. The chains around Riverhead were expensive! These rooms are new, smell good and are modern in design. With tile in the bath! They are not cheap but reasonable. The Queen with kitchen and couch GREAT for couple. Bring your own coffee pot.

Helpful?
2 Thank ontour13yrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jamesport
15.9 mi away
Harborfront Inn at Greenport
4.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Long Island East End
7.1 mi away
Hotel Indigo East End
Hotel Indigo East End
#3 of 7 in Riverhead
4.0 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 mi away
The Blue Inn At North Fork
The Blue Inn At North Fork
#1 of 1 in East Marion
4.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
6.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Riverhead
6.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express East End
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Duncan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Duncan Inn

Property: The Duncan Inn
Address: 1399 Main Rd, West, Jamesport, NY 11947
Region: United States > New York > Long Island > North Fork > Jamesport
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Jamesport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Duncan Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Duncan Inn is a newly renovated 20 rooms and suites motel located in Jamesport NY. The interiors of the rooms have a cool contemporary grey and blue palette, with splashes of color coming from artwork from the owners' hometown in Scotland. Wood effect vinyl plank flooring give the room a clean and spacious feel and combining 250 thread count white bedding make this a room to relax, get comfortable and wake up refreshed for day ahead. The room has a workspace and task chair with 4 electrical outlets to charge your smartphones, tablets and laptops. Fridges to keep your food and beverages chilled and microwaves to heat them up, and not forgetting an electric kettle to boil water - for those tea drinkers! Proudly serving Hamptons Coffee Company in Lobby from 07am, along with snacks, juices, water and soda. Free wifi throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your The Duncan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Jamesport
Jamesport Country Inn
Country Hotel Jamesport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing