We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful B&B that we will recommend to friends!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Book & Blanket Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Book & Blanket Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Jay B&B and Inns
Hamilton, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful B&B that we will recommend to friends!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2011

Staying at the Book and Blanket B&B was a wonderful experience. My husband and I went to the High Peaks region for a weekend of relaxation, hiking, biking, etc. The Book and Blanket was a perfect base spot - it was right near High Peaks trails and activities, yet was outside of Lake Placid (which is a little too busy for our tastes). In addition, the room (Jack London) was very comfortable, had plenty of space, and had all kinds of Jack London books - it was great. Finally, the owners were wonderful - they made a great breakfast (vegetarian for us), were fun to talk to, and gave us great suggestions for trails to hike (Hurricane Mt.), they really made us feel comfortable and welcome. I strongly recommend the Book & Blanket - it is really a steal in terms of what you get for the money paid.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RAMW13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Albany, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2011

The hosts carefully crafted this Bed and Breakfast not only with the literary theme but in the grace in which they tended to their guests. The time in which they socialized with us was balanced perfectly with our private time. An entire section of their house is reserved for guests--plenty of interesting board games, videos, and the obvious books. This book theme was interwoven into their B & B not only on the shelves which contain a wide variety books but also on their wall paper, garbage cans, bookmarks, mugs, and soaps. The hosts anticipated the needs of their guests. A pad of paper was thoughtfully positioned near the phone with a pen. A plastic bag was in the bathroom, with a label asking the guests to use the bag to take home their open shampoo bottles and soap.
The dining room welcomed us with tea (or coffee), a basket of brochures, local maps, flowers, and chocolates. Breakfast was amazing and plentiful. The hosts set up a table setting for our one-year-old baby, with a baby spoon, cup, and bowl. The rooms were very clean and beautifully decorated. This B & B is a short scenic drive away from Lake Placid. We HIGHLY recommend this to anyone visiting the High Peaks region.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PPierle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plano, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2010

We have been guests here going on 9 consecutive years, and we plan to continue this annual Autumn tradition indefinitely. Kathy and Fred are the ultimate B&B hosts, and Jay is the perfect "power down" from the stresses of modern day life. Their warm hospitality, helpful suggestions and wonderful breakfasts keep us coming back for more.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JJB1310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2009

This is a really cute B&B and I love the literary theme. My sister and I stayed in the Jane Austen Room. There were no other customers during our stay so we had the run of the top floor. The room was adorable, including all things Jane Austen, even a Pride and Prejudice board game! The room was clean and comfortable, especially after hiking all day!

The bathroom down the hall was also spic and span with nice smelling soaps and fresh towels. Breakfast was tasty; cereal, banana bread, muffins, fresh fruit, maple syrup, pancakes. (Some eggs would have been nice.) The owners were very friendly.

If I had to complain about anything it's only that the B&B was next to the road, so you could hear traffic if you happened to wake up at 3 am, like I did. I live on a very quiet street right now so it was a bit loud for me. My sister, on the other hand, slept like a log all night and didn't hear a thing.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hubbabubba_11223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2007

we have been coming back to Book and Blanket for past 2 years now...and i dont think we're the only "regulars" they have. its easy to see why.
Fred and Cathy make you feel like a part of the family. each guest is welcomed with open arms, every comfort and need is catered for. You never feel like you are a bother like some B&B properietors make it seem.
We stay in the Jack London room , which has a private bathroom and a whirlpool bath, and at the price they charge its a bargain. You get all the toiletries you need, as well as scented bubble bath pouches. The rooms are super tidy and so so cozy.
The breakfast is BY FAR..the absolute BEST BREAKFAST EVER!!!
This is what i look forward to every year. Cathy's freshly made pancakes, omelets, banana breads and muffins are better than any loving grandma can make!!! hands down the BEST !!!!
While cathy is in the kitchen Fred is the most attentive hosts. making sure you have everything and anythign you may desire.
They are very nice about accomodating late arrivals, make GREAT recommendations and definitely give you privacy .
The other key feature at the B&B is Zooey the basset hound, playing with whom, next to the skiing ( about 10 min drive to Whiteface ) , is my favorite part of Lake Placid

  • Liked — the breakfast. the basset hound. the hospitality of the hosts
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank liyak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2005

This is absolutely what a casual B&B should be! It's just a short skip from the Town of Jay village green. Cathy and Fred's casual "little" place is a gem. Although we visited as a couple, we thought this would be a great place for a big family or pair of families ... huge living room with games and videos and a little guest fridge, a HUGE hang out covered porch with swings, and GORGEOUS (but still livable) guest rooms. (That is, we felt like we were in a beautiful room, but weren't afraid we'd break anything.) And terrific breakfasts. I mean really good homemade breakfasts. The hosts couldn't have been more friendly, and I really felt like I was experiencing part of the town, without that feeling of a B&B being too familiar.

  • Stayed July 2003
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank AdkNorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jay
10.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#7 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,229 reviews
10.0 mi away
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
5.4 mi away
Mountain Brook Lodge
Mountain Brook Lodge
#1 of 9 in Wilmington
5.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Placid Bay Inn
Placid Bay Inn
#1 of 14 in Lake Placid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Hungry Trout Resort
The Hungry Trout Resort
#3 of 9 in Wilmington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
0.3 mi away
ADK Trail Inn
ADK Trail Inn
#1 of 1 in Upper Jay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Book & Blanket Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Book & Blanket Bed & Breakfast

Property: Book & Blanket Bed & Breakfast
Address: Route 9N, P.O. Box 164, Jay, NY 02941
Region: United States > New York > Jay
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Jay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This cozy, country B&B in Jay, N.Y., is located just 10 miles from Whiteface Mountain and 17 miles from Lake Placid. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing