We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Calipau Sahara
Nearby Hotels
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Buenavista(Ad Dakhla)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Hotel Mansour(Ad Dakhla)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dar Rio Oro(Ad Dakhla)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (221)
Filter reviews
221 results
Traveller rating
108
54
24
15
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
108
54
24
15
20
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 221 reviews
Reviewed 9 May 2012

Having stayed at this idyllic location before, I could not wait to take friends back there. The first impression (from the road) is always "we're not staying there, are we?" as the approach is as if to a shed. Thats because the hotel is built down the side of rocks onto the beach.
Once inside, the location overlooking the lagoon is spectacular, the rooms are not luxurious but very comfortable and with spectacular views, although the common parts are barn-like and always windy in my experience. The swimming pool is a bit odd and not always very clean and the spa is nice but not all advertised treatments were available when we were there.
The restaurant serves good local food and breakfasts on the terrace are lovely. The service can be iffy, but is usually friendly, although with a very young staff, you may find a willing or an unwilling response. One of our party got sick and the initial response from Reception was "sorry, can't help", although when we called the on-site owner, all the stops were pulled out!
This must be one of the world's spectacularly located hotels and, given the prices, it should be more careful of its reputation and infrastructure.

Room Tip: ground floor rooms have access to the pool and terrace, first floor rooms have better views, second floor rooms (actually one and a half floors) are bigger and seem windier
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank geowk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2012

We stayed there 3 nights after Marrakech because we saw nice reviews on Trip. Thank you so much for your hospitality. We had a very nice stay here in this Hotel and will defintlly be recommanding it to all our friends. We were made to feel very welcome and very relaxed and we look forward to returning !! Thank you to all of the staff. The breakfast, lunch and dinner were OK. Amazing location in front of sea and sahara, we will certainly miss it.

Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
3  Thank Marie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2012

Very charming and friendly atmosphere in this easygoing and relaxing hotel. I was impressed by the kindness and availability of the whole staff in trying to fulfill each wish, what reflects perfectly the kind character of monsieur Bernard, the owner, a very pleasant Frenchman who claims in his modesty to speak only a few words in English, but is able to converse pretty well.

We spent three great days in a beautiful room in this appealing hotel and had excellent food.

It's not the place where every detail is perfect, some renovation would be good, anyhow whoever comes in this isolated place of Western Sahara and expects perfectness and pure luxury has chosen the wrong location for his holidays.

If we should come back to Dakhla, we certainly would prefer again to stay in the pleasant Hotel Calipau Sahara.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Martin_3003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2012

Spent 4 nights here in mid-January. French is the language of choice here, but one of the staff spoke English. Balmy but not warm weather there so couldn't use the pool or the lagoon. Beautiful room number 214 with balcony and view of sea. Room was spacious and romantic with a large and comfy bed and tasteful Moroccan furnishing. Good bathroom and shower. Special requests for breakfast were attentively served. Outside tables are wonderfully located. Entire place is tastefully appointed. Good menu for supper. French wine a bit pricey. We were provided with airport transfers. The place is a bit out of town bit only a short distance by petit taxi or by hotel transport.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the sea are a must!
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank divotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

Hotel is very nice, 1001 night style, windy and comfortable. Nice, clean rooms, lovely SPA...

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dianadianadianadiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews