We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Plenty Good!”
Review of Eagles Rest

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Eagles Rest
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
351 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Plenty Good!”
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Eagle's Rest came along at the right time after camping for more than a few days.. The chalets are very nice, with a bathroom and overlooking the lake. It is secluded and relaxing... with a beach (with crocs!). The food is average but the service is good and friendly. We also enjoyed a slow sunset cruise on the lake offered by Eagle's Rest. In comparison to some of the places we have experienced in this part of Africa, Eagles Rest is definitely better than average and I would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: all the chalets are located on the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FredOH69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eagles R, Manager at Eagles Rest, responded to this review, 24 October 2014
Thank you for your review and apologies for the very late response.

So glad you enjoyed your stay, we have been working on our menu and appreciate your views to help us improve.

Hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    46
    21
    3
    3
See reviews for
33
21
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

We stayed there pne night for camping. It has a nice view with nice bar facing lake kariba. The ablution blocks were not very clean. The camping sites were a little cramped. It is a good base to stop heading to Victoria Falls. Paying by card is possiblee.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cenj C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mauritius
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

The resort is set lakeside with chalets overlooking the 'beach'. The interiors of the rooms were shabby and needed some TLC. Was not pleased to see brown sheets! The bar area is a nice place to relax, the beer is cold and the service is good. We had a light dinner there one night and the food was fine. Breakfast was OK, but the tables were dirty and we had to ask for them to be cleaned - on both mornings. The setting is lovely, and with a bit of time, effort and cash, Eagles Rest could become THE place to stay in Siavonga. We also went for an overnight on the houseboat which we enjoyed. Although we didn't catch any tiger fish, it was fun trying. The skipper and crew cooked a great dinner and breakfast. Well worth the extra cost.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank choochoomu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eagles R, Manager at Eagles Rest, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Hi

Thank you for your review.

We do apologies for the sheets, we chose the colour brown because of the water being pumped straight from the lake and making white sheets look off colour and dirty when in actual fact they were clean. We have realized that this was not the correct decision to make because of the helpful comments and reviews from our guests and are currently waiting for our new Linen to arrive. It was ordered about a month ago and should be delivered by the end of this month.

We also started last week the repairs and new paint work on our chalets and these will also hopefully be complete by end October 2013.

I will certainly look into the tables at breakfast as this is not acceptable and we are very sorry that this was the case when you stayed with us.

We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your Houseboat trip and hopefully you will visit us again soon and see the changes that have been made.

Thanks again for your valuable input and our hope also is that Eagles Rest will be THE place to stay in Siavonga.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Nice chalets by the lake. Very relaxing.
Breakfast include - tea/coffee, unlimited cereal & toast. Plus a cooked breakfast.
Only stayed one night.
Much easier if you are self-driving.
Room was very big and comfortable. Chairs outside by the lake.
(You cannot swim in the lake)

Room Tip: Chalets are facing the lake are all in good locations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stargazerlily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eagles R, Manager at Eagles Rest, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Hi

Thank you for your review.
Glad you enjoyed your stay with us and if you have any tip or ideas on how we can improve please let us know on eagles@siavonga-zambia.com

We are working on the swimming in the lake

Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Spent two nights here. Well worth the money if only for the fabulous views from our lakeside chalet. Food isn't bad and good value. It's not for party seekers, but if you want a peaceful break looking out across lake Kariba, you would be hard pressed to find anything as good as this at the price.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jayanatha51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eagles R, Manager at Eagles Rest, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Hi

Thanks for your review, glad you enjoyed your stay.

If you have any ideas on how we can improve please e-mail me on eagles@siavonga-zambia.com

Thanks Again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2013

Driving down from Lusaka, through stunning African landscapes, I was excited to find the Chalets we were staying in overnight were built right on the waterline of Lake Kariba. The rooms themselves were rustic and basic, but sufficient for the one night we stayed... and the view of the lake that greeted us, as we opened our doors the next morning, was absolute tranquility! There was a small 'Beach Bar' down by the sandy shore area, which had a limited menu for dinner, made up for by relaxing under millions of stars. Breakfast the next day was fairly basic, but they kindly brought it down to the chalet for me so I could enjoy it overlooking the calm waters and fishing boats. For a first introduction to Lake Kariba, I had a relaxed overnight stay in a peaceful setting...

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CandzSouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lusaka, Zambia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 January 2013 via mobile

When we arrived I found my booking was wrongly arranged but receptionist corrected it quickly. Because of the change, our room was not ready with no towels and no toilet papers but later house keeping lady brought it soon after I reported it to reception. We rent cooking box set which has simple cooking kit and had to recleaned all the dishes as non of them were cleaned. And found no round power soket but the man name as Peter(I guess he is the boss!) brought an adoptor for us to use. Found some crocks in the room and no soap but it was too late to ask to reception as they closed in the evening. Had no washing soap for dishes but a man from dining bar gave us some so we could clean the unclean dishes before we prepare our supper. It has a nice view and all the staff I met so far were kind. Price we were given was a bargain as the manager kindly gave us some discount but if we were not given the discount, I was not sure that I stayed if I only think of the price. Very limited things I can buy at the small shop in the reception. And wi-fi doesn't reach to our room. This is my first day's summary and will write more after I have another day tomorrow.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sleepym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Siavonga
1.3 mi away
Lake Safari Lodge
Lake Safari Lodge
#2 of 2 in Siavonga
61 reviews
1.5 mi away
Lake Kariba Inns
Lake Kariba Inns
#1 of 2 in Siavonga
88 reviews
4.4 mi away
Caribbea Bay Hotel
Caribbea Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kariba
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Manchinchi Bay Lodge
Manchinchi Bay Lodge
#2 of 6 in Siavonga
10 reviews
22.7 mi away
Changa Safari Camp
Changa Safari Camp
#2 of 4 in Lake Kariba
114 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mvuu Lodge
Mvuu Lodge
#3 of 8 in Chiawa Conservancy
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eagles Rest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eagles Rest

Property: Eagles Rest
Address: On Lake Kariba | PO Box 1, Siavonga, Zambia
Region: Zambia > Southern Province > Siavonga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Siavonga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Eagles Rest 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eagles Rest Resort is situated on the shores of Lake Kariba, Zambia, near the sleepy little town of Siavonga, only two and a half hours drive from Lusaka and only 8km from the spectacular Kariba Dam Wall. Set in 4 hectares of some of Africa's most beautiful countryside, the resort is nestled in a secluded wooded area on the shores of the Lake with beach frontage and magnificent views across the Lake to the Matusodona Mountains.Our Chalets are comfortable, fully mosquito proofed and air-conditioned.We offer Bed and Breakfast and Self Catering. All Chalets are equipped with a 2 plate cooker and charcoal braai, basic cooking utensils, crockery and cutlery. We can provide "Full Board" catering for larger groups, and functions. Advance Booking is required - Email us for a quotation. We have a swimming pool with shady patio to relax and enjoy a cool drink by the pool. We also have a bar on the beach where you can relax with a beer or two, supervise the kids and enjoy spectacular views across the Lake. We also have a camp site situated among the trees complete with hot and cold showers and toilets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Eagles Rest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing