We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”
Review of Lake Kariba Inns

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lake Kariba Inns
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Siavonga
Macleay Island, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Drove out to Lake Kariba after a couple of hectic nights in Lusaka. The roads aren't the best and signage to the inn could be a little better, however once there all worries slipped away. The inn is peaceful and quiet, the view from the villa was amazing and the serenity was absolute.
The room was large, the bed hard (but I like 'em like that) the shower had plenty of pressure so the lodgings were pretty good.
We went up (and I mean UP) the hill to the restaurant for dinner and stopped in the bar for a drink or three. Service was good and the beer cold however no stock of Castle Lite left the mate a little upset.
Ordered chicken wings and a crayfish curry for dinner and waited what seemed to be a long time....WELL the curry was to die for, fresh, hot and tasty and the wings were superb!!
Best meal I had in Zambia in 3 weeks!!!
Breakfast was also good, but dinner was worth the drive.
We stayed another couple of nights....the service, food quality and taste was maintained and the beer truck turned up, happy days!!
Shame really we didn't have more time to spend as we would of loved to have a had a few nights on a house boat......a must do next time.
Would I go again??? In a heart beat!!! Do your self a favour and go and enjoy!

Room Tip: Take the Villa rooms at the bottom of the hill.....yeah the hike up to the bar and restaurant is a c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bergerski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    38
    17
    6
    5
See reviews for
25
22
3
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lusaka, Zambia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 April 2014

I loved the place. The lodge is beautiful. The rooms are spacious and one receptionist is very friendly. The swimming pools are wonderful and so are the staff. Need to work on the food. i especially loved the fact that there was a small swimming pool right outside my room which is shared between 2 rooms. Simply heaven, though my stay was too short. We will definitely come back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ntelamo J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KaribaInns, Manager at Lake Kariba Inns, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Ntelamo J

Thank you for your positive review as we appreciate all feedback from our guests. We have passed on your comments to the staff with regards to their hospitality. With regards to the food which you highlighted as needing improvement. We have focused on the analysis of our food production to ensure that each guests receives food that meets our high standard of quality that we aim to ensure each guests recieves when eating at our lodge. We look forward to your return in the future.

Kind Regards
Lake Kariba Inns
Siavonga
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

The villa was excellent in the main bedroom, although the entrance room and bathroom were quite dated. There was a pool to the rear of the villa which was shared by the 4 villas in the row. The view from the patio was spectacular of the lake.

There was a choice of another 2 pools also.

Internet was patchy and better to use a dongle.

My experience in the restaurant was somewhat frustrating on one occasion. despite pre ordering my food and several enquiries, it still took just over the hour to get my T bone! The quality of the food was very good with a reasonable choice too. Breakfast offered a good choice and was well presented.

Service generally across the site was very good although the guys in the bar should look a little happier. I paid approximately £45 a night but that would have been a group discount rate. For the setting, the view and the overall site, it was very good value for money

Room Tip: Go for the Villas down at the bottom of the hill. I was in Villa 6 and there were 4 in the row. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WiganYosser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KaribaInns, Manager at Lake Kariba Inns, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Good Morning WiganYosser's

Thank you for your review as we appreciate any feedback we get from our guests that help us to improve our quality of service. With regards to the Villa rooms, I can confirm that we are looking at renovating them as we are in the process of completing renovating all our executive rooms.

We apologize for the patchy internet. Since your departure we have increased signal strength throughout the property as we have now got signal boosters that cover the entire lodge.

The comment about the food is appreciated and also of great concern as we pride ourselves on offering quality food at a good speed. I have therefore personally spoken to the kitchen staff and waitering staff and training has begun to improve communications.

Along with this further training has commenced with the barmen as you have highlighted a clear need to improve their customer care. Again we thank you for highlighting these issues and we would welcome your return to Lake Kariba Inns in the near future.

Kind regards
Lake Kariba Inns
Siavonga
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chingola, Zambia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Spent a pleasant couple of days at the Inn relaxing next to the pool over-looking the lake. Stayed in one of the villas which was clean, neat & comfortable. The only complaint we had was the service delivery which needs some improvement. I suggest the restaurant staff need training, service was poor & very slow. The food was good, that is if you could order something on the menu as hardly anything was available, the wine list was also very limited.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Yes, the shower heads were a little small, service a little slow BUT for a hotel in such a remote area in Africa, we could not have asked for better. We had a standard room that was very clean, spacious and comfortable, staff were friendly and helpful, food was fantastic, views and grounds - stunning and we could have relaxed by the pool all day! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lusaka, Zambia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

HI,

Our stay at the Inn was wonderful until the last day when we discovered that our money was stolen from our room. The money was taken from my wife's purse in her bag which we left on one of the couches in the suite. We had gone to the poolside to dinner in the evening. The staff at the Inn have access to the master keys and they can sneak into the rooms at their own discretion while you are boat cruising or dining.

A complain to management was only met with a nasty disclaimer. Beware!!!!!!

BR,

VICTIM.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mooky m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

Service delivery bad. Girls at reception quite rude and dont seem to know what they are doing. Food is ok but shud be improved upon. The shower was terrible with a tiny head with bad waterflow. The room was in general was alright but smelt of smoke.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mulima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Siavonga
0.4 mi away
Lake Safari Lodge
Lake Safari Lodge
#2 of 2 in Siavonga
63 reviews
6.0 mi away
Caribbea Bay Hotel
Caribbea Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kariba
65 reviews
1.5 mi away
Eagles Rest
Eagles Rest
#1 of 6 in Siavonga
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.6 mi away
Changa Safari Camp
Changa Safari Camp
#2 of 4 in Lake Kariba
120 reviews
0.0 mi away
Anabezi Luxury Tented Camp
Anabezi Luxury Tented Camp
#7 of 13 in Lower Zambezi National Park
48 reviews
0.0 mi away
Manchinchi Bay Lodge
Manchinchi Bay Lodge
#2 of 6 in Siavonga
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Kariba Inns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Kariba Inns

Property: Lake Kariba Inns
Address: Overlooking Lake Kariba, Siavonga, Zambia
Region: Zambia > Southern Province > Siavonga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Siavonga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lake Kariba Inns 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Siavonga Town on the Zambian side of Lake Kariba, which has the mighty Zambezi River running into it, this hotel offers breathtaking views of the lake and the blue hills of Zimbabwe. The hotel owns a variety of boats that guests can hire for trips up the lake for fishing, floating facilities, or compliments of the hotel, use one of the pedal boats to cruise around the bay and admire the scenery. The hotel has 50 comfortably furnished rooms built on the hill above the Lake. Each room has satellite TV, air conditioning and internal phones.Takamaka is a 12 berth houseboat for overnight trips that is also available throught the hotel. Takamaka has 4 cabins, swim cage and is available catered or self catering. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Lake Kariba Inns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Kariba Inns Hotel Siavonga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing